2004 Kia Sedona Reviews - Page 6 of 6

2004 Kia Sedona LX 2.9CRDi from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.9CRDi Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance10000 miles
Previous carFord Fiesta

Summary:

Fantastic value for money, but though economical, is this really a 2.9 engine?

Faults:

Rattling cup holder when drinks are inside.

Interior light stays on for about 10 minutes after doors are all locked.

General Comments:

The car is really a mixture of good and bad.

Bad:

1.) Ergonomics are very poor, especially the rear wiper switch

2.) Gear box is heavy and inprecise

3.) steering is a little vague

4.) interior plastics lack quality

5.) A little dated in some respects- i.e. no digital milometer, side airbags, alarm, remote locking or intermittent rear wash wipe.

6.) feels more like a 2.2 litre diesel than a 2.9.

Good:

1.) Superbly comfortable and smooth ride

2.) Looks modern if a little bland

3.) Excellent value for money

4.) the kind of car you could motorway drive all over the world in and feel refreshed, with a good ride and little noise over bad tarmac

5.) Roomy, versatile and airy inside

6.) Indicators are on the right- ideal for right handed people.

Overall this car is recommended and is one of the better Kia's on the market.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 8th November, 2004

29th Sep 2006, 02:00

Agree. This 2.9L Mercedes derived diesel is incredible slow. It is Mercedes technology from the 80ies that those crafty Germans have managed to shift to the Koreans ;-), but at the same time it is probably very durable being an old MB diesel. Heard about those MB 300TD from the 80ies with 500.000 miles on the clock? It is also fitted so the Ssang Yong 4X4, and one time I had the "pleasure" of being a passenger in one. It struggled to maintain 50mph on steep uphills. Most 2.0L turbo diesels have much more pep than this one. I even think a 1.6L TD would be faster. I've even read a review once on the 2.9L Ssang Yong that concluded that this is a slow one.

2004 Kia Sedona EX 6 cylinder from North America

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 6 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired250 miles
Most recent distance11650 miles

Summary:

Questionable

Faults:

After the 2,000 miles, the van started making a humming sound once its been driven for a while (30 -45 minutes). It gets really bad in the interstate. Took it to the shop 3 times already and they can't find the problem. While in there, I heard some lady talking about the same problem. We would like to know what is the problem.

Thanks.

Ms. N. Sievers.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 27th October, 2004

6th Nov 2004, 09:36

I own a 04 KIA. I had to have my air conditioning fixed twice at about 5000 miles, my power steering replaced at 16,000 miles, and my transmission fluid at 16,000 miles was a yucky tan and smelled burnt. I asked to have my transmission replaced and they told me that I had to wait until it broke down. I did have it flushed, but it is on its way out. I live in the desert and do a lot of freeway driving. I don't want to be stuck out in the desert far away from help.

2004 Kia Sedona Ex V6 from North America

Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission V6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired130 miles
Most recent distance300 miles
Previous carKia Sportage

Summary:

So far so good.. decent ride..decent $$

Faults:

Nothing as of yet... and I hope it stays that way! The sportage had too many problems to list...

General Comments:

Handles and drives nice.. comfy ride

The sunroof is great

Roomy interior

Nice warranty

Stereo could be better

Lots of storage and cup holders.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th August, 2004

2004 Kia Sedona from North America

Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.3 / 10
Distance when acquired15 miles
Most recent distance15000 miles
Previous carKia Sephia

Summary:

Excellent Van for the Cost--Great Warranty too

Faults:

The Four-way Flashers have started to come on spontaneously, and it is a difficult trick to get them to go off. Then they will come back on at 2am or some other inopportune time. Am getting that fixed at the dealer tomorrow.

Only other draw back has been that is is not good on gas mileage, but we knew that when we bought it. It gets what was advertised.

General Comments:

This Mini-van has a lot of power and handles great.

It has plenty of room for the whole family and the dogs to travel.

We have really enjoyed it so far and feel it was a good buy.

I like all the cup holders that are available all throughout the van.

The air conditioner works good even in the hot Virginia weather. I am glad that Kia put an override in the front, so I can control the back while I'm driving. It tends to keep the kids from fighting over how cold or warm to keep it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st May, 2004

10th Nov 2005, 19:29

I own a 2005 Sedona EX I was really exited when I purchased it. I don't take my van to the dealership as is not required, but do buy kia parts when needed. like oil and air filters and I have my mechanic do a services every 3000 miles. Does any body know if the warranty should be fine in the future.

14th Nov 2005, 08:57

I've taken my Sedona to my local mechanic for routine service on occasion. He installs after-market (Fram) oil and air filters as well as premium engine oil (5w30 Mobile).

My Sedona has not been the most reliable vehicle I've owned and has been in the dealers shop for a number of warranty repairs. The fact that I had my van serviced by my local mechanic was never an issue. I made sure I kept the receipts and had my mechanic notate the vans service manual noting the mileage and date.

I did take my Sedona to the dealer for the more complex services ie: the 96k (60,000 mile) service which involves replacing the timing belt and spark plugs. Recently, the alternator failed at 2,000k out of warranty. Kia Canada and the dealer initially wanted $1,100 to replace it. I complained to both the dealer and Kia Canada. Because I had taken my van to the dealer for servicing, Kia Canada ultimately lowered the price of the alternator. The dealer did not contribute a thing though.

To be sure, I would suggest you contact Kia directly and ask them the question. If you are installing genuine Kia parts then I can't see why that would be a problem.

Good luck, hopefully your Sedona proves to be more reliable than most.

2004 Kia Sedona EX 3.5 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.5 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired20 miles
Most recent distance2000 miles
Previous carFord Taurus

Summary:

Great value for the safest minivan made

Faults:

The grocery bag hangers on the rear seat were screwed on upside down.

Gas mileage 16.1 mpg is within the stated manufacturers range, but low.

The gas pedal is positioned to high and the foot gets tired from the position while driving.

General Comments:

The drivers seat is very comfortable with the lumbar adjustment.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th April, 2004

Average review marks: 5.6 / 10, based on 22 reviews