1995 Lexus LS Reviews - Page 4 of 4

1995 Lexus LS 400 4.0 V8 from North America

Model year1995
Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 4.0 V8 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired170000 kilometres
Most recent distance176000 kilometres
Previous carHonda Prelude

Summary:

Top shelf

Faults:

Seat heaters have stopped working -- probably a fuse.

Nakamichi sound system fades occasionally.

A/c evaporator needs replacing (leaked, lost refrigerant)

General Comments:

Generally a really nice vehicle. I bought it because I've always wanted one of these, and now, I have it! The fact that I have all the service records since new from the one previous owner is a plus, too. It's fast, quiet, safe, has great resale value, and a real presence on the road.

Great sound system, strong V8, roomy, comfortable interior, and reasonable (but not great) fuel mileage for a car of its size and power.

It's nice to own the best car the brand makes of that year. A quality-made automobile; It shows pride in the way it was put together. So far, I'm very satisfied!

My other car is an older Mercedes S-Class, and it's easy to tell that Lexus used that car as a benchmark. Both are great, classy rides with a different driving flavour to each.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd January, 2008

23rd Oct 2008, 18:28

I have owned 2 Mercedes S class cars, both used.

The 1st was an 1984 300SD with 90,000 km on it and it ran till 400,000 km before the supercharger gave way and ruined the engine. However along the way it definitely cost me money, but I was ready for that - after all I was driving a Benz..

The 2nd Benz was a 1992 300SE. A beautiful car with 81,000km. I drove it for 300,000 km and almost went broke trying to keep it on the road. Nothing but trouble but I loved the car and kept saying, maybe this is the last problem for a while. How wrong..

Then I bought my 1995 Lexus LS400. It too had 80,000 km and looked brand new. It now has 385,000 and I have change tires twice, brake pads twice, brake discs twice and replaced 2 tie rod ends ends and an alternator resister, THAT'S IT!

I don't understand everyones comments about fuel economy, I get 30 miles to the gallon and I use the middle grade gas, not super. The electronic fuel system adjusts accordingly and all is well.

Here comes the best part. It has NEVER has a tuneup, original plugs and wiring and it is also the original timing belt. The 94 and later models have a gap between the pistons and valves so if the belt breaks, the cars stops and does NO damage to the engine.

It is still very quiet and has virtually no rust. That's saying something since I live in Toronto Canada and the roads are salted each winter.

I will drive it till it drops and will never own anything except the Lexus LS series for all of my driving days.

Any questions, email at gdn@inbox.com

31st Oct 2008, 19:59

Great review! I live in Montreal and have owned an LS400 for a year now, and it has 170 000 ks. Your car having 385k ks with minimal maintenance confirms that I can easily keep this car going for another 10 years at minimal expense, especially since I've decided to store it during the winter, which is much more severe in Montreal than in Toronto.

You are right about the fuel consumption on the highway, I don't fare so well in the city.

21st Jan 2011, 14:05

To the first comment after this original post.

Are you saying that you went from 81,000 km to 385,000 km and did not change the water pump on a LS400 between that time? If not, how many times did you replace the water pump between that time? To my understanding, the manufacturer recommends this to be done about every 90,000 miles. Very costly is my understanding if a worn out water pump were to cause the LS400 aluminum motor to over heat.

1995 Lexus LS 400 from North America

Model year1995
Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired93000 miles
Previous carChrysler 300M

Summary:

Classical and Sexy

Faults:

Nothing other than a piece of plastic from a muffler cover underneath the car fell and began dragging on the ground and making an annoying noise.

General Comments:

This car is classy and classic. Never mind that it's ten years old. I still feel like a King and I feel very much in style in 10 year old Lex!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th October, 2005

1995 Lexus LS 400 4 liter V8 from North America

Model year1995
Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 4 liter V8 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.5 / 10
Distance when acquired94000 miles
Most recent distance96000 miles
Previous carChrysler Stratus

Summary:

A nearly ideal luxury sedan

Faults:

The radio antenna needed to be replaced.

One seat belt was not fully tensioning and had to be replaced.

General Comments:

This is a near-perfect luxo cruiser. When I decided to get a used, high-end sedan, I tested cars from BMW, Mercedes, Infiniti, Acura, and Lexus.

The LS400 was my favorite. It is a quiet, comfortable, powerful, and supremely reliable vehicle. Even used it blows away most new mid-size and large sedans. Its looks are distinguished and elegant -- the very opposite of the showy exteriors of many designs. I like the looks of the LS400 even better than the newer LS430s. I only wish it had the newer Mark Levinson stereo system.

It has plenty of room for this 6'5" person and 3 or 4 other people.

No other car inspires such confidence even when buying a previously owned vehicle with nearly 100,000 miles. It feels tight and rattle-free.

The servicing can be costly, but is reasonable if one finds a good independent mechanic.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th February, 2005

19th Jan 2006, 19:21

I'm looking to buy a 93 LS400 with 93000 miles. I found one for an amazing deal and I'm thinking about buying it. I just wonder if there's anything I should look for. I own a 92 SC400 which I love, plus it only has 75000 miles. Now the wife wants a LEXUS so I now have to find her one.

10th Feb 2009, 08:34

These are one of the best cars ever made. The 93 is ranked the most reliable and I agree about finding an mechanic that is on his own to fix it. Athough you won't need him very often.

Average review marks: 8.2 / 10, based on 11 reviews