2001 Kia Optima Reviews - Page 3 of 3

2001 Kia Optima LX 2.4 from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.4 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired7 miles
Most recent distance18150 miles
Previous carChevrolet Lumina

Summary:

A great car at a reasonable price

Faults:

The only major thing that was wrong with the car so far is that the battery had to be replaced about a week ago. The car would not start so I called KIA roadside assistance. They sent out someone to jump the car and then I drove it back to the dealership maintenance department where I brought it from. The battery was still under warranty so they replaced it for free. The other minor things I noticed was that sometimes when you fill the tank with gas, it does not fill all the way up. I think it has something to do with how the car is slanted at the time. Other than those two things, there were no other problems that I found.

General Comments:

The car is very reliable. Except for the battery problem, I have had no other problems with this car.

It is very roomy and comfortable. Enough space to seat 5 people comfortably.

The trunk is very spacious.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th August, 2003

7th Mar 2004, 15:50

There is something with the fuel sending unit. It has to be replaced. I had to have my part replaced due to the same problem. It took a week for the part to come in.

3rd Nov 2005, 04:31

I have had forty thousand and few of those.

I admit to the seat belt buckle cover coming off, but that was easily fixed as well as the rear windows.

3rd Dec 2005, 03:33

I have a 2002 Kia Optima, SE 2.4 Liter. Purchased it new in 02, have 96,000 miles on it. I drive it like it's a race car. Only problem I've had is a service recall where a valve in the gas tank that prevents gas from spilling out in a rollover, was going bad and prevented me from filling the gas tank. Otherwise, I've serviced it regularly and really enjoy it. I did look into trading it in last year, but was told by a local Chevy dealer they'd only give me 2500 for it. This car new was 22,000 due to all the options. I wouldn't take a Chevy over this car if that's the case. It is powerful, comfortable and fast enough to make me happy. The rest is normal wear and tear.

2001 Kia Optima LX 2.4 from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.4 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired8000 miles
Most recent distance21000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Lumina

Summary:

The Optima is an excellent car for someone who wants a nice car for not a lot of money

Faults:

I have had no problems with the car except that the fuel gauge hand does not register full when the tank has been filled.

General Comments:

I have been extremely pleased with the performance and handling of the Optima.

Even the LX model I own came equipped with very nice amenities for the price.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th January, 2003

23rd Aug 2003, 08:03

Nothing but trouble. I have a 2001 Kia Optima LX with the 4 cyl engine. The timing belt went broke at 40,200 miles. They replaced it, and also fixed the fuel guage and the air conditioning fan switch. Now at 75,350 miles the timing belt has broken again. The service department has replaced this, as well as 2 fuel injectors, an ECM, catalytic converter, and several other miscellaneous parts. All routine maintenance has been done to this car on a regular basis. No car should give this many problems with only 75,000 miles on it, no matter how much of a "bargain" it seemed to be at the time. Buyer beware.

24th Jan 2005, 09:15

I made the mistake of buying a KIA and after 11 trips to the dealer for repairs I am ready to dump it at a loss.

I would avoid KIA like the plague and buy a used Toyota or something instead for the same money.

Average review marks: 6.1 / 10, based on 8 reviews