1997 Lexus ES 300 from North America - Comments

21st Mar 2007, 11:55

Wow I hear from many people who own these things that they have between 200-300,000 miles on them and have no problems. You cannot just buy any car or (Honda or Toyota for that matter) and expect them to be superb. People do the oddest things to their cars and I think you got the one that was beaten up.

22nd Mar 2007, 05:21

As read your complaint list you basically had to replace:

1. Some light bulbs

2. Some rubber bushings in front and rear suspension

3. A part in the exhaust system

4. Replace the cam seals (this should not cost $1400, please check with another dealer). You probably do not even have to change these immediately just check you oil level on a monthly basis.

5. You had to clean the idle air control valve.

And this is the complete list on a ten years almost 100,000 mile car. And you are complaining about these issues?

Anyhow the worn bushings, the leaking cam seals and probably the (rusted) exhaust part should be easy to spot before you bought this car. Its plain fantastic to read reviews like this where people buy old cars with a lot of mileage on them and expect these cars to act as if they were new. Please, do a reality check.

22nd Mar 2007, 22:16

People don't understand cars need to be maintained and if they are not things will go wrong. I always buy used private party cars with around 30-60K miles. My last 4 cars have all been Lexus. I make sure when I buy the car that the previous owner has all records. Also try and buy from the original or 2nd owner. When you get into 5 and 6 owners that usually means the car has problems. My current 2002 LS430 is by the the most reliable car. It has close to 180,000 with no problems because proper care.

23rd Mar 2007, 01:19

You guys should give him a break. He bought the car with the assumption that it has outstanding Toyota relyability and didn't think he had to fix anything on it even with high mileage. It's a little bad to think that way, but you gotta see it that he just based it on the fact that everyone says these cars last forever with no problems. So he does have reason to complain somewhat.

26th Mar 2007, 01:15

I take great care of my cars. And this stuff is just not normal wear and tear (other than the bulb may be).

26th Mar 2007, 01:31

Answers for your comments in " "

1. Some light bulbs.

"OK, I am okay with it, it is normal wear and tear"

2. Some rubber bushings in front and rear suspension.

"Never has to change these on any of my previous car, but okay I take it as normal wear and tear"

3. A part in the exhaust system.

" Apparently you have no clue about exhaust on cars, and The toyota dealer"s" won't just replace the y-pipe, but they will replace the whole section including cats which cost a lot of money, I welded a new flex pipe with help of a friend, but this never happened on my old American cars"

4. Replace the cam seals (this should not cost $1400, please check with another dealer). You probably do not even have to change these immediately just check you oil level on a monthly basis.

" Cams seal leak will eat up the rubber on the timing belt and make it more flexible to slip"

5. You had to clean the idle air control valve.

"Again you don't know jack about IAC valve on ES300. New valve cost around 200, it never happened on any of my old cars"

And this is the complete list on a ten years almost 100,000 mile car. And you are complaining about these issues?"

My previous cars have driven much better and way over 100k with a way smaller list.

My Lexus simply sucks!!! and yes "L" stands for Loser or Lemon.

7th Sep 2007, 23:57

Hello all!! I have a 1997 ES300 and it has 160,000 on it. This car is still running strong, and my only complaint is the cup holder in the front; I found out real quick when my iced tea was all over the passenger seat; it was sitting there like a lake.

I bought it at 100,000 and this is the best car I have owned hands down. I have also a 04 Honda Accord and prefer the 97 ES over the Honda.

Only thing I replaced were the brakes and rotors.

When I purchased this ES300, I kept in mind the mileage and the future possible maintenance issues that could come up, but I have been fortunate this was a 1 owner, and if something ever happens I would like to get the 2000-2001 model with the newer lights.

15th Sep 2007, 21:28

We just bought a ES300 Lexus. Everyone told us Lexus is the best. We will put in a bit of money because the front and rear seals are going, so they will at the same time change the timing belt. At first I was upset, but we found out that the timing belt is part of the general maintenance needed. Our new used Lexus has 174,000 miles. It was a one owner car, I would if I didn't have the money, be very upset, but fortunately, we are able to get it fixed. We also have had two warning lights come on. Emission control, and traction. These have been repaired and even with these repairs needed, I figure once done, it should be good for a long time. We have had the car for 2 months. Very nice informational site.

16th Sep 2007, 00:03

To the original poster:

What is a (I'm assuming poor) student doing buying a Lexus? You need a V6 to run around town when a simple Corolla or Ford Escort will do?

You want to drive a reliable car with low cost/no cost maintenance? Then you would know that parts in Lexus are more expensive than your American cars. Nobody will argue otherwise. You should have stayed away.

On the other hand, if you are a rich student (rich daddy/mommy/uncle or got a good paying job) then, stop complaining for these little stuffs. Everything you have done couldn't have cost than a grand, which is not much.

Next time, buy only what you can afford, and spend/invest what you must to keep the car running till graduation.

5th Feb 2008, 00:12

I also have a 1997 ES300 with 190,000 miles and she drives like a brand new car, no smoking on start-up, and she idles so smooth you forget she is on... but there are some problems that are common on ES's like the rear bushings, I had to replace mine because they were so loud... you cannot feel that if a person has a complaint with their Lexus that they are prejudice against Lexus, becuase after all there is no such thing as a perfect car... i truly love my car, but Lexus is not a car that is 100% problem free, sometimes they do have problems like any other car... i know a guy who has a Honda Accord 1989 with 500,000 miles (honestly) and it still has the original engine... just shows you if you fix things and take care of your car you can get many many many miles out of it... no matter what kind of automobile you drive...