2002 Kia Spectra Reviews - Page 9 of 11

2002 Kia Spectra GSX 1.8 DOCH Gas from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.8 DOCH Gas Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired25 miles
Most recent distance27000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Camaro

Summary:

Great car for a great price

Faults:

I have had no problems at all with my car. I have read a lot about the issues with the automatic transmission and other issues with starting. There is a technical service bulletin about this issue so KIA knows about it.

General Comments:

I am quite happy with this car. I got a decent deal on the car, but otherwise it's never seen the dealer, and as long as I don't have a problem that's warranty related, it won't be going back to the dealer.

I get the oil changed every 3-4K miles. I drive it like a maniac because I was used to my Camaro having a lot more power, but otherwise the car is great. 30 Miles Per Gallon, Driving it Hard!

I drive about 30-40 thousand miles a year by the way, so the low resale value won't really be problematic to me. I'll see how it goes in a few years.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th March, 2003

2002 Kia Spectra LS 1.85 from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.85 Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.4 / 10
Distance when acquired26 miles
Most recent distance1900 miles
Previous carPlymouth Voyager

Summary:

Warranties--Thank God for Warranties-You'll need them

Faults:

No Joke my transmission went out after only 1,800 Miles; Yes eighteen hundred miles & 3 weeks of owning it. My husband & I bought it with only 26 miles. We even drove it off of the showroom floor & 3 weeks later had the transmission replaced within a day since the Transmission was in stock--imagine that one. The Warranties will be much needed I can already see.

General Comments:

Blow transmission with in 1,800 miles.

Warranties going to be needed.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 22nd February, 2003

28th Aug 2007, 19:29

Well things happen on cars, you just either had bad luck or you didn't take very good care of the car. I don't know of anyone that has had this same problem. Plus if it was replaced for free why complain?

13th Dec 2007, 12:40

No, it's not the case, KIA is a junk car, see my above review on my '02 KIA Spectra labeled "Will have the mechanics busy" or something like that, typical KIA.

2002 Kia Spectra LS 1.8 from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.8 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired14 miles
Most recent distance11500 miles
Previous carFord Aerostar

Summary:

I think the Spectra is a great bank for the buck

Faults:

Right now, the problem we have is that the rear windows do not always open. This problem also happens with the passenger side window. I am going to take it to the dealer soon.

General Comments:

I feel that my little Spectra is great. For the money, you can't beat it. We looked at the Toyota Corolla and it was much more expensive than the KIA. The air conditioning could be a little stronger. Fuel economy is average; it does have a small fuel tank. So far I do enjoy the car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 17th February, 2003

2002 Kia Spectra LS 1.8 from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.8 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.8 / 10
Distance when acquired11 miles
Most recent distance29800 miles
Previous carFord Taurus

Summary:

Great Warranty Your Going To Need It

Faults:

Everything! So far the transmission had to be replaced at 6,000 miles due to manufacturer defect.

The head gaskets blew at 13,000 miles. Costly repair not covered under 10 year/100,000 mile warranty.

Computer replaced at 24,000 miles ironically it is only covered until 24,000 miles or 24 months.

Suspension and front brake pads and rotors replaced at 28,000 miles.

Check engine light comes on for no apparent reason.

General Comments:

This car is the 2002 version of the Yugo. This car squeaks and rattles like a 15 year old Ford Tempo. The dealerships take forever to fix a problem and don't provide a loaner car so it gets expensive to rent a car every month. Actually it is more than the car payment.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 12th February, 2003

30th Dec 2004, 20:07

I own a 2002 Spectra 38,000 miles. My trans is going out too. slips in drive. Reverse has up to a 30 second delay. Dealership says. "there is no problem"

2002 Kia Spectra from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.0 / 10
Distance when acquired200 miles
Most recent distance18000 miles
Previous carKia Sephia

Summary:

A good buy!

Faults:

No problems so far except the left door speaker is blown.

Bad tire wear and very poor gas mileage.

General Comments:

The Spectra is overall a good buy and a great little car. The driver's seat, while adequate for some, is very uncomfortable, especially on long trips. The console hits your accelerator leg and places it at an uncomfortable angle while driving.

The handling of the car is awesome, while the suspension is stiff and rigid, overall it's a smooth ride. The road noise is almost null.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 8th January, 2003

20th Apr 2004, 09:06

I own a 2002 Spectra GSX. I hear you on the uncomfortable seating of the driver's seat. Luckily I have the cruise control to help with the long distances so I can move myself around. The lumbar seems to offer little comfort to me also. Also, my front driver's side speaker has failed also. Apparently this is not under warranty either. I am 6'3" and I have been in Hyundai Accents which have more room and are more comfortable. There seems to be little space in the Spectra for the driver. I am doing particularly well on the gas mileage however. On a recent trip to South Carolina from Canada, I averaged 40 mpg. In the city however, the mileage drops pretty quick especially with the AC on. However, if you make smooth accelerations and shift up quickly, you can help the fuel economy with a manual tranny.

Average review marks: 6.6 / 10, based on 39 reviews