1991 Lincoln Continental Reviews - Page 2 of 2

1991 Lincoln Continental Signature Series 3.8 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.8 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired140000 miles
Most recent distance144000 miles
Previous carFord Thunderbird

Summary:

Good car, but possible money pit don't pay a lot for one (I didn't)

Faults:

The back brakes have failed. (very expensive to fix).

The warning alarms on the digital dash keep going off when nothing is wrong (oil, air ride, dash was replaced once already when I got the car)

Air ride mis-adjusts itself after loaded w/passengers pumps up all 4 wheels after everyone gets out works fine when driving though.

General Comments:

Handles and rides great for a car it's size.

Despite horror stories about gasket leaks motor doesn't leak/use a drop of oil top end of motor was rebuilt before I bought it though.

Very sharp car beautiful leather interior like new so far worth the minor problems only major $ was the brakes so far.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th April, 2004

26th Sep 2005, 14:11

My 1991 Message center alarms and says check DCL.

I have no idea what this means?

30th Sep 2005, 15:21

Everything on this car is expensive to fix!

10th Oct 2005, 15:09

Check DCL usually means the sensors in the exhaust headers.

11th May 2006, 14:58

Also, check dcl could be something to do with the oil pressure. my linc does that all the time.

1991 Lincoln Continental from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1991
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.2 / 10
Distance when acquired1253 miles
Most recent distance190031 miles

Summary:

If you value your money, do not get this car

Faults:

All at one time the car seemed to fall apart.

The radiator began to crack.

The heated windshields started to crack.

The odometer kept reading eight miles an hour, even when the car wasn't moving.

Power steering stopped working.

Car leaks very badly and burns through antifreeze like a child with candy.

Automatic suspension was totally lost, the car drove lopsided.

General Comments:

This is not a good car to have for more than five years.

Huge money pit, if you can find anyone that can fix them, they are extremely expensive.

Parts for the car are rare and expensive.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 13th November, 2002

17th May 2003, 04:43

I own a 1991 Lincoln Continental. I have owned it for 7 years and have had nothing but trouble with it. I have had two blown head caskets and continual problems with the suspension system which has costed me thousands of dollars to repair.

11th Jun 2003, 00:34

I also have mistakenly purchased a 91 Continental about 3 months ago. This car is in perfect condition, well as far as looks go!! I replaced the back shocks, and 2 weeks later the front shocks went out. that's another 500 bucks to convert them to coil spring shocks. The only problem I am having other than the shocks is the A/C is out and the digital gauges on the right side doesn't work half the time. I am gonna fix the shocks and hope for the best for now. I hate selling it. It's the best looking car I have owned.

30th Aug 2004, 15:30

I am a owner of a nice looking 1991 Lincoln continental. Except since I have purchased the vehicle it has been breaking down one peace at a time. Digital readout on the right (DCL) is on most of the time when the display is on. The suspension quit so it sags in the rear. Two windows quit moving up and down, sounds like a gear inside went bad. The radio amp. quit so the radio sounds awful. The air conditioner works some times then quits. I have looked into the repairs and have decided that it would cost me a lot less to leave the keys in it running down town. Hoping.

24th Sep 2005, 18:07

One of my relatives bought a '91 Continental brand new and wound up hating it. The A/C failed, and the car had a ton of electrical problems. On more than one occasion, the car would NOT start at all. A big ugly spot developed on the trunklid from exposure to sunlight, too soon for a new car. They were so angry with this car that they refused to even consider a new Town Car, even though those had a good reputation. Now, ten years later, they have yet to buy another Lincoln.

Average review marks: 5.7 / 10, based on 4 reviews