1999 Lincoln Continental Reviews

1999 Lincoln Continental 4.6L V8 32V Intech from North America

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2012
Most recent year of ownership2013
Engine and transmission 4.6L V8 32V Intech Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired126000 miles
Most recent distance189910 miles

Summary:

Eight years of non-driving took its toll on the car, but it's getting much better

Faults:

Garage kept for 8 years. Last oil change was in 04. I took over the car in 2012. Changed the oils, filters, plugs, cleaned it up. Put in $1500 in repairs and replacements. Ran extremely well for a few months. The car was "pulsing" when idle, then rose to 3000 RPM in Park.

Now after driving 50 miles, the car will sputter and stall. It restarts every time, but after a while it will stall again. Running 92/93 octane, had fuel system cleaners in it, replaced fuel filter and plugs.

It's at the "almost done" stage now for repairs and general maintenance.

General Comments:

Very comfortable to drive.

No wind noise.

Roomy interior and trunk.

Looks great in black!

Would buy another one.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th July, 2013

19th Jul 2013, 21:46

Have you checked your Idle Air Control Valve?

19th Jul 2013, 22:42

Was the old gas removed from the tank? If not, that could be a source of issues.

21st Jul 2013, 15:39

How did you manage to put over 63K miles on it in only a year?

1999 Lincoln Continental 4.6 32V Intech from North America

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 4.6 32V Intech Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.3 / 10
Distance when acquired99000 miles
Most recent distance105000 miles
Previous carToyota Camry

Summary:

BEST BUY - American Used Car

Faults:

Nothing has required any mechanical attention.

General Comments:

One of the smartest buys in an American used car. We previously owned a 1996 Mark VIII which was also rock solid and totally reliable. I would recommend a 1998 - 2002 Continental to anyone. Rock solid automobile.

We purchased this car for $3,400 in 2007 with 99,000 one owner miles and it was in impeccable condition without even a door ding. Very low resale value makes for a smart purchase. Powerful, comfortable, reliable. The driver select system makes it a much more advanced car than our 2003 Lexus was.

We prefer driving it over our 2007 Toyota Camry which is running about $800 per month with note, insurance and fuel. I'll take the much cheaper insurance and pay for the fuel difference for a savings of about $500 per month.

1999 models forward have side airbags. If you are looking for a used car that is safe, solid and will take you many a carefree mile... this is it. Service it at the Ford Dealer not the Lincoln Dealer... much cheaper.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th January, 2008

1999 Lincoln Continental 275 HP Intec V8 from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 275 HP Intec V8 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired58000 miles
Most recent distance129800 miles
Previous carFord Windstar

Summary:

A bargain luxury rocket sled

Faults:

Transmission - This engine is so powerful that the torque of consistently hard acceleration can actually "bend" parts of the transmission. I was under an extended warranty and it was replaced with no problem.

Front seat construction - I think some really fat guy had the car before me because the driver's seat is pretty broken down. I didn't notice it when I bought it, so I may have contributed to the current condition. In fact, it's degraded to the point that the lumbar support hits about mid-back. I think I could find an upholstery place to fix it for cheap.

General Comments:

Well kept secret. Can be bought cheap. Rocket fast acceleration, pimp-daddy luxury interior, above-average handling and electronically governed at 127mph. Perfect for a highway commuter with a CB and a great radar detector.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th August, 2004

1999 Lincoln Continental 32V Intech 4.6 Liter V8 from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 32V Intech 4.6 Liter V8 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired32000 miles
Most recent distance38000 miles
Previous carCadillac DeVille

Summary:

Awesome power, the car is a rocket for it's huge size!

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong with my Lincoln yet. Knock on wood.

General Comments:

After my Cadillac was a complete piece, I had to return to another Ford product. I saw this Lincoln sitting and had to look at it. It only had 32,000 miles and was only $14,000. I couldn't believe it I knew that Lincoln's for some reason didn't hold their value, but I never knew why. The car has everything that I want. Awesome power luxury galore and of course my sunroof. Had to get the center shift with bucket seats over those horrible bench seats.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th November, 2003

21st Oct 2007, 13:34

I love mine also. It has 135,000 and still runs great. Got it used with 132,000 for 5,000$. Great buy! Only complaint is that when it gets cold out, I put it in drive and it dies. Something to do with the torque converter I heard. But other than that, no problems at all.

30th Dec 2007, 10:21

Our 99 Continental is a SUPERIOR automobile. We bought it for $3400 on eBay based on reviews we read here. It had 99,000 miles on it and it is immaculate. Totally worth the price. We have a 2000 Cadillac DeVille that is a total piece of crap. Our pearlescent parchment Continental turns heads and the Connelly leather is flawless. Can't wait to sell the Caddy and get one of these to replace it... maintenance free remarkable car.

11th Jan 2012, 23:28

"maintenance free remarkable car."

Be sure to keep up with regular maintenance.

3rd Sep 2013, 23:04

Unless you don't count the entire front suspension & crap "air springs", then yes, it's maintenance free.

Average review marks: 8.6 / 10, based on 4 reviews