2007 Lexus IS Reviews - Page 2 of 2

2007 Lexus IS 250 from North America

Model year2007
Year of manufacture2007
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission Manual
Distance when acquired10 miles
Most recent distance3000 miles
Previous carToyota Supra

Summary:

My 1984 Supra was a more impressive car

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

I am having great difficulty achieving a graceful launch from a stand-still. The engine is reluctant to respond to the accelerator pedal without a load. I must "ride" the clutch ever so slightly in order to get an adequate response from the engine before fully engaging the clutch, and by that time an automatic would have left me in the dust! What fun is that?

Can anybody say 'frustrating'?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 9th October, 2007

19th Oct 2007, 18:42

If you wanted performance then you should have gone for the IS350 model. You cannot compare the IS250 with Supra.

29th Oct 2007, 02:21

Really? So you can't rev the engine without the engine being under load?

2007 Lexus IS 250 from North America

Model year2007
Year of manufacture2007
First year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission Semi-Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 2 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired7 miles
Most recent distance8000 miles
Previous carBMW 3 Series

Summary:

Firmware upgrade please! Disable Motion Lock

Faults:

Premium features ALL disable when car is in motion. Navigation, Phone menus, etc.

I would NOT have purchased the car if I had been informed that I would have to pull over to the side of the road to use the touch screen menus.

Poor Driver Experience.

General Comments:

I will NEVER own a Lexus again and will tell everyone NOT to buy a Lexus. All because the features I needed the car to have do NOT work with the car in motion.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 21st August, 2007

11th Sep 2007, 02:54

It's there for safety reasons. You can disable that feature very easily. You have to do a special sequence which gets you into the service menu, from which you can de-activate it.

Google is your friend :)

20th Nov 2007, 22:13

You should do some research before complaining about this fine car. There are work arounds.

10th Mar 2008, 00:10

Don't blame the manufacturer- I'm pretty sure that is a legal requirement to disable features which would distract the driver when in motion.

2007 Lexus IS 250 2.5 V6 from Singapore

Model year2007
Year of manufacture2007
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 2.5 V6 Automatic
Distance when acquired4460 kilometres
Most recent distance7200 kilometres
Previous carBMW 3 Series

Summary:

Lovely to drive

Faults:

Nil.

General Comments:

The car is good looking, refined and quick. The engine is very smooth and gear changes are imperceptible.

Space is not its strong suit, and rear leg and foot space can be tight.

Road noise, surprisingly does intrude a bit on certain road surfaces, courtesy perhaps of the extra wide tyres. But the car is generally pretty quiet.

As long as you don't need too much space, this is a very enjoyable car to drive and own.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th July, 2007

Average review marks: 7.9 / 10, based on 7 reviews