2003 Kia Optima from North America

Faults:

I am so glad a ran across this website. I purchased my car brand new with only 4 miles, and now I have 123,000, which are highway miles.

On way the home one night (I work 2nd shift), the engine light pops on. I was wondering what now, 6 months ago I just had the timing changed, and 1 yr prior had the alternator change. I remember about 2 year ago the check engine light came on; it was the gas cap. I also had some of the same problems as the other people; locks on doors, check engine light, airbag light, brakes.

I just can't afford to put any more money into this car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 23rd September, 2010

2003 Kia Optima LX from North America

Summary:

This is a great car, and I've had a great time driving it

General Comments:

Sorry to see so many people having problems with their respective Kia Optimas. I have two myself (2003 LX for me and 2004 EX for my wife) and have not had any of the problems I see here.

My wife's car has all the bells and whistles, and I have a lot in mine as well.

My wife's car has had the "Service Engine Light" come on twice since we've had the car, but other than that, we've had smooth sailing.

I bought my car in 2004 (used) with 43 miles on it. It now has 199,000 plus and it's still running great (oh yeah, I'm a driver). My wife's car has 74,000 miles on it.

I'm going to chalk up a good number of the negative comments to human nature. People who generally are not having problems don't feel the need to complain... therefore you won't see a lot of good reviews on here. By contrast, people who have something to complain about, let it be known primarily because they're upset and want others to know their pain (can we say "Misery Loves Company?)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd May, 2010

2003 Kia Optima LX V6 from North America

Summary:

Very reliable investment

Faults:

Replaced two visor clamps, several exterior lights, and two batteries.

General Comments:

After 95,000 miles and two batteries, the car is running great. Average MPG is 26.5. Excellent pickup and go power makes it feel like a sports car.

Liked it so much we bought a second one a week later, but traded it for a much needed truck two years later.

Drivers seat is very adjustable for road cruising comfort.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd August, 2009

2003 Kia Optima EX 4 cylinder. from North America

Summary:

You would get more money for scrapping it than fixing it

Faults:

Alternator went out; had it tested and it was still good. Replaced the battery and the fuse for the alternator; problem still happened at night. On the way home from the store, all the power went out, lights started to dim then the car died.

General Comments:

The car is OK for cheaply made cars, but the sale price is way too much for something that will break down on you.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 31st July, 2007

2003 Kia Optima LX 2.4 from North America

Summary:

The car is a piece of junk

Faults:

The serpentine belt has broke 5 times in the last 14 months, and each time it does, it breaks something else along with it. I have replaced the power steering belt twice, the water pump, water hose and the timing belt.

This last time it bust the head gasket, and the repairs are very costly... More especially the parts.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 8th July, 2007

10th Aug 2007, 02:28

"The serpentine belt has broke 5 times in the last 14 months". Then you've got another problem either the pulleys are worn, there's a dent or something in one of the pulleys, the tensioner is malfunctioning or something is misaligned. Serpentine belts don't break like that; it should last for years. Ten years for a serpentine belt is possible. Five in just over a year is crazy.

You should really talk to your mechanic; he's probably doing a crappy job like most other mechanics I know about. And I should know since I worked as a certified mechanic for eight years before I changed profession. Most mechanics are either dumb or just don't care. And their managers don't care either, and it's just the money that counts.

Your story is similar to many of my experiences. The same happened to a car we had in too often. The belt shredded all the time. Nobody cared; they just replaced the belt and other parts that the belt had destroyed. Nobody looked into why the belts never lasted. Until I had a look at it. Some dumb ass mechanic had made a huge dent in one of the pulleys, probably the first time he changed it under regular maintenance. All subsequent belt failures were probably due to this dent. I changed the damaged parts and this car never saw any problems again.

My message is that a lot of good cars are destroyed by dumb ass mechanics and their greedy managers. I could tell you a hundred different stories about this, and that's why I quit the business. I got fed up ripping off customers over charging single mothers and old folks with no money for sub standard work.