2001 Lexus ES Reviews

2001 Lexus ES 300 from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.0 / 10
Distance when acquired54000 miles
Most recent distance86000 miles
Previous carLexus ES300

Summary:

Too many problems, not very dependable

Faults:

My transmission went out at 82,000. Then I bought an extended warranty for $1800. Then the dealer put a refurbished transmission on for free. Then I drove 1000 miles and blow out another transmission. The dealer put another transmission in for free. We now have 89,000 miles on it and it sounds like we may need to put a new timing belt and water pump.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 16th February, 2006

16th Feb 2006, 23:09

The Trannsmission shouldn't have gone out, but the timing belt is part of the 90,000 mile service so it should be done.

5th Oct 2007, 23:09

Well I don't know about the transmissons on these cars, most people say they are good, but I service mine as recommended since I bought it with only 5,000 miles on it. Know it has 70,000 miles and the damn thing is slipping like crazy, and I just found out recently that the 3.0L engine it has although very nice and powerful is known for engine sludge issues, and its making a funny noise. What the hell do you call that. Cars will be cars, and I don't care what kind of car it is, they will have problems sooner or later.

28th Apr 2008, 19:21

This is not possible, A Lexus can never cheat on you!!!

They are like your pet, always Loyal and luxurious. They never have problems, even if you use them roughly.

This gentleman is probably an Acura or Mercedez or BMW dealer who wants to defame the Lexus brand.

I didn't change my engine oil for one year. I drive crazy, and Honest to God the car didn't complain at all. With 424670 KILOMETRES here in Canada my Lexus runs like a new car. NOt to say that I haven't taken it to a dealer, but the Engine and Transmission are ever strong and have never ever problemed me, They are the original and strong. The brakes and shocks however needed service. I plan to take this one to 1000000 kilometres. When its there ill publicize it through the media.

10th Jul 2012, 18:35

Totally agree!! One of the most reliable car ever made!

Change OEM transmission oil at a regular interval of time and don't abuse it! It will run forever.

11th Jul 2012, 23:24

I seriously doubt that someone who wished to "defame" Lexus would have listed one problem that occurred at almost 100,000 miles and left it at that. They are very good cars, but contrary to what some people believe, Lexus cars have trouble too. Just a little less than some other brands, usually.

It is a little fishy, however, that this dealer supposedly installed a rebuilt tranny for free. I don't really see that happening unless there was very special circumstances.

2001 Lexus ES 300 3 Litre petrol from Singapore

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 3 Litre petrol Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Most recent distance60000 kilometres
Previous carLexus ES300

Summary:

Splendid!!!

Faults:

Front Tyres wear out by 25,000km.

Antenna changed at 40km bec of retraction problems.

General Comments:

This car is ultra-reliable.

It is sleek and beautifully crafted.

It handles perfectly in all weather and road conditions. Quiet and comfortable ride.

The engine is silky smooth and quiet. This cannot be said about Mercedes & BMWs.

Very good sound system.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th June, 2005

2001 Lexus ES 300 from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Distance when acquired18124 miles
Most recent distance42000 miles
Previous carInfiniti Q45

Summary:

Best 4 door car I have ever owned

Faults:

The ABS sensor indicator light came on around 25,000 miles. Noticed no difference in drive, but brought it in for service for sensor light as well as a scheduled maintenance. Minor part replaced, car still under warranty so no charge. Very minor problem and I wish all the cars that I have owned have been so trouble free!

General Comments:

I have owned much more expensive cars than the Lexus ES300, and the only thing the Lexus lacks compared to them is speed- I would prefer 0-60 somewhere in the 6-7 range. But that costs about 15,000+ in price-something I can live without. Also, this car has been a gem as related to reliability. Great car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th September, 2004

2001 Lexus ES 300 3.0 petrol from Singapore

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.0 petrol Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance35000 kilometres
Previous carRover - Austin Rover 800

Summary:

Great family car, quiet and reliable

Faults:

Electric seats make squeaking noises sometimes.

General Comments:

The car is really quiet, and gear shifts are imperceptible. Music system (original Lexus, not the more expensive Mark Levinson) sounds great with CDs, but the radio is mediocre.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 6th June, 2004

2001 Lexus ES 300 3.0 DOHC V6 from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 3.0 DOHC V6 Automatic
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.8 / 10
Distance when acquired7 miles
Most recent distance7 miles

Summary:

ES300 is not a Lexus, but a Camry

Faults:

The brake system would scrub. Lot's of body roll. Paint would chip very easily. The leather was supposed to be Coach... Not it was very cheap and was starting to lose it's color.

General Comments:

This car is nothing but a fancy Toyota.

It has too much plastic and not enough of quality materials.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 7th June, 2002

9th Mar 2003, 16:12

The Coach leather is softer and will likely take more care than the standard leather. It is good leather.

21st Dec 2005, 20:00

Not even close to a Camry. I do not get why people think all Lexus is, is a rebuilt Toyota. Its not. I have driven Toyotas before my Lexus and let me tell you, you can't go back to Toyota after driving Lexus. I'm now on my third one. I have kept all three just because the reliability. 2 have over 100,000 and run like brand new. Both are the ES300. I have just bought a 2005 ES330 and this is by far the best. Test drove the V6 Camry for fun, but it does not even compare. People need to drive both cars before they speak.

3rd Apr 2006, 21:15

These are reasonable comments. My 2005 ES300 is spacious and smooth to ride on. The outlook is stylish.

Let's be fair, the new lexus ES300 is indeed a better car than Camry 3.0. The torque is higher, the outlook is better and it is more spacious.

Whoever not satisfied with that car should go for LS430 or Mercedes Benz S320.

Average review marks: 7.2 / 10, based on 5 reviews