2000 Kia Spectra Reviews - Page 3 of 4

2000 Kia Spectra GSX 1.8 L4 from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.8 L4 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired43 miles
Most recent distance30378 miles
Previous carFord Maverick

Summary:

A car owner's bargain. Cost and warranty are great

Faults:

Fuel pump had to be replaced at 4 months. The fuel pump was found to have a "dead" spot -- when it stopped on this flat spot it would not run. The dealer replaced it the first time I reported it wouldn't start.

I've had NO other problems with the car.

General Comments:

I'm extremely happy with the looks of this car -- nothing else on the road looks like it. The hatchback provides plenty of storage space, especially with the rear seats folded down.

My GSX has been from Florida to California and from Texas to Illinois -- no mechanical problems, just a door ding in California and a flat tire in Texas. Gas mileage was over 30 MPH on the Interstate.

Performance off the line is disappointing, but highway speeds are no problem.

My GSX's looks and the low selling cost Vs other makes was initially what made me think about buying it. The warranty made the decision easier. My friends that had 1999 and 2000 Nissan Sentras were unhappy with their Nissans and liked my GSX after they drove in it.

I hope Kia keeps the 5 door hatchback GS and GSX -- when the day comes to replace my GSX I want to get another one -- and no, I do not work for Kia in any way -- just am extremely happy overall with my GSX.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th April, 2004

2000 Kia Spectra GS 4 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 4 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 1 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 2 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.4 / 10
Distance when acquired10 miles
Most recent distance29000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Cavalier

Summary:

Junk

Faults:

Alternator went out, the car will not start in winter when the outside temprature is under 45 degrees. the car tends to overheat in the summer time. i really wish I never heard the word kia in my life, and my car wasn't a cheap car I payed close to 14,000 dollars for the car. also kia doesn't want use the warranty to fix the repairs.

General Comments:

Do not ever buy a kia unless you want your car to be in the repair shop more than you have it at home.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 28th September, 2003

10th Nov 2004, 06:51

It appears that the owner's educational level precludes his ability to take proper care of the vehicle.

2000 Kia Spectra GSX from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.6 / 10
Distance when acquired25 miles
Most recent distance30000 miles
Previous carFord Escort

Summary:

Do not buy a KIA. Get a Honda or Toyota

Faults:

I brought this car new, and almost immediately things started to break. First my windshield fluid spray melted and broke off. The paint is peeling. The plastic dashboard is coming unglued from the top dash. There is something loose inside my steering wheel. The rear glass seal shrunk and came off. The car rattles all the time. The inside truck release has never worked, even through KIA replaced it 2 times. The glove box door was replaced.

General Comments:

The car starts ever time, and does get me from point a to point b.

Cabin noise is loud.

Car is falling apart over time.

Cheaply made.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 4th September, 2003

2000 Kia Spectra GX 1.8 DOHC from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.8 DOHC Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.6 / 10
Distance when acquired6000 miles
Most recent distance60000 miles
Previous carGeo Storm

Summary:

You get what you pay for

Faults:

Dash lights would go out constantly.

Hard time shifting into reverse.

Brakes would fail on occasion.

Seats were cheap and wore quickly.

The factory radio cut out constantly.

General Comments:

This car never left me stranded, but the little things were enough to drive me mad. Not the worst car I've ever driven, but certainly far from the best. Spend the extra $1,000 and buy a Toyota Echo!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 31st July, 2003

6th Oct 2003, 10:18

I have a 2002 Spectra GSX and I love it!!!

The only trouble I have had is with the suspension (it's TOOOOO soft, also the car is a bit sluggish at times).

Other than that I am satisfied with the car.

I drive my car like a high performance car and I can say that if you keep the rev's up she can go, she just don't handle well because of the suspension.

P.S. I find your suggestion of buying an Echo funny, I looked at them and thought it was the most dissapointing car I tested.

Charlie.

13th Jan 2005, 03:16

What was the worst car you have driven, and to the above, tho the toyota may have been disappointing to you, in I suspect the looks/performance category, its certainly more reliable, which I think is much more important.

DCX.

Average review marks: 5.8 / 10, based on 13 reviews