Land Rover Series 2 Reviews - Page 2 of 2

1971 Land Rover Series 2 2.25 ltr Gas from North America

Year of manufacture1971
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.25 ltr Gas Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired80000 miles
Most recent distance95000 miles
Previous carTriumph TR3A

Summary:

It may not run right, but, It always runs!

Faults:

Nothing out of the ordinary has went wrong with the Land Rover that you would not expect from a vehicle that is over 30 years old, like U-joints, exhaust, hoses, brakes.

General Comments:

A Series Land Rover is not for everyone!

It is drafty, cold, loud (gear noise), rough riding, and SLOW!

But I love my truck!

One of the coolest vehicles I have ever had.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th July, 2004

2nd Jun 2005, 14:31

I have starting problems when wet and my gear box is damaged... BUT IT STILL RUNS!!!

1966 Land Rover Series 2 SWB 2.25 petrol from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1966
First year of ownership1983
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.25 petrol Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.6 / 10
Distance when acquired87000 miles
Most recent distance1094056 miles
Previous carLand Rover 88

Summary:

Outstanding value for money

Faults:

Battery failure, due to age of battery.

Water pump has been replaced 3 times.

Seats have a little wear on corners.

Some rust in bulkhead.

General Comments:

I would put these vehicles in front of any other for off road performance.

Fuel consumption is outstanding due to fitting a webber.

Overdrive also is a must for on road use.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th June, 2004

2000 Land Rover Series 2 SE V.8 from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission V.8 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired12 miles
Most recent distance68000 miles
Previous carMercedes-Benz S-Class

Summary:

LR is second to none

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong with this SUV, the key is to keep up on proper service.

General Comments:

What is there to say.. Land Rover is for the upper crust market. I've owned two and if you have the means I recommend picking one up. There is nothing wrong with a Chevy or Ford, I see a lot of happy middle class people driving them, but they are rather, shall we say.. middle class. Do what ever it takes to step up to a Land Rover.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th April, 2002

13th Mar 2007, 01:16

They stopped making the Series 2 in the early seventies. I think you should post the review under Land Rover Discovery and not Series 2. Sadly this site won't allow me to express my opinion about your remarks to wards class, those were negative and I think they should be removed.

5th Feb 2010, 23:08

This fellow is not in the wrong by bringing social economic classes into the discussion. Land Rovers are beautiful and comfortable vehicles that require deep pockets to maintain. This is why I don t promote the idea of just anyone owning a Land Rover. One should be sure he or she can cover the upkeep on such a vehicle. To put it bluntly, and not in a way meant to offend, a Land Rover is an icon of the upper class and for good reason.

1966 Land Rover Series 2 A 2.25 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1966
First year of ownership1994
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.25 petrol Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired78991 miles
Most recent distance83128 miles

Summary:

Get a good one and keep it forever

Faults:

Starting problems, when wet.

Electrics - due to DIY work.

Rust - failed MOT.

Hard water eventually blocked up the water cooling veins in the engine cooling system after 33 years.

Leaded 2 STAR!!

General Comments:

Aluminum.

Positive earthed.

No plastics.

Salt for icy UK roads ruins them.

Loads of headroom.

Excellent in snow and mud.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th February, 2001

23rd Feb 2005, 02:39

I wish to add to the comment regarding damp starting. Having driven mine in extremely harsh conditions and deep wading (where the fan blades have sprayed the distributor and engine with water) and not experienced any trouble running and starting, I would suggest that this is not a common fault. Perhaps a new HT leads, a refurb dizzy or electronic points might be the order of the day.

1970 Land Rover Series 2 IIA Station Wagon 2.25 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1970
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership1998
Engine and transmission 2.25 petrol Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.0 / 10
Distance when acquired130000 miles
Most recent distance200000 miles

Summary:

Jeep and Jap eaters

Faults:

Replaced original engine with a younger one from a younger vehicle because the main big end bearings "went", however the second engine was even more knackered than the first and "went" after about three months. Replaced second engine with a 2.5 petrol from a 90. Was most impressed - suddenly I was able to overtake boy-racers and really scare the pants off them.

Rear springs were knackered and replaced.

General Comments:

Land Rovers are the best vehicles in the world - they have so much scope for modifying and have always been the undisputed kings of their class despite competition from all round the world.

Mine was mainly standard and almost thirty years old but still beat off the competition off road. I miss it and will be getting another.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th September, 2000

16th Dec 2000, 18:56

My dad had a Landy and I got it when I passed my test. Not the most comfortablt machine but fun and lots of street cred - boys were quietly impressed and, I think a little jealous as they got into their little 1.0 Fiestas!!!

11th Jan 2004, 09:56

That 28,000 documented miles has got to be 128,000!!!

2nd Jun 2005, 14:34

Yeah mate... 28 000? that's what it said on mine too, believe me, its 128000. stay up!

4th Oct 2009, 14:54

'Tricks' I can live with, but a Series 2A is NOT a toy. It is one of the best built machines ever. Many people (like myself) still use them for serious work. My Series 2A is my favorite vehicle and I use it for most occasions.

Average review marks: 7.0 / 10, based on 10 reviews