1997 Lexus ES Reviews - Page 3 of 3

1997 Lexus ES 300 from North America

Model year1997
Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired114000 miles
Most recent distance120000 miles
Previous carLexus VW Jetta

Summary:

Reliable, Classy, Looker... GREAT VALUE!!!

Faults:

I hated it.

General Comments:

This is probably the best used car I have bought. I bought it at 114,000 miles and it hasn't given me any trouble since. I have always liked Japanese cars, but I have a new-found respect for Lexus engineering.

If you want to buy a used car that is reliable, classy, a looker and a performer... I honestly don't know a better car to get than Lexus.

Buy German New.

Buy Japanese Used.

That is my motto. I can't buy German yet, so the used Japanese cars do it for me as of now.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th April, 2006

1997 Lexus ES 300 from North America

Model year1997
Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired23 miles
Most recent distance178000 miles
Previous carToyota Camry

Summary:

This is great entry level luxury car with unbelievable reliability

Faults:

The idle valve was replace at 140,000.

Leaky valve covers fixedat 175,000.

Radio LCD display was replaced at 150,000.

General Comments:

It is the most reliable car that I have ever owned. My waterpump lasted 175,000. My brake pads lasted 120,000!

The ride is super smooth and very quiet.

I get 26-28 miles per gallon while cruising at 75-80 mph.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th February, 2005

29th Jan 2006, 21:37

I am just curious... does the car have to have premium fuel? I am 16 yrs old and am about to purchase a 1998 Lexus ES300 but Premium gas prices scare me!

30th Jan 2006, 19:05

The ES300 doesn't require premium fuel. My 98 ES300 runs on regular. My 2001 LS430 requires premium. I think the 300 series from Lexus doesn't requires premium, but the 400 does.

1997 Lexus ES 300 from North America

Model year1997
Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission Don't Know
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10

Summary:

The Lexus ES300 is an excellent ride

Faults:

I haven't really experienced serious problems with my car thus far.

However, my back seat belt (behind the driver's seat) will not retract. As far as I know, it's always been this way; I've only had the car for several months. It will cost about $300 to fix.

General Comments:

The interior is gorgeous.

It is a very smooth ride.

The sun roof is a great addition.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 28th December, 2004

11th Nov 2010, 09:39

So the neutral face was an accident? Seems like it should be a smiley face.

1997 Lexus ES 300 V6 200 HP from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission V6 200 HP Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired28600 miles
Most recent distance34500 miles
Previous carSaturn SC

Summary:

What an awesome value!

Faults:

A beautiful car! Nothing has gone wrong - there aren't even any loud noises, creaking, etc. - and it's a 7 year old car!

General Comments:

The car handles beautifully and gets up to speed quickly AND quietly.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st May, 2004

1997 Lexus ES 300 from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired5 miles
Most recent distance66000 miles
Previous carChrysler Concorde

Summary:

I finally made a good car choice.

Faults:

What things that have gone wrong?

Front struts chattered at 51,000 miles.

Lexus replaced, even though past warranty.

General Comments:

General comments?

Great value. Have received 6 yrs of reliable and comfortable driving pleasure for what seemed like an expensive car at the time.

The ES300 classic styling never gets boring, an important factor in a car I intend to keep.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd April, 2003

29th May 2004, 15:30

Great review. For the most part I agree with you, but unfortunately I must express concern about the mechanical reliability. My 1997 Lexus has blown it's transmission. This event is unfortunate as it only has 80,000 miles. Lexus in Canada won't fix a transmission on their own product. It's a shame that they have shattered my confidence in the Lexus family because out of the 22 cars I've owned it was the one that gave me the most pride.

24th Dec 2010, 02:20

What a beautiful ride! I am pleased to own one.

1997 Lexus ES 300 3.0 Liter V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 3.0 Liter V6 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired10 miles
Most recent distance51100 miles
Previous carLincoln Continental

Summary:

A lot of car for the money!

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

A solid, reliable cruiser. I recommend it to anyone!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th September, 2002

1997 Lexus ES 300 Lux/Sport Sedan 3.0 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 3.0 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired55000 miles
Most recent distance75000 miles
Previous carHonda Accord

Summary:

Isolation from the road, luxury not sporty

Faults:

Well there is this one weird noise that comes from the front right side of the car.

Everytime I accelerate I hear it, it's a winding noise, but after I hit 20mph its gone.

General Comments:

Well for a "Sport Lux Sedan" I think the car carrys itself very well.

0-30mph... 3.2 Seconds.

0-60mph... 8.4 Seconds.

I think since the car is getting worn out things have been weird lately with the electric part of the car.

The front parking lights sometimes don't turn on (give it a hit) then it will.

The inside door lights don't work that often then again (give it a hit) then it will work.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th June, 2002

1997 Lexus ES 300 from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired55000 miles
Most recent distance59000 miles
Previous caraudi 200

Summary:

Comfort married to performance

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

An extremely comfortable, nimble and quiet car with a superb sound system.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 10th April, 2001

1997 Lexus ES 300 3.0 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 3.0 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired31100 miles
Most recent distance33600 miles
Previous carLexus ES3

Summary:

Silky, smooth,and luxurious!

General Comments:

This car is beautiful..

I had a 1991 ES250, which was a gussied up Camry, then a 92 ES300, which still kind of seemed like a gussied up Camry, but it was a much, much, much more luxurious, while offering a better warranty, sound quality, better ride/suspension, reliability, overall fit/finish, prestige, and so on!

For 1997, Lexus designed the ES300 first, and built the Camry as a cheap Lexus! This is how it has been since 1992, and Lexus is still getting knocked with the "Camry look-a-like" term.

Test drive a 1997+ Lexus ES300, you'll love it, and it will run circles around your Taurus, BMW and Mercedes etc. while costing less!

I love Lexus.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th January, 2001

1997 Lexus ES 300 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission V6 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10
Distance when acquired41000 miles
Most recent distance42000 miles
Previous carBuick Park Avenue

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

Solid, comfortable, lots of power, easy to drive, great CD & stereo, built to last.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd February, 2000

Average review marks: 8.5 / 10, based on 18 reviews