1997 Lincoln Continental Reviews

1997 Lincoln Continental 4.6 32V INTECH from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 4.6 32V INTECH Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired81000 miles
Most recent distance83000 miles
Previous carFord F150

Summary:

Takes me back to when I was a teenager!

Faults:

Nothing yet, I feel something will eventually.

General Comments:

I bought this car wrecked with the intention of reselling it to make money. Now I know I am keeping it.

I haven't had anything that runs as good as it does since I had a 1971 Torino GT. I have a 1989 Mustang 5.0 and this Lincoln will take it from a stop sign and do it smoother and more comfortably. On a recent trip to VA from PA I decided to take the Lincoln instead of my brand new F150 Supercrew.

The Lincoln rode better, accelerated quicker and gave me 26 mpg on the average over 500+ mile round trip sometimes driving at 80+ mph. My two year old grandson slept almost the whole way back to PA. I have a total of $2500 dollars in this car. Can't get a better bargain than that. I'm now trying to figure if I can fit a Mustang Cobra supercharger on it. I've already put a K&N air filter in and am doing a set of Flowmasters.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th October, 2003

15th Jul 2004, 10:39

Re: Interior mirror.

I had the same problem, and also found out it was SO expensive to replace.

So, screwdriver in hand, I prised the mirror apart, delicately. I let the glass slip out onto my hand. I cut the red and black wires, then taped them up securely with electrical tape. I then used warm water and an exacto knife blade to prise the glass apart (it's a double glass on the mirror which holds the fluid for the "dimming"). It came apart after a while, as I said, delicacy and patience pay off. I cleaned both parts of the mirror, placed them back into the holder, clicked it closed, and, voila!! A perfect mirror, but it does not dim. Who really needs it to dim if it saved, in my case $680? Good luck.

25th May 2006, 09:18

Congrats to you on fixing it, but I mean, why didn't you just buy a new regular style one? the ones with the little flippy switch on the bottom? You can get one from any junk yard for $5. Seems easier than playing around with a whatever the heck kind of fluid they use for dimming.

That's just my opinion. Pay $250 dollars, or $5-$10... it's a no brainer.

-The Gooch-

11th Dec 2006, 12:59

I bought my '97 Continental in '99 with 18,000 miles on it. I paid $20k for it. I thought it was a little steep at the time, but the car now has 198,000 miles on it and it looks and runs like the day I purchased it. BY FAR, the best car I've ever purchased. A strong runner.

13th Nov 2009, 21:01

Hey y'all, I got mine from an auction with 87 thousand on it, and whenever I go between 2nd and 3rd it feels a little jumpy.

Also, who has had to change their sound system on theirs?

-pattywack.

1997 Lincoln Continental 32valve 4.6L V8 from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 4.6L V8 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired65000 miles
Most recent distance125000 miles
Previous carNissan Pathfinder

Summary:

Find your self one fast!!!

Faults:

The only thing I have replaced on my car is the Brakes and Tires. Everything else has been flawless.

General Comments:

My 1997 Continental has ran great for me. I did know the previous owner which always helps. It also helped knowing that she returned to get a Brand New Town Car so I really knew she must have been happy with Lincoln. My car has been all over the US. From NY, to CA, MN to TX. I put a lot of miles on my vehicles and usually am able to tell if it is a worth vehicle. I usually trade or sell off my vehicles when they hit around 100-120K, but this one has not cost me anything, but regular maintence so it is surely a keeper. I would recommend a Lincoln to anyone as this has been a very durable car. I get about 20-21 mpg on average with city and highway driving. I am only 25 and love this car. My friends usually try to make fun of me for driving a grandma vehicle until they see the luxary in it and the "power" it holds inside. As far as I can see from a 1997 to a 2004 vehicle the only "gadget" it is missing is the GPS! GREAT CAR!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd October, 2003

20th Mar 2004, 09:43

We're up to 90,000 miles on ours. Biggest gripes have been the Air Conditioning, which has been repaired annually for the past 3 years, and the sensitivity of the car to front wheel imbalance.

Other than that, It's a good, roomy, and comfortable car. Reliable as the day is long and cheap to operate.

28th Jun 2004, 17:33

A Call for help.

My Dad will be 80 next month and I want to buy him luxury for whatever years he has left. I am offered a Lincoln Continental V8 32 dohc with 4.6 liter engines etc that seems to be in beautiful condition, but has over 90,000 miles on the clock.

I love the car and know he will love it, but all the reviews give terrible opinions. Not every failure has to be repaired (e.g if heated back seat fails) but I would be scared of continuing big expense. He can afford US$800 a year to maintain it. Would I be giving him stress or the ten years of comfort he deserves.

I would be most grateful for your advice.

Rosalind.

Average review marks: 8.2 / 10, based on 5 reviews