2005 Kia Sportage Reviews - Page 2 of 2

2005 Kia Sportage EX 2.7 V6 from North America

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 2.7 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired21 miles
Most recent distance37500 miles
Previous carToyota Corolla

Summary:

Started out great, now questioning

Faults:

Intermittent, non related electrical problems, seems to happen in high heat (ambient not engine) remote door locks, intermittent windshield wipers, esp, cruise control, brake lights, will work properly at times, and then not work, then work again.

'ESP OFF' light will come on, stay on, until restart, then the next week will be fine.

'Cruise' light comes on, but will not set, then an later will work fine.

Remote door lock clicker will work fine and later, the car will not respond.

The problems occurred in Denver area during summer of 06, and now again in summer of 07. Had problems last weekend on a road trip through dry, hot (high 90's low 100's) SW Colorado and New Mexico. Weather has been cooler this week, and have had no problems.

At the end of last summer, I took it to the dealer, they could not diagnose any issues, but it seemed to 'fix' itself. No issues through the winter. Started up again mid June. Read about similar issues with 2000 Sephia.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 15th July, 2007

2005 Kia Sportage EX V6 from North America

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission V6 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired10000 miles
Most recent distance10456 miles
Previous carDodge Stratus

Summary:

Perfect transition from sedan to SUV

Faults:

So far so good.

General Comments:

This vehicle is great for someone switching from a car to an SUV. It has all the room and features of an SUV, but handles much like a car. The turning radius is fantastic. Plenty of space in the back seat for three adults and even my tallest of friends fit comfortably in all seats.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 20th March, 2006

2005 Kia Sportage EX 2.7 V6 from North America

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 2.7 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired1 miles
Most recent distance2000 miles
Previous carFord Mustang

Summary:

This car is fun, stylish, and pretty luxurious for a lot less money then any of it's competitors!

Faults:

Nothing so far (knock on wood).

General Comments:

I purchased this car in February 2005. I had recently rented a 2005 KIA Optima and was so impressed with it that I decided to give the sportage a look when shopping for a compact SUV. I considered the Ford Escape, Mazda Tribute, Honda CRX, Toyota RAV4 and a few others. I have always been a Ford man and really tried to convince myself to buy the escape (I almost always own American cars). I guess in my old age I am getting cheap. I just could not justify an almost $7000 difference for the comparably equipped escape, especially when I preferred the way the Sportage drives. The EX with the heated leather seats, moonroof, 6-disc CD changer and very smooth automatic transmission is just fun to drive (even after driving my mustang GT on a daily basis). The reclining rear seats are a treat my passengers really enjoy, especially on long drives. At this time I highly recommend this car!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th March, 2006

2005 Kia Sportage EX V6 from North America

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission V6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired21 miles
Most recent distance5100 miles
Previous carFord Taurus

Summary:

The 2005 Sportage is a great car with lower than reported city gas mileage

Faults:

A vacuum hose connector was reversed. It caused the engine to shift very erratically. Dealer fixed it in 5 minutes with no charge.

General Comments:

This car handles very well.

The EX Luxury package is well worth it.

The heated leather seats are a real treat now that winter has arrived.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd November, 2005

2005 Kia Sportage ex V6 from North America

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission V6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired2 miles
Most recent distance1095 miles
Previous carBuick Century

Summary:

The best car ever with one thing wrong

Faults:

Absolutely nothing, I think that this car is extremely amazing and KIA has really shaped up from their old models.

General Comments:

I love this car so much. I have driven it to work for the past 5 weeks and have received so many comments form co-workers about the styling of it. I got it with the luxury/leather package and the leather seats are very comfortable. when going up steep hills I use the manual transmission and it works fine. the only problem with the car is it gets less gas mileage then it says it will. I get about 15 city and 19 highway. I recommend this car to anyone who is shopping for a compact SUV.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th October, 2005

26th Nov 2005, 09:12

Update-

I have now had this car for about 3 months. The gas mileage has improved to beyond what it is advertised in the manual by a few mpg. Like a different entry on the sportage, the luxury package is well worth it. The leather seats are so comfortable, and the heated seats certainly help in the winter. The body color cladding makes the car look even peppier then it is. The one thing I wish KIA had put in was a power driver seat. Its not all that bad without it, it just can be a bit annoying when your on the road and your seat needs adjusting.

I still recommend this car to anyone who asks about it. I got it at Boch KIA in Norwood, ma. "On the Automile"! They have been great to work with. So if you live in Norfolk or Suffolk county I strongly urge you to go there.

2nd Jun 2006, 12:50

This is my 2nd Sportage, my 3rd KIA, and I cannot say enough good things about the KIA Sportage. I drove Toyota's for 15 years and like the KIA's much better than Toyota. I get 19 miles in town and 30 on the highway. I love my Sportage!

4th Feb 2012, 05:24

Thank you for thoughts on the Sportage 2005. It's now 2012, what are your thoughts now? I'm concidering buying a 2005 model with 90 000kms.

Average review marks: 8.0 / 10, based on 10 reviews