2001 Land Rover Discovery SD7 4.0 from North America




No problem found.

General Comments:

This car is not just for going to shopping is for serious off-road adventures, with a great capability over other SUV. I been take my disco from Utah to Washington D.C, over the most difficult terrain, from sand, mud and rocks, the performance is Excellent, I love it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd July, 2007

2001 Land Rover Discovery from North America


I love it - look, feel, ride - but mine is a maintenance nightmare


Many things.

Fuel flipper not always reliable - Dealer "fixed" a couple of times without success. My boss finally bent it with a key and it has worked ever since.

Front seat passenger airbag - replaced after 2 years and now again - 2 years later (without collision) SRS light is on again with reports from the dealer that it is again the airbag. Why? Now of course the warranty does not cover as it did the first time - $1500.00.

Whistling noise when running that the dealer "fixed". Began whistling again about 2 miles from the dealership.

General Comments:

I love this car. Buying it was a dream come true. I would buy another one in a heartbeat... if I had the $$$$ to maintain it! Although I do not mind paying a little extra for good service, my vehicle needs things fixed all of the time despite routine maintenance. The purchase price may fool you, as it is not bad. The first time you have to do something like brakes - be prepared. Land Rover parts appear to run quite a bit more expensive than say, Chevy Suburban parts.

Be prepared for drastic depreciation - 50% in 2 years, when I investigated a possible trade-in. Of course, no way did that happen.

I would love to get another one... but I'm afraid that my husband would divorce me!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 26th July, 2005

22nd Oct 2007, 13:54

Land Rovers, at least in North America, have a very strange story to them. Great looks and off road capability, but I've heard of horrendous quality problems, especially from Consumer Reports in their reliability records. The Discovery, so I've heard, had its name changed in America due to the bad press the name had gained from the Discovery's awful reliability. They are also extremely expensive, so bad reliability and high ownership costs, added too bad depreciation, make for a very unattractive vehicle. Jaguars seem to have the same problem. Good looking and comfortable, but not very reliable as well as expensive to buy and own.

14th Dec 2008, 17:07

I own a 2001 TD5 with only 105000kms on the clock. It is by far the worst car I have ever bought. In the 3 years I've had it I have replaced the fuel block twice, $600 each, the wiring loom has been full of oil and replaced twice, the rocker cover gasket needed replaced, the main oil seal gasket was replaced, and there is now a leak from the transmission block - $2000 to fix.

The ABS, TC and downhill descent warning light come on all the time, $1500-$2000 to fix.

The electric windows stopped working, $400 to fix.

The lights on the stereo don't work.

The latch on the fuel cap has never worked properly.

Every time I phone a dealership and explain a problem, they have always said" yeah that's a common problem". I have now had enough of this pile of crap, will never ever buy another one and will slag it till the day I die...

2001 Land Rover Discovery SD from North America


Excellent SUV and a good value


Squeaks heard on the driver-side backrest. Dealer fixed it.

Passenger side power seat fuse blew 3 times. Dealer fixed it.

General Comments:

This tough SUV is the most capable off-road vehicle on the planet.

On-road manners are excellent.

Very safe vehicle because it does not have the body roll that most SUV have.

Plenty of creature comforts.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th December, 2003

2001 Land Rover Discovery SE from North America


Great quality at an affordable price


We noticed that a door joint was loose upon delivery. We promptly took it back to the authorized servicer, who fixed it on the spot. No problems since.

General Comments:

This 2001 model drives much smoother than my previous 1998 model. There is noticeably less lean (side to side) when entering and exiting turns.

There steering is very responsive and assuring.

We love the extra inches in the trunk area.

This model is in a class by itself!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th January, 2002

2001 Land Rover Discovery SD V8 from North America


Best real SUV for a 4x4'er


Check engine light turned on driving home from the dealer.

This SUV not refined enough for long freeway travel.

Not enough hp for the mpg.

General Comments:

The best SUV for serious offroad adventures!

Don't buy this car for the family, it's the superman of SUV's.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th July, 2001

3rd Aug 2001, 13:38

Land Rover Discovery was just voted the most UNRELIABLE vehicle on the road in Great Britain by 'What Car' magazine. Article this weekend, August 3rd, in The Times newspaper.

Freelander came in third from the bottom. BE WARNED!

24th Sep 2001, 12:05

...and here I was considering a Freelander...