Leyland Mini Reviews - Page 3 of 3

1977 Leyland Mini 1.0 from UK and Ireland

Model year1977
Year of manufacture1977
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.0 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired46000 miles
Previous carLeyland Mini

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong, just wondering how do you fit seat belts in back?I have two kids so I need belts in back.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd August, 2005

1976 Leyland Mini Clubman 1.0 from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1976
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.0 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired50000 kilometres

Summary:

Great for the price

Faults:

Front suspension needed full overhaul.

Interior wiring had to be rewired.

Windows are badly scratched.

General Comments:

The car has very good handling, 80kms through tight round abouts.

However when on a long straight stretch of road the little engine has a pretty hard time.

With the 1-3/4" exhaust system it has a really nice note.

And with 12" super-lite wheels it looks great.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd May, 2004

1977 Leyland Mini 1 litre from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1977
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1 litre Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired68000 kilometres
Most recent distance90000 kilometres
Previous carDatsun 1600 Pick-up

Summary:

Small, cute, top fun to drive and cheap!!

Faults:

Clutch slips in 3rd gear going up any reasonable incline.

Front wheel bearings have made noise since purchase - still to be fixed!

New noise at front, sounds like brakes worn, only when wheel is turned. Not clicking, so I don't think it's the universal joints.

Door hinges have dropped slightly.

Rust can be a problem, this one has some in the A panel (behind front wheels) but the rest is reasonable, apart from some older previous repairs which are coming "unstuck".

General Comments:

I've always wanted a Mini - small, cute, top fun to drive! When the wife said I should get a small second car, I didn't hesitate. The kids love it too!

Although quite punchy with no passengers, it knows when someone else climbs aboard, especially when faced with a hill. Have given though to "improving" the power, but it would cost me more to run.

It actually has more legroom than the Datsun 1500 flat tray I had previously - although not quite as versatile. We got a trailer for the family wagon instead!

Low slung standard web seats are quite comfortable, the only negative though minor, is getting out of the thing because it is so low (and I have long legs).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th May, 2004

1st Nov 2004, 17:01

I have since spent $1200 on mechanics - new clutch, brakes, slave cylinders, wheel bearings, tires, service etc., and it runs like a dream!

The brakes failed on me twice after that - rebuilt master cylinder twice. They are spongier than before, but haven't failed again.

I run it on ultra unleaded with valve lube - goes better than lead replacement fuel. I also discovered under the seat there are 3 adjustable wing nut settings, and I now have an extra inch of legroom!! Took out the carpet & door panels to reduce weight (no rust there!!)

Took it on a Tas Mini Fest (125 Minis!!). Awesome fun, and now it seems to go even better!!

31st Mar 2005, 02:04

I am restoring my 1977 Leyland mini s and have rust in the common places (behind the front left wheel to right to the back left wheel) and bits around the car, also minor dimples around the car just from everyday use. I am getting all the rust cut out and replaced and then a full respray. while in the precess of doing that I would like to make the engine a bit more powerful, but don't know what to do... can anyone give me ideas of what to do to give it that little more power??

29th Aug 2005, 23:19

My family have restored about 11 Minis, three of which I owned. My last Mini was a Clubman Estate. It started with the 1100 big bore motor (the 11H), which I later changed for the 1275 from an Austin Apache - Same A series motor as the Mini 1275. I now have 2 Austin 1800's because I couldn't find a Mini. They are essentially just BIG minis, using the B series motor. Same layout, trans in sump, east/west engine and so on.

Mini's are the best!

1978 Leyland Mini LS 998 from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1978
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 998 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired889500 kilometres
Most recent distance898700 kilometres
Previous carHolden Torana

Summary:

Go-kart

Faults:

1. My head gasket blew after three weeks

2. A registration check revealed that all ball joints needed replacing, front wheel bearings and front bushes also needed to be replaced.

3. After replacing the front wheel bearing on the front left that the upright was also past it's used by date and had to be replaced. Things got worse, the outer diameter of the upright was larger than original meaning the disc did not fit, I had to buy a disk as well. Total about $800.

3. Front wheel came within 5 threads of falling off and was holding on by 1 wheel nut.

General Comments:

Apart from all the money I have spent I would not sell it for the world.

I recommend if you want the best handling go all out like I did and get competition front and rear camber adjusters, front castor adjusters, spax 14 point adjustable shock absorbers and hi-lo height adjusters.

It's worth it:)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th November, 2003

1972 Leyland Mini Clubman 1.14 petrol from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1972
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.14 petrol Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired11000 kilometres
Most recent distance17100 kilometres

Summary:

Great car gets looks

Faults:

One piston had a hole from the top to the first ring grove.

Only a few of the rings were complete, most had at least one break.

General Comments:

I fully reconditioned the gearbox and engine with new bearings and bored out block.

Then resprayed the car myself in two pack tiger mica put a new interior in it front seats from accent back from a JZA80 supra.

Handles like nothing else as long as they have mags otherwise tyre roll is bad.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th October, 2003

1976 Leyland Mini S 998 cc from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1976
First year of ownership1990
Most recent year of ownership1992
Engine and transmission 998 cc Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.5 / 10
Distance when acquired280000 kilometres
Most recent distance300000 kilometres
Previous carFiat 128

Summary:

Fun car, it felt like you were driving a go cart at high speeds

Faults:

Fuel pump actuator broke off during installation.

The front suspension broke while I was attempting to race a Holden Monaro. The left hand wheel collapsed inward and my inner pot joint exploded.

This was fixed within 24 hours.

Three wheel nuts came loose on the left rear wheel while driving.

The car had twin leading shoe brakes. The master cylinder broke which only left me with rear brakes via the handbrake.

General Comments:

I put a worked cylinder head with larger valves, and a bigger rally type camshaft in it. I also put on a set of extractors and a 1 3/4 inch exhaust system.

After this the car had a bit more puff.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th June, 2003

21st Jun 2010, 02:44

I wrote the review for the 1974 Mini S, and yes, my right hand wheel collapsed inward as well, resulting in an exploding pot joint! The ball joint at the bottom of the hub unscrewed itself (from what I believe was a result of improper installation god knows how long ago, not by me). It is a good idea to check these I think, as it is pretty dangerous.

1978 Leyland Mini leyland s 1.0 from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1978
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.0 Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired66000 kilometres
Most recent distance67000 kilometres
Previous carHolden Commodore

Summary:

Cheap runaround

Faults:

Fuel tank needed replacing, complete replacement of thermostat and thermostat housing, replacment of radiator.

General Comments:

For the size of the car the car handles like a dream.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th April, 2003

Average review marks: 6.6 / 10, based on 13 reviews