Lancia Dedra Reviews - Page 3 of 3

1992 Lancia Dedra 2.0 ie from Belgium

Model year1992
Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.0 ie Manual
Distance when acquired175000 kilometres
Most recent distance225000 kilometres
Previous carLancia Thema

Summary:

Good driving

Faults:

I'm searching for an air co pump.

General Comments:

I'm very pleased with this car. The only problem is that there are not much spare-parts second hand.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th December, 2005

1996 Lancia Dedra LE 1.9 turbo diesel from France

Model year1994
Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.9 turbo diesel Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired160000 kilometres
Most recent distance223150 kilometres
Previous carVolkswagen GTI

Summary:

Sturdy, powerful, comfortable and fun

Faults:

The head gasket, clutch, belts at around 150000.

The sun roof frame has rotted away and subsequently leaks.

The drivers seat is starting to shed its fur, but to be expected I suppose.

The alternator belt was squealing so replaced after 1 year of noise. Lazy I know.

General Comments:

I have had relatively little to do on the car, just the brakes, belt and service's since ownership.

I like the power for such a family car.

The comfort, loads of it.

Bags of boot space.

And do you really think someones going to steal it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 9th October, 2005

1990 Lancia Dedra I.E 1.6i from UK and Ireland

Model year1990
Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.6i Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.2 / 10
Distance when acquired58000 miles
Most recent distance65000 miles
Previous carCitroen ZX

Summary:

Heavenly dream that should be left to pass away!

Faults:

Indicator fell off.

Number plate shattered into a million pieces over time.

Car idols at 2000 rpm.

Aerial went up and fell out.

Seals blew which I still haven't replaced.

Sunroof leaks.

Alternator & starter motor blew together at 58500 miles, which cost me an arm and a leg.

Battery fades quick with one sub and amp on.

Rattles from all over the car, can't find where though!

Air pipes worn and caught light at 60000 miles.

Drivers door and wing is now wrecked as a kind man hit me on a roundabout and drove off!

Heater only blows out really hot air.

New wiper blades, the first new pair it has ever seen.

General Comments:

No dealers to be seen for a couple of 1,000,000 miles away in italy.

Lovely car if only I could get the parts to fix it.

Drives like a dream, when there is not any smoke coming from the engine bay.

Fast and good for over taking.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th September, 2004

1995 Lancia Dedra LE 1.8 ie from Portugal

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.8 ie Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired90000 kilometres
Most recent distance127000 kilometres
Previous carFiat Uno

Summary:

I will not sell it!

Faults:

I have had some problems with the oil pump, but nothing serious.

I replace the door rubbers, they start broking due to the vehicle age.

General Comments:

After replacing his suspensions, Koni equipped now, using the Delta Intergral 16 inches rims and tyres 195/45, it get a little more firm on the road without losing comfort.

With this changes, this car is a real fun.

But before all those changes, the car was the perfect family saloon, the family car that can mix up with the most and highly civilized family driver.

It is just funny to drive, quick enough and comfortable.

I have it for two years and I am happy!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th June, 2004

1991 Lancia Dedra 1.6 ie 1.6 injector from Finland

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.6 injector Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired200000 kilometres
Most recent distance230000 kilometres

Summary:

A car that used to be good

Faults:

When I got the car I knew it was in poor condition because of the previous owner.

Bottom had to be welded to pass inspection.

Rust was visible on some edges and where antenna was installed.

Suspension struts had to be replaced.

Breaks are a little weak.

The part that adjusts break-power on the rear wheels depending upon how much the car is loaded leaks.

The thermostat was broken.

I ended up replacing the air heater (expencive) because it underperformed and started to leak after replacing the thermostat.

The driver seat is really worn out.

The rear doors freeze up with weather.

The indicator lever would not lock when blinking "right".

The "ashtray" would not close.

The ventilator retained only one speed setting.

The rubber lining on the doors ages and broke, resulting in hissing noise at high speeds.

Some minor plastic parts have aged and broken apart and now what they used to hold vibrates.

General Comments:

I did not expect that, but it behaves surprisingly well on the highway, the engine is rather quiet when you don't press the gas, even at higher rpm; it feels safe to drive fast, and it accelerated quite fast.

The suspension is a little weak - car tilts a lot in turns and shakes considerably on rough terrain at low speeds. It is quite alright when going more than 50 km/h though.

In short the car still has quite some value, despite the age, but I doubt I can sell it for what it's worth, because it doesn't look so good on the inside anymore.

The spare parts are harder to get, compared to more popular cars.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 28th January, 2003

1992 Lancia Dedra IE 1.6 from Singapore

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired85000 kilometres
Most recent distance125000 kilometres
Previous carAlfa Romeo 33

Summary:

Underrated car

Faults:

Nothing major, normal wear and tear on the suspension joints, cooling fan replacement and blown fuses.

General Comments:

A very good highway car, generally reliable and comfortable. Good value for money and performance to match. I am upgrading to it's bigger brother - The Thema Turbo 16v LX. If you own the Dedra, remember to change the cam belt around 35,000km and you will be fine.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th July, 2001

1992 Lancia Dedra 2000 Turbo 2.0 turbo from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0 turbo Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired72000 miles
Most recent distance101000 miles

Summary:

An unknown high perfomance car with brilliant ability at a low price

Faults:

At 80,000 miles replaced radiator.

At 90,000 miles replaced turbo, three bent valves and engine reground.

Oil leaked into the distributor at 100,000 miles, replaced.

General Comments:

This car is fast (only the engine pitch gives away its ability), Cruises at high speed with little engine or road noise.

Handles extremely well can be pushed hard without any problem.

Well laid out interior, comfortable Alacantara seats and climate control ensure a pleasurable drive.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th July, 2001

1992 Lancia Dedra i.e. 1.6 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired85500 miles
Most recent distance137850 miles
Previous carRover - Austin 216 sprint

Summary:

Reliable, comfortable motorway cruiser

Faults:

Master clutch cylinder @ 125k miles.

Heater matrix @ 127k miles.

Ball joint @ 127k miles.

General Comments:

Most underrated car for price available in the UK!

Deceptively quick with hi-torque.

Good fuel consumption for body size and performance.

More comfortable and quieter than most brand new cars today (despite the mileage).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd March, 2001

Average review marks: 7.2 / 10, based on 15 reviews