1991 Lincoln Mark VII Reviews

1991 Lincoln Mark VII Bill Blass 5.0 H.O. from North America

Model year1991
Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2009
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 5.0 H.O. Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired127000 miles
Most recent distance128000 miles
Previous carLincoln Mark VII

Summary:

Best car I've had

Faults:

The locking actuators don't work, so my keypad and remote keyless entry is pointless right now.

Gas tank holders need to be replaced, transmission is going, some small electrical problems, and the clearcoat is going.

General Comments:

Great car, couldn't have asked for more. The 5.0 is a great engine.

Paint's going as is the tranny, but you can't complain considering it's 18 years old and has almost 130k miles.

It gets up and goes, and purrs, always get looks. Running BBK shorty headers into high flow cats with BBK X-pipe and Flowmaster Super40 series mufflers, would get Glasspacks but neighbors would call me in since I'm always out late.

The car feels extremely smooth, handling isn't its best aspect, but it's a great drag car. I also have BBK underdrive pulleys and a BBK cold air intake and MSD distributor, the car pulls.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th May, 2009

18th May 2009, 08:16

Forgive me, but if this is the "BEST" car you've ever had, I'd hate to read about your worst. No offense intended, but from the problems that you are having, you either have a worn out beater, or maybe you're tearing them up.

18th May 2009, 16:51

"It gets up and goes, and purrs, always get looks. Running BBK shorty headers into high flow cats with BBK X-pipe and Flowmaster Super40 series mufflers..."

Well there's the reason for the looks... I'd look too, to see where all of that noise is coming from.

28th May 2009, 16:41

I know you have a "5.0" and all, but do you realize that at the end of the day, it is a LINCOLN!!! Not that, that is a bad thing, but it is not meant for "scaring children" , Lincolns are cars that are classy and elegant, go buy a Mustang and jack that up.

29th May 2009, 07:09

Yes even the "Hot Rod Lincoln" in the song was a Ford Model A with a Lincoln motor.

16th Jun 2009, 21:24

Yeah, I know it's a Lincoln, but that's what is funny, these cars are a dying breed and I have heard nothing bad about them besides they don't turn well. And that's what I love about this car, is sure it's not a Mustang, but everyone has a Mustang. It's great hearing stories from people saying "I wanted to buy this back in the day but it was too expensive." That gives you confidence and a sense of knowing that you bought a great car. People always say they are faster than they look, and it's so true.

17th Jun 2009, 11:31

Well they are a dying breed because people like you are killing the few good examples left. There's nothing wrong with a sleeper that can surprise people from time to time, but try to keep the elegance on the outside, huh?

1991 Lincoln Mark VII LSC SE 5.0 V8 from North America

Model year1991
Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2009
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 5.0 V8 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired99000 miles
Most recent distance126000 miles
Previous carLincoln Mark VII

Summary:

Stinkin LINCOLN

Faults:

Alternator and battery replaced.

General Comments:

I'm 17, and recently picked up a clean LSC. $1200, nothing wrong with it and really clean. Has all the options except CD. Red LSC SE, grey interior.

The car's quick and a blast to drive, rides smooth and is pretty quick. Decent on gas depending how you drive it.

I bought it Jan. 1st of 09, and put on 27 thousand miles in about 4 months.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th May, 2009

7th May 2009, 10:57

Is that 27,000 miles or 2,700 miles??? If it was 27,000 miles then how do you have time to stop and write this review???

10th May 2009, 16:25

The title of your review doesn't seem befitting of your opinion of the car.

1991 Lincoln Mark VII LSC SE HO 5.0 from North America

Model year1991
Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission HO 5.0 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.4 / 10
Distance when acquired42000 miles
Most recent distance283000 miles
Previous carBentley Continental R

Summary:

Off the chain, and Lincoln should still build it!

Faults:

I have replaced the right air bag in the front of the car due to age, as well as the power steering pump, which that was my fault because the rack and pinion started leaking, and I didn't have it changed soon enough.

I started have electrical problem last year, and found the voltage regulator was bad; "word to the wise", make sure you purchase the heavy duty truck model regulator or you will be replacing it again; the light duty regulator will not last. I also replace the battery and alternator while I was doing the electricals.

I have decided to replace the fuel pump in the tank, and replace the mufflers and valve lifters, as well as the timing chain and oil pump as precautions.

Installed a GPS single din NAV system.

The paint's clear coat is in bad shape, and I've decided to get a professional job done on it, which will cost about 5000.00.

As for this car, it's my second M VII LSC and I will never part with it. As a matter of fact, in two years it will be a classic/antique here in Louisiana.

General Comments:

I have owned several Mustangs, and found they were light, but this coupe is perfect for highway travel; once you set the course, you will be shocked at the gas mileage. If you can get your hands on one, you will be lucky.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th June, 2008

Average review marks: 7.6 / 10, based on 9 reviews