2007 Kia Sorento Reviews

2007 Kia Sorento LX 3.5 gasoline from North America

Model year2007
Year of manufacture2007
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2012
Engine and transmission 3.5 gasoline Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired100 miles
Most recent distance119000 miles
Previous carFord F250 Super Duty

Summary:

Very nice car that I love to drive!

Faults:

When I step on the gas hard, the engine lags for about 3/4 of a second until it speeds up, but once you get it going, it's quick to accelerate!

When I first bought it, the passenger seat would show that the passenger air bag was off with a 180lb person in the seat; sent it to the dealer, and they fixed it right away.

General Comments:

Great gas mileage, 22 MPG average.

Very quick car! 0-60 in about 7 seconds, which is quick for the 17k price tag and the vehicle it is.

Looks great with all around tinted windows, blacked out wheels, and tinted tail lights with chrome rings around the STOCK rims.

Handles very nicely, at 20 mph or 100 mph.

Lots of cargo space, and very good for going on trips with 4 people in it.

I get lots of complements on this car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th April, 2012

2007 Kia Sorento LX V6 from North America

Model year2007
Year of manufacture2007
First year of ownership2011
Engine and transmission V6 Automatic
Distance when acquired36000 miles
Most recent distance41000 miles
Previous carKia Sorento

Summary:

Very basic model when you compare to a 2012

Faults:

Battery dies overnight.

Engine pings on first start up for 20 seconds.

General Comments:

Car runs good and is one of my fastest cars I owned,

but I replaced the battery after 4 years and 39000 miles.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th March, 2012

20th Jun 2012, 18:03

I consider myself a skilled mechanic, and most of all an honest one. I declined most advanced electrical diagnostics for Kia products, because they are nightmares and lack support. Vulnerable wiring and name it. Valve train noise at startup is common to lack of maintenance, but not all engines will endure it forever.

2007 Kia Sorento LX V6 from North America

Model year2007
Year of manufacture2007
First year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission V6 Automatic
Distance when acquired17 miles
Most recent distance20800 miles

Summary:

Moneypit

Faults:

I had bad vibration when applying the brakes. I had to have the front rotors machined at 13,300 miles.

I now have 20,800 miles and have to get front and rear rotors machined. Dealer is charging me $240 for this. Kia brake warranty expires at 12,000. I will be filing a complaint with the NHTSA. I have read many others have the same problem.

General Comments:

I loved the vehicle until I started having these problems. I will never buy another Kia, and will tell anyone considering one the same.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 10th March, 2011

10th Mar 2011, 13:00

Try to hold on a little longer... maybe you will have only a few problems with the car... keep all your receipts in case public relations at the dealership or the corporate office see it your way. That shouldn't happen to a fairly new car... also, in case there is a recall down the road on brake problems... a lot of problems on cars will show up early on, then go away, or show up later in the car's life... Cars are not a good investment... Even a Honda Fit with cheap costs to keep it up, will cost about $27,000 to own over a five year period...

Also, before you buy any car/SUV/truck... read reviews in Carsurvey here on this website, but also read Consumer Reports annual auto issue that comes out once a year... read it cover to cover 2 times, and you will know a lot about cars by the time you are done...

2007 Kia Sorento EX 2.5 CDR turbo diesel from Argentina

Model year2007
Year of manufacture2007
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 2.5 CDR turbo diesel Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired1 kilometres
Most recent distance45000 kilometres
Previous carHonda CR-V

Summary:

A very solid and performing 4x4 SUV

Faults:

The only problem I have with the Sorento are the head lights. The original ones lasted almost a year and a half, but the repair parts need to be changed every six months.

The other thing to mention is the suspension is a bit bumpy.

General Comments:

My general comments about the car are in summary very good. When I changed my CRV, I had several doubts about KIA Sorento performing as the CRV did in quality and comfort, but I have to say that the car surprised me, and I'll purchase another Sorento next year.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th May, 2009

2007 Kia Sorento XS 2.5 turbo diesel from UK and Ireland

Model year2007
Year of manufacture2007
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 2.5 turbo diesel Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance10000 miles
Previous carSAAB 9-3

Summary:

I would definately buy another - the whole family is really pleased with it

Faults:

Minor issue with setting the cruise control - quickly fixed by adjusting the footbrake!

General Comments:

Although I have had several Land Rover Discoveries in the past, I came to this directly from a fantastic Saab 9-3 convertible - so it was a bit of a culture shock! Having got over my grumpiness in having to go back to a 4x4 in order to tow a horsebox for my family, I have to say that I have thoroughly enjoyed this car. Of course, it's not as quick as my Saab, nor does it corner as well, so I have to be very objective when judging its handling. That said, I suspect that if I had come to it directly from my earlier Discoveries, I would have been overjoyed!

It is beautifully finished, & comes with all the extras you will need - right down to heated leather seats & heated (& folding) wing mirrors. My entire family are impressed with its interior design & comfort - even the children.

In permanent 4-wheel drive, it handles very well on the road (well, not as well as my Saab!). And off road, & in low-ratio, it is superb. It's a great towing vehicle too - much better than my father-in-law's Nissan Trooper with (I think) a 3 ltr engine).

It seems quite economical if driven sensibly on the open road, although it does guzzle diesel if you do much town driving in traffic.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th April, 2008

5th Mar 2012, 04:16

Nissan Trooper? Nissan never made nor named any of its models Trooper. Rather Isuzu did and does!

Average review marks: 7.1 / 10, based on 11 reviews