Lancia Lybra Reviews - Page 2 of 2

2000 Lancia Lybra LX 2.0 20V from Netherlands

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2011
Most recent year of ownership2011
Engine and transmission 2.0 20V Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired147000 kilometres
Most recent distance149000 kilometres
Previous carBMW 5 Series

Summary:

Nicely designed, elegant and sporty Italian sedan

Faults:

No problems with the car yet.

General Comments:

Nicely designed Italian car with a very high comfort standard. It is however not the most economic car around, so think carefully about that before buying. But the overall driving experience is in my opinion really good. It has good feel, and the engine gives you loads of power and torque if you want/need it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 31st May, 2011

1999 Lancia Lybra Sport Wagon LX 1.9 Jtd from Poland

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 1.9 Jtd Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired160000 kilometres
Previous carOpel Corsa

Summary:

Comfortable, underrated Italian car

Faults:

I bought this car few days ago so I will be updating this thread. This car was bought used in Germany and was regularly serviced in Fiat-Lancia.

General Comments:

1.9 JTD engine has quite reasonable performance with acceptable fuel consumption, below 2300 rpm is just a normal diesel, but above this is really nice to drive it.

This version I have is the LX and includes Lancia I.C.S radio with navigation system, Bose sound system with 7 speakers, CD Player for 6 CD, s, GSM phone, Alcantara seats in beige color (quite easy to get dirty), steering wheel with satellite controls for Radio and CD, special alloy wheels, air conditioning with two separate zones and electronic control, full electrical mirrors, four airbags, four - one touch - electrical windows, check-panel showing eventual problems in the lights and the level of liquids and a superb and smooth night illumination inside the cabin. It's also fitted with ABS and EDB, four disc brakes, pyrotechnical seat belts, three point central seatbelt, protective pads inside the doors, immobilizer, remote key for the doors and boot etc.

For the price is definitely a good business.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 26th November, 2007

17th Dec 2008, 06:02

Update:

This car suffered some repairs such as a new air-mass meter, two front struts (failed in MOT), and replacement of the digital panel for the air conditioner.

The digital panel was replaced by myself and bought in an Internet auction - price 20 Euro.

After the replacement of the air-mass meter the engine regain live and is quite good for only 105 bhp.

Lybras are OK, but suffer from enervating details that spoil the rest.

30th Mar 2009, 17:55

Where did you find the digital panel?

Thanks

mmartins888@gmail.com

2001 Lancia Lybra SW LX 2.4jtd from Netherlands

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 2.4jtd Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired140000 kilometres
Most recent distance185000 kilometres
Previous carLancia Kappa

Summary:

Great, lots of style and very Italian

Faults:

The only thing really happened was the air/fuel ratio computer. The engine started to drop dead if you wanted to accelerate. My garage repaired and the car drives like a new boosted one, super!

General Comments:

The car has a lot of style and is comfortable. I have the blue alcantara lx model.

Car has everything you want, navigation, GSM, climate control.

Family likes it very much.

It is a very fast car, the engine is very powerful and has lots of torque.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th April, 2006

2001 Lancia Lybra 1.6 petrol from Jordan

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.6 petrol Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired25 kilometres
Most recent distance29000 kilometres
Previous carAlfa Romeo 146

Summary:

This car is reliable, solid, and comfortable

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong.

General Comments:

Solid build and feel.

Superb styling and looks.

Good driver comfort and well being.

Performance of my 1.6 Petrol Engine is poor on hill climbs. Torque and power seem to kick in at above 4000 rpm.

So performance is excellent if you feel like revving. Otherwise, if you feel like cruising on winding roads you should expect to shift down a lot.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th August, 2003

2003 Lancia Lybra LX SW Intensa 1.8 16v from Netherlands

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.8 16v Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance5000 kilometres
Previous carLancia Lybra

Summary:

Great design nice driving

Faults:

Till now nothing went wrong. To be honest I don't think anything will go wrong. This is mine second Lybra on LPG (liquid Petrol Gas) and with the first one I did'nt have any problem.

General Comments:

Great car, great looks (specially the light ally wheels) good steering, better powersteering then my first Lancia Lybra.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th June, 2003

29th Dec 2005, 05:19

Thank you for your review. Could you make an update? I am about to purchase the same model from the same year and don't know what to expect. What is the fuel economy after two years of driving? Thanks a lot.

8th Nov 2006, 11:54

Hi. Do you know the differences between Lybra Intensa and "normal" Lybra? Is it just stronger engine, 16" wheels or there were some improvements in the car, like new materials in the cockpit, suspension, and so on?

Thanks in advance, Igor from Croatia.

2001 Lancia Lybra LX 1.8 16v from Netherlands

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.8 16v Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance100000 kilometres
Previous carVolkswagen Passat

Summary:

Nice family car with good appearance and Italian taste

Faults:

Nothing, after 100000 k.m. no problems appear except for the normal maintenance. Because I'm dutch and in the Netherlands it is economical to drive on LPG (liquid Petrol Gas) by a travel distance of 40.000 km or more a year. So there is a LPG installation installed when I get the car new. This LPG installation is original from Fiat/Lancia.

General Comments:

A great looking and driving car with nice options.

I can't wait on my newly ordered Lancia Lybra Intensa wich wil be delivered the first week of may.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th April, 2003

2000 Lancia Lybra 2000 LX station wagon 2.0 petrol from Switzerland

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.0 petrol Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired20 kilometres
Most recent distance29670 kilometres
Previous carLancia Thema

Summary:

An elegant car with a sporty feel. Reliable too!

Faults:

Geometry needed to be checked in order to counter uneven tyre wear. Fixed under guarantee.

General Comments:

A lovely car. Smooth, sporty, elegant, comfortable and very reliable up to now. It seems very solidly built and no squeaks have appeared after nearly 30000km and two years of ownership. Economy is averaging about 9.4L/100mks and this includes high speed drives in Germany.

The Bose sound system (7 speakers) and 6 CD changer is excellent and the GPS/built in telephone work really well.

This is by far the best Lancia built I have owned. This is my third one after a Prisma and a Thema.

I would recommend it to anyone. A colleague drives the 2.4 Diesel and is so happy with it and intends to replace it with the latest Intensa version soon.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th May, 2002

2001 Lancia Lybra LS 2.0 petrol from Germany

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.0 petrol Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired25 kilometres
Most recent distance27894 kilometres
Previous carMercedes-Benz E-Class

Summary:

A superb car

Faults:

I have only had few problem with the air-conditioning system, but for the rest this car is absolutely a gem to own and drive. This has also been my first Italian car: very comfortable and well built with an excellent Bose sound system as standard. For someone like me who has give up his Mercedes-Benz for a Lancia, I'm a truly satisfied customer. I will also consider buying the Thesis when available. Thanks Lancia.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th April, 2002

Average review marks: 8.0 / 10, based on 10 reviews