Lamborghini Diablo Reviews - Page 2 of 4

1999 Lamborghini Diablo GT 6.0 liter V12 from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 6.0 liter V12 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance100000 kilometres

Summary:

Excellent - If you can afford it!!!

Faults:

Engine keeps over-heating violently.

General Comments:

Wonderful Car!

Wasn't cheap though...$300,000 new, I only have one more expensive car!!

I don't find the seats comfortable, it is the most uncomfortable car I've ever driven.

I have never had it upto the top 338.0 kph, too scary for my liking!

Costs a lot to maintain aswell - servicing costs are astronomical.

Carbon-fibre components make it very light.

I have to use a lorry to transport it around (can't use on North American roads) and that cost a lot to maintain aswell!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th September, 2004

5th Sep 2004, 17:55

Oh, so you paid $300K for this and you can't drive it?

I smell a fake review here...

9th Sep 2004, 07:24

I use it for track days, and also I use it a lot when I am in Europe.

25th Mar 2005, 01:39

Since when can't you use them on American roads? I see pictures of them all the time driving around California, and I saw a Diablo in a parking lot the other day...

12th Apr 2005, 22:35

I live in Hollywood and I know two Lamborghini owners, one Diablo S.V. and one Murcielago. They do not drive them everyday because they are a pain in the butt to drive. But bet your bottom dollar that they participate in the Gumball and Beyond the West rally every year. The cars are fast and that's why you spend the money on them, not to "look cool" or "pick up skanks." There are so many BS reviews on this site. It is such a waste of time.

19th Oct 2007, 18:22

Oh my God! That is cheap! I thought it would be like 4,000K!

1999 Lamborghini Diablo GT V12 6.0L from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission V12 6.0L Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired260 miles
Most recent distance2350 miles
Previous carPorsche 911

Summary:

A beast

Faults:

Nothing as of yet. The car runs like a dream and I couldn't of asked for such a faster car then the Diablo GT.

General Comments:

Definitely worth every single penny. The last Diablo I drove was an SV and I wasn't very thrilled about it. A friend of mine who collects automobiles called me up and asked if I wanted to try out one of his racing Diablos, and I did and I loved it. The car is faster than anything I've ever driven. Not bad for my second car and I'll never get rid of it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 11th June, 2002

4th Jun 2003, 23:32

Sorry dude, Your wrong. The only registered Lamborghini Diablo GT in the North American Continent is owned by Ron Tonkin. It's in his private collection and he told me personally that it took since 1999 for him to get the permission from the U.S. Government to get it over here, and on top of that it is not a street legal car. He can't drive it on the street. But I do agree with you that it is a rad car.

1st Apr 2004, 07:58

Baah... There are already 5 people in here claiming to be owners of Diablo GT's... 4 of those in the USA! (Nevermind the fact that of the 80 made in total none was US-legal). Now what are the chances that all these people are telling the truth?

10th Jun 2007, 09:20

I would like to challenge you against my civic. I have b16a engine and produce 170bhp.

11th Jun 2007, 12:41

I could walk and beat this car--because it doesn't exist. How about that? No-drag drag racing. ;)

1998 Lamborghini Diablo SV 5.7 litre from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 5.7 litre Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.4 / 10
Distance when acquired14000 kilometres
Most recent distance24000 kilometres

Summary:

A true driver's car

Faults:

3" hydraulic hose split during maintenance; easy fix!

General Comments:

Sensuous Italian body, precise handling, glorious power, wonderful noise!

Across Europe this car is very quick on smooth roads with three carriageways. On narrow mountain roads it's a squeeze but once you get those second gear hairpins right, there's little to match it for driver satisfaction. High centre of gravity with a rearward bias requires respect, and great care in the wet.

With 530bhp and no traction control this car rewards good technique like no other, but can be unforgiving. If you buy one of these things, make sure you get some lessons on how to drive it. Racing experience helps.

In the right hands, faster than a light aircraft. Sensational and exquisite.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th December, 2001

24th Aug 2002, 03:49

If you actually owned one, you would know that despite the ugly roof air scoops, the SV Diablo has 20 less horsepower than the VT.

28th Apr 2003, 12:20

Well, he says First Year Of Ownership 2000 and both VTs and SVs had 530 hp engines in that model year. It was just before Audi upped the displacement to 6.0L with 550 hp. So he just MIGHT be an owner...

Average review marks: 6.6 / 10, based on 11 reviews