2001 Kia Sephia Reviews - Page 8 of 8

2001 Kia Sephia Base 1.8 from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.8 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired17 miles
Most recent distance3200 miles
Previous carToyota Corolla

Summary:

Much better for the money than I expected

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

Tight, quick, roomy, quiet and comfortable.

I have owned most cars on the market in the last 40 years of driving - this has the comfort and quiet of a Camry with the handling of an Accord (my previous favorite cars). I used to road race sports cars and really appreciate the flat cornering and quickness.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th July, 2001

8th Aug 2001, 11:52

Ha ha ha.

I'm so glad to see that Kia dealers post comments to this bulletin board once in a while.

21st Aug 2001, 16:03

I am not a Kia Dealer - I am a 60 year old grandpa who bought this car for my daughter - liked it so much I gave her my '96 Camry instead! If you like driving a stick shift with great handling and good low-end power, try it!

2001 Kia Sephia 1.4l 4 cylinder DOHC 16v from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.4l 4 cylinder DOHC 16v Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired11 miles
Most recent distance5835 miles
Previous carFord Aerostar

Faults:

There was a problem with the engine. When I went to start the van it acted like it was not getting gas.

Some of the interior devices did not work.

The cost of spark plug replacement is outrageous.

General Comments:

I have nothing good to say about this van.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd June, 2001

4th Aug 2001, 10:57

The Kia Sephia is a car, not a van. Are you referring to the Sedona?

2001 Kia Sephia LS 1.8 from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.8 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired131 kilometres
Most recent distance7500 kilometres
Previous carPontiac Grand Am

Summary:

Nice price, good car

Faults:

Whistling driver-side window if you don't close it tight.

Passenger seat belt locks sometimes when it shouldn't.

Sticky rear door.

General Comments:

Price is right, haven't had any major problems yet. Car performs well, but not as good as they boast.

Good handling and has some kick. Has trouble getting up to full speed for the highway, but once you're there it zips.

Not bad but the seats are a little stiff. Interior is cheap. Lots of head and leg room. Back seats are suitable for children but not an adult.

Service is excellent. They don't offer loaner cars at the dealer we bought it at, but hopefully we won't ever need one. The sales guys were excellent.

Tough to find Kia parts where we live unless you go to the dealer.

Biggest problem with the car is that it drinks more gas then you would expect for a car in its class.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 3rd May, 2001

13th Nov 2002, 16:19

I agree 100% with the gas mileage they are so under powered. Making the engine to have to work harder. causing it to use so much more gas. My sister has a big car and gets better gas mileage than this kia junk.

9th Jun 2003, 12:05

My KIA a 2000 Sephia. It has been in the shop several times for a variety of problems. The dealership where I purchased the car is so rude I will not return there either. They seem to think women don't know anything about cars. The engine has a pinging sound, air conditioning doesn't always work and now the front seat broke at a cost of $600.00 to repair, $93.00 just to look at it. The engine light has been on since it had 20,000 miles they want $93.00 to turn it off. Nothing wrong with engine they can find, but left light on.

28th Mar 2006, 00:31

2000 Kia Sephia ls has 140k still running strong. Check engine light has been on for a couple of years. Uses some oil now, but no real mechanical problems, KIA store said the engine was sludged up and I needed to trade, that was over 50k ago... keep up with your owner's manual maintenance schedule when you buy new, keep track of "suggested" time to change things like timing belt (even if you think it doesn't need it) or KIA will not honor the 100,000 warranty stating you didn't change anything when your schedule said to. Would buy KIA again/wife says no way!

8th Nov 2006, 22:47

I own a 2001 Kia Sephia LS. I've had it for almost two years now. I got it used at a great price! I had to replace the brakes (because the place that previously replaced them, before I owned the car, put the pads on incorrectly and they were worn in a weird spot) and that was about $300 BUT that's the only issue I've had with the car! Sure, it's not the fanciest car in the world, but it gets great gas mileage and I mean come on, how much should one expect out of a car that costs less than $5000? I absolutely love it, and I won't get rid of it until I have kids. (I'll want an SUV at that point so I don't have to bend over to get the kids out of the car.) But I will definitely look into Kia's when shopping for our next vehicle. :)

2001 Kia Sephia LS from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission Don't Know
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired17 miles
Most recent distance0 miles

Summary:

It is worth every cent

General Comments:

It is a wonderful car for anyone still in school. It doesn't hurt to have a pretty decent warranty either.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 14th April, 2001

2001 Kia Sephia LS 1.8 from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.8 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired4 miles
Most recent distance0 miles
Previous carChevrolet Astro

Summary:

Great car; great price

Faults:

Nothing...

General Comments:

Little sluggish up large gradients.

Very pleased.

Service has been timely and extremely friendly. Always had a provided loaner.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th March, 2001

24th Apr 2001, 12:09

Cheaper at first but watch out!

I have a 2000 Sephia bought in August as a non-current, with taxes and dealer prep it cost over 17K (CANADIAN$$!)...has been in and out of the shop at least 10 times, including needing all new front brakes, and several electrical/transmission products (all in just over 20000 kilometers!).

Anyway, was looking to trade, and went to the dealership to ask about a reasonable value... they said the can offer no more than $7K!

That's a $10K loss in 8 months!

I could have leased myself a Mercedes!

STAY AWAY FROM THESE CARS!

Average review marks: 6.8 / 10, based on 32 reviews