Lamborghini Diablo Reviews - Page 3 of 4

2001 Lamborghini Diablo VT 6.0L 550 hp V12 from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 6.0L 550 hp V12 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired37 miles
Most recent distance3722 miles
Previous carAston Martin DB7

Summary:

Godlike automobile that no one has been able to beat

Faults:

Absolutely nothing has gone wrong so far. And things are looking great. Got the engine broken in with no problems as well.

General Comments:

The new Diablo is amazing. As a previous owner of a 1997 Aston Martin DB7 coupe, I must say that the increase in power is very refreshing. I love driving this car and have recently driven it to the Florida Keys and back. Definitely turns some heads!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th September, 2001

1st Apr 2005, 09:03

Well guys, I'll tell you, I can't afford the Viper or (especially) the Diablo, but being a regular joe, I think of the Viper as a trailer-park fantasy and the Diablo as a real status symbol. So even if the Viper could beat a Diablo by a hair or two, it will never be a Diablo. And having a V-10, in my opinion, is nothing to brag about. I don't mean to anger anyone out there, but come on... Viper vs. Diablo? That's like comparing a really, really good soft-drink to a fine wine!

14th Oct 2005, 13:45

OK OK, not to offend anyone, but, yes, while the Viper has a V-10 it is a much heavier car, I am also a lover of the Viper, but I highly doubt that it can completely beat a Diablo, it might, but it will be an extremely close race.

5th Dec 2005, 20:24

The Viper doesn't have 555 hp stock, it has 500 hp stock and it couldn't beat the Diablo unless it was upgraded.

2001 Lamborghini Diablo GT 6.0 V12 from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 6.0 V12 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired5 miles
Most recent distance200 miles
Previous carMercedes-Benz CL600

Summary:

A high performance racing investment

Faults:

Absolutely nothing has gone wrong. I love this car.

General Comments:

This car feels like it has more power than a jet.

The carbon fiber interior trim looks excellent.

Takes a while to get used to getting in and out with the door opening up instead of out.

This car smokes any Asian import racer anyday!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 1st July, 2001

13th Jul 2001, 21:53

Sounds like you like this car (which in turn is the car of my dreams, and with me being only 15 years old and the car costing over 270,000 in America, there is almost no chance of me getting it), but why is that you have a sad smiley face next to it?

How fast have you gotten her to. Does the +200 speed really exist or is it said to make her sound better.

1992 Lamborghini Diablo 5.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 5.0 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 2 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.8 / 10
Distance when acquired36000 kilometres
Most recent distance39000 kilometres
Previous carMercedes-Benz SL

Summary:

The best supercar under $500k

Faults:

Needed new clutch after 6 weeks of driving; $5,000USD.

General Comments:

Outrageous car from a performance / looks standpoint. Otherwise, very impractical. Two seats, tiny trunk, very loud, drinks gas like champagne, basically a street legal race car with a little bit of leather.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th April, 2001

1st Feb 2004, 01:23

Please buy a Lamborghini and then write a review. No one with 500,000 to blow on a car is going to talk about gas mileage. In fact, if someone bought a car for 500,000 they had better not have ANY cons about it, otherwise give it to me.

If I bought a car for half a mil, I would praise everything about it, down to the plastic covering on top of the carpet when it was new.

11th Nov 2008, 08:51

Needed a new clutch after 6 weeks of driving seems to point to a fault with the driver rather than the car.

Never was a 5.0ltr V12.

1997 Lamborghini Diablo SV 5.7 litre from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 5.7 litre Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.2 / 10
Distance when acquired2500 miles
Most recent distance7500 miles
Previous carHonda NSX

Summary:

Noisy, scary and outrageous - don't drive it more than once a week or it will drive you insane!

Faults:

Airconditioning useless - like I really care?

Front wheel bearings needed replacing - but they were a bargain at 800 GBP compared to 9500 GBP for supply and fitment of a new front bumper!

General Comments:

Car very quick - in a straight line; but easily upset by bumps at high speed (160+) and it gets scary.

Brakes ineffective, at best, and downright scary in the wet. At Spa, I was seeing Jesus so often at the end of the straight that I started to use him as a braking marker.

Cabin very noisy and hot - serves me right for getting the sports exhaust. Ear defenders needed for anything more than a 10 mile trip.

Overall, it gets beaten on the track by 355s and is actually slower in normal use than the NSX. I wouldn't change it though because it looks so silly. And it's purple metalflake.

I wouldn't get another because the dealer service has been APPALLING since Lambo UK changed ownership - 8 months to change a wing and fuel tank, after a minor bump?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 9th April, 2001

30th Jun 2001, 04:26

Hehe, my 98 SV is similar :) But who'd swap it? Interestingly, I owned an NSX previous to the Diablo.

12th Jul 2001, 01:28

Oh dear, how much did you guys have 2 pay for them?

28th Jul 2001, 05:59

I'd buy a house instead.

18th Aug 2001, 11:30

You paid so much!! But you won't even buy the car again? Were you allowed to test drive it before you spent half a mill?

Average review marks: 6.6 / 10, based on 11 reviews