1999 Lexus LS 400 4.0 1UZ-FSE V8 from North America

Summary:

If you want something tank reliable, this is the car for you. It is superb even from year one

Faults:

Nothing except windshield washer fluid, and I fixed it using a wire to pull up the float, and replacing the third brake light bulbs.

I have been doing research and have chosen to go to my local Lexus dealer to get the original 90k service done now. It's $1,162.90 and includes belt, tensioners, idlers, fluids, oil change, wash, ALL.

It's a dream car. Something that can only be appreciated if driven. Even at 155k I can floor it and stomp my 2010 V6 Coupe Accord... It's a beast, yet clean and elegant. My Mom (59) loves "the squared lines and elegance." I want her to get one now and throw her '02 Acura TL-S away.

General Comments:

In my opinion it's what Toyota got when they tried to build the best car in the world. It's superb. I still get looks and comments on how clean and original it is. I absolutely love my 16 year old car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st December, 2015

1st Dec 2015, 23:24

"Tank reliable". I chose a '96 Town Car 9 years ago. No regrets at all.

2nd Dec 2015, 22:30

Also a TC from that era falls in the "elegance" category a lot more than the Lexus on topic, which looks more like a Camry even though it's a rear drive.

10th Dec 2015, 17:12

Just got my service date for major maintenance. Pretty stoked! The Honda has been out of commission due to fouled spark plugs, outdated computer and a bad starter... All covered under warranty, but still left my mom stranded over the Altamont Pass when I let her use it...

Lincoln Town Cars are indeed nice, but I chose the Lexus for different reasons, primarily because of the engineering that went into making them.

1999 Lexus LS 400 from North America

Summary:

This is a terrific automobile

Faults:

Front hood supports failed to support the hood at 60,000 miles.

The right speakers of the car stereo fade in and out after 80,000 miles.

"Low windshield washer fluid" warning light stays on at 150,000 miles.

General Comments:

This is the best car I have owned. It is quiet, gives a smooth ride, and can travel almost 500 miles on a tank of gas.

I purchased as a certified, and now have over 200,000 miles. Most of the maintenance has been routine, although expensive at the Lexus dealership. I expect to get at least another 100,000 miles. At 200,000 miles the car rides almost as new as the day I bought it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th April, 2010

6th Apr 2016, 15:06

I had the annoying washer fluid indicated light as well at 150,000. I used a piece of wire and made a fish hook and looped it around the floater in the washer reservoir, and pulled up and bent the wire over the cap. Bingo, no more indicator light. The floats get water logged after so many years, so this is a very easy fix. Also, if you ever have an annoying tail lamp failure but all the lights work, just replace all bulbs including the third brake light bulbs. Even if one has a weak current, it will throw the all mighty annoying indicator light.

1999 Lexus LS 400 4.0 V8 from UK and Ireland

Summary:

A bargain

Faults:

Nothing at all.

General Comments:

Tireless and mighty engine, super quiet, reliable and surprisingly economical.

Handling actually quite good on faster sweepers, though it feels composed rather than nimble.

Exceptionally well judged damping and very comfortable ride, particularly at speed.

Large and supportive seats, though range of lumbar and thigh adjustment not as extensive as some.

While the engine is very quiet, there is more wind and road noise than I expected, though it is still very refined.

Lifeless and over light steering, takes time not to make unnecessary movements around the straight ahead position.

Lexus agent tried to convince me of essential suspension work - car has since passed two MOTs without any faults emerging. I would recommend finding a good independent garage.

If you do need to replace things, they can be expensive and hard to get hold of outside of the dealer network. Occasionally you do get reminded that this was a £50000 car. Plenty of forums to give good advice if necessary.

A super car whose abilities are in no way reflected in its market value.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th July, 2009

15th Feb 2011, 17:41

Good review, honest and accurate.