2005 Kia Sedona EX 6 cylinder from North America


Brake system overheats warping rotors and Kia unable to repair


Rotors warped. brake noise. vibration.

General Comments:

Faulty brake system.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 7th November, 2006

26th Nov 2006, 18:47

This vehicle has had brake problems with three families that I know. All are pursuing lemon-law buy-backs, including myself. Brakes continue to overheat and warp.

5th Apr 2007, 08:30

I know of 4 families where I live with 2005 Sedonas, and ALL of us have the same problem with rotors warping. Kia will not offer a suitable repair or warranty the item. We are left paying for brake jobs every 5-6K miles.

2005 Kia Sedona LX from North America


Safe, reliable- bad brakes,?gas mileage


The brakes are still an issue. With 9,000 miles on my '05 I had to have the rotors turned. I was told that to make the car safe they had to add a lot of extra metal making it the heaviest van in the industry. Looking into it more, it is true. Problem, KIA pushed the brakes to the max to handle the weight. The '06 has upgraded to bigger brake pads to prevent them from overheating and "bluing" or grooving the rotors. They however won't admit to the mistake so are charging the consumer for new brakes and rotors twice as often as some of its competitors. I just worry for the safety of my family. Will they work 100% when I need them. Guess like a lot of automakers someone really needs to get hurt before they are willing to pay to correct their mistakes.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 4th October, 2006

5th Apr 2007, 08:44

I have the same problem with my 05 Sedona. Brakes overheat and warp every few thousand miles. I know 4 other local families ALL with the same problem. Who wants to get killed before KIA will fix the problem? I cannot afford to replace my brakes every two months. That is not why I bought a new vehicle. Kia just blows off the consumer and tells us to keep buying new parts.

KIA... Stand behind your product!

2005 Kia Sedona EX from North America


I love my Kia Sedona and it serves me well


Nothing has gone wrong, but if I had to say anything I would say the braking fade at high speed.

General Comments:

I have taken the Van to North Carolina from RI three times and the comfort level was very good.

Acceleration off the ramps for a heavy Van with 195 horses is very good the engine at high revs makes some noise, but not enough to bother us.

I removed the rear seats because we do not need them and it makes a perfect spot for luggage. Also bought a net and we are very happy with the space.

The rear door is a little heavy, but the new models are electric this also does not bother me, but may be a problem for some.

Steering is a little slow, but when you get used to it's fine.

The gas mileage for us is around 17-20 miles per gallon I feel for the weight of the car that is not too bad.

People who review a Kia product seem to judge it against the over rated real expensive Mini Vans.

Also the 5 speed automatic trans is fantastic, smooth with the shifts and a the Van travels real well at high speed.

Well to sum it up I will buy the new one and if you try to compare this van with the expensive ones you probably will not be happy with a Kia, all I know is its been great to me for over 20,000 miles and the warranty make me feel safe.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd September, 2006

2005 Kia Sedona from North America


I like this car, with the exception of the front seats


Nothing has gone wrong with this auto in the very short time I've owned it.

I traded in a very good automobile, a 2004 Honda Odyssey, because of the very uncomfortable front seat, road noise, and poor sound system, for this 2005 KIA Sedona. I am experiencing the same uncomfortable front seat in this vehicle. It lacks width and padding for my satisfaction. I cannot drive over one hour without stopping to ease the pain in my legs and hips. I have added a padded seat, doubled over, to relieve some of the stress on my body. It is unsafe to drive while being disconcerted by the discomfort of this inadequate seating. I am in the process of seeing if a Chrysler Town and Country front seat will fit in this vehicle. I cannot drive a vehicle while being distracted.

The only other thing I had trouble with, was finding the various interior light switches.

General Comments:

I like the KIA Sedona with the exception of the front seats. It has a quick responsive engine, good braking, corners well, handles well in hazardous road conditions, is quiet, with a very good sound system. Head lamps are efficient, though not as good as Honda Odyssey. Outside and rear view mirrors are superior to Hondas. I cannot comment on fuel economy because I have done no sustained driving on interstate highways to this date. I also like the body styling.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 14th December, 2004

21st Aug 2005, 09:36

The bucket seats in mine also to be a deep bucket, which puts presure on my legs. much better support in the leather version of that seat is what I have noticed.