2005 Kia Sorento LX from North America - Comments

14th Jun 2006, 17:40

I'm sure he means hundred THOUSAND kilometers per year. I put more than two to three hundred a year on my car just going to the grocery store.

10th Aug 2006, 12:58

The quality of Kia and Hyundai has become so good over the past few years that many sources now rate them as better cars than Toyota or Honda. My family has owned Toyota and Honda and they weren't overly dependable (no more so than an American car) and we are considering a Hyundai Sonata now, as they are such a very nice car at a great price. I've driven the Sorento, and found it to be a very well appointed and great driving car.

14th Feb 2007, 09:10

I have a Kia Sorento and I find everything great if you know how to use all the downsides to your advantage. when you use the sliding effect you can easily turn that's the way I see it.

3rd Jul 2007, 11:33

I am looking for affordable and reliable transportation. I am used to driving a full sized pick-up.

I am very active and live in a rural area. I need the off raod ability and decent gas mileage because I drive 80 miles a day round trip to work.

I thought the KIA might offer what I need, but the postings I see have given me pause. My vehicle will nee to last at least 6 years before I can buy a new one.

Any comments or suggestions?

4th Jul 2007, 17:13

I have owned a 2005 KIA Sorento for 3 years. The only option that I wish I had is the 4WD. I have the limited slip drive train right now and am VERY careful in the snow. As a matter of fact, I refuse to drive the car if there is snow on the ground. I bribe my wife to let me take our Ford Explorer with the 4WD.

It's a superior car no doubt about it, but the next time I buy, I'll be getting the 4WD.

13th Jul 2007, 19:08

The check engine light stays on. I have a 2005 Sorento SUV with 31,000 miles. My battery was bad, changed it and the check engine light went off. Three days later and it is back on. Does anyone know anything about this problem? Could it be the gas cap?

13th Aug 2007, 19:20

I bought a 2005 Kia Sorrento two years ago. I had it towed to the dealer today because, once again, the battery is shot. This is the second battery I've had to replace in two years. I have heard this complaint from other Sorrento owners. Just a "heads-up" for anyone considering buying one.

27th Aug 2007, 16:56

To fix the battery issue, have the alternator checked. It may be defective and not charging correctly, or something is left on after the vehicle is keyed off.

30th Oct 2007, 18:05

For the guy looking to buy a KIA, Go with the Rondo or a smaller vehicle like the Spectra, Optima. The Sorento will not fit your needs driving 80 miles a day. The newer 2007-08 sorento's are supposedly more fuel efficient.

17 City 23 HWY. Sorento's 2006 and below , you get 15 or 16 City and 20 HWY.

18th Feb 2008, 13:20

We have a 2005 Kia Sorento EX 4WD with >37K miles on it. We live in CA so our driving is mostly around town with a little freeway and then trips (my dad lives in AZ on dirt roads).

Our review is here so you can look at it, but my wife and I both like our Kia. We have been watching each model year to see what they were doing to improve the mileage, but we haven't see enough yet to make us buy a new one. We have had problems with our ft brake rotors warping, but I plan to replace them with an aftermarket set (any personal experiences would be welcome issuesandtruth@mac.com).

Obviously the driver above is referring to 200,000-300,000 km a year. Thank you all for you reviews and comments. R&D.

3rd Jul 2008, 11:51

Kia Sorento 2004 - 35,000 miles on it. It's been hugely reliable and everything I wanted. I have to replace the battery now but I don't think 4.5 years with a manufacturer battery is bad at all! Am getting 22 miles per gallon but I am not running the A/C with the gas prices as high as they are. Driving is half city - have interstate. Next car will also be a Sorento!

24th Jul 2008, 11:09

I bought a new Kia Sorento in 2006, an unsold 2005 unit. That winter I noticed that the limited slip differential didn't seem to operate correctly, as the rear tire on one side would spin endlessly and the tire on the dry pavement wouldn't do a thing. I have endured this for 3 winters, always having to put it in 4 wheel drive when one wheel is on ice or snow. The dealer says it is not a "positraction" unit and is operating correctly. Through research I have affirmed that the rear differential is manufactured by Eaton Corp. And is indeed a "positraction" type differential. Eaton suggested I try the following: With both rear wheel lifted, the transmission in neutral, and the engine off, spin one rear wheel. If the opposite wheel spins in the same direction, it is operating correctly. If the opposite wheel spins in the opposite direction, it is not a limited slip differential. It failed the test at the dealership. Now Kia has to come look at it. I wonder how many Kia Sorentos there are out there with the wrong differential in them? They are supposed to be standard on all 4 wheel drive models till 2006.

19th Mar 2009, 08:11

My girlfriend has a 2005 Sorento, and the battery has been dead many times for no reason. Just this morning I had to replace it.

The rear door hinges are bad doors - hard to open.

Check engine light on many times lights keep blowing. Unit has 39.000 miles.

27th Mar 2009, 12:44

My 2005 Sorento has 26k. I bought it new for #22,500- an EX with leather, sunroof, CD, side cladding etc. Comparable SUV's were 28-31k

Mileage stinks-14 mpg city/hwy. Best ever on a straight run at steady speed is 19 mpg.

Repairs- new battery at 26k. Front brakes and tires at 25k.

It rides solid, has good high clearance over deep snow.

A friend bought a Lexus SUV for $45k- same year and size. What does he have that's worth double the price??

29th Sep 2009, 00:11

We have a 2005 Kia Sorento LX with only 55,000 kilometers on it. It has had all services and maintenance, never towed or abused, and no accidents. My wife loves it and it is easy to drive, it is her grocery getter and kid hauler. However it is the worst vehicle we have ever owned.

Under powered engine.

Sluggish automatic.

Bulbs keep burning out.

Battery mysteriously goes flat.

Occupant sensor for passenger air bag still malfunctioning.

TPS sensor failed.

Complete brake system failure, master cylinder, ABS module, calipers, pads and rotors replaced.

Crankshaft bolt failed, crank pulley gone, harmonic balancer gone, crank angle sensor gone, AC system damaged.

I couldn't recommend a KIA to my worst enemy!

17th Nov 2009, 01:36

I purchased a second hand 06 ex Kia Sorento and loved it till I got caught in wet weather coming home one night, and the rear started to slide. I corrected the steering to suit, then the auto 4wd took control, spun 180 degrees into a ditch, rolled over a fence and landed in a paddock. I wasn't going fast or in an artificially induced state. These auto 4wd are dangerous, and you need to respect the fact if you lose traction, you have no control over the vehicle.