1979 Lincoln Town Car Reviews

1979 Lincoln Town Car 400 cubic inch V8 from North America

Year of manufacture1979
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 400 cubic inch V8 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired89650 miles
Most recent distance145340 miles
Previous carLincoln Town Car

Summary:

Love it more every time I drive her

Faults:

Well lets see, the radiator went back in 2003. I replaced it, did all the work myself, no problem.

The only thing that has gone wrong with her was the front windows have failed. First the drivers side, then the passenger side, rear windows work fine.

The car has just started to knock at the drive shaft, so that's the next thing to get looked at.

General Comments:

Love the big old car. I have had many cars including Citroen and Panhard, as well as Peugeots and Audi, Hyundai and Fiat, Corvette, Fieros and as well as Ford Galaxy 500 (67) and Mercury Monarch (75).

She is by far my largest car I've owned, and I fine her a dream and a pleasure to drive.

I know she needs some fixing up, but for a '79 town car that gets used almost daily during the summer to fall seasons, she gets a lot of head turns and goofy commits like 'oh I see you have a gas guzzler there' or 'like how do you drive that thing let alone park it?' I tell them that when you consider her size, luxury appointments etc... and you look at what some people drive ie: SUV, large pickups, like who cares...

I love the car, and am in the process of getting a '76 Town Coupe I came across.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th July, 2008

21st Jul 2008, 20:34

I enjoyed reading your review. I also have a '79 Town Car but I haven't had it on the road yet. It's undergoing some repairs now and I'm hoping to have it on the road before the summer ends!!

8th Mar 2010, 18:28

I have two 1979 Lincoln's, one Continental and one Town Car.

I bought the Continental in 1991. It had 87K miles on it and was a one owner. Today it has 350+K on it and still runs great. Nothing major done to the engine or tranny, just the usual upkeep. It has been a GREAT car. I love it.

The Town Car I bought about five years ago at an estate auction. It had 23K original mile on it. I was able to verify that with the former owners family. It is identical to the other car down to the paint (Wedgewood Blue) except it has all the niceties of the Town Car. I hardly ever drive it. It stays in the garage. It is so original, it still smells like a new car when you get in it. Still some factory plastic on the back seat. It's just a beautiful car.

The 79' Lincoln was truly one of the all time greatest luxury cars ever built. I would recommend it to anyone who appreciates quality, class and a great ride.

Mike Feuerborn, Hays, Kansas.

4th Mar 2013, 17:56

The big Lincolns were truly the best of the best. But 1979 was definitely not their finest hour. That year, the big, powerful 460 was dropped and the 400 was the only engine offering. With a meager 159 HP and 315 lb-ft of torque, it was too slow off the line, but was reliable and tough.

Great cars and all, just not as powerful as they should've been.

1979 Lincoln Town Car 400 cu.in.V8 from North America

Model year1979
Year of manufacture1979
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 400 cu.in.V8 Automatic
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.5 / 10
Distance when acquired35000 miles
Most recent distance35200 miles

Summary:

The finest contemporary Lincoln ever made

Faults:

Nothing! This car is as new as a 35,000 mile car can get. Everything works as it should.

General Comments:

This 79 Lincoln Town Car is a Luxury car owners dream. I am the 3rd owner. The first being an elderly couple. The second was a car collector.

It outclasses any new luxury car on the road today. The seats are cushy yet give plenty of support. Like sitting on a fine soft recliner. The trunk is massive and completely carpeted.

The engine is the standard 400 cubic inch V8 and offers average performance. The car is not meant for performance driving, but accelerates to interstate speeds in fine fashion. I can turn this car with one finger.

Where the Cadillac of the same year was full of glitz and glitter, the Lincoln offered a more subtle refined luxury. This was the big Lincoln's finest hour. This big luxury sedan will cruise for hours at 65-75 mph and not even breath hard.

Todays luxury car designers and makers have truly lost their way. What the auto makers call a big car today is nothing more than a mid-sized automobile. This car has everything you need and nothing you don't need. No cup holders here.

This car will not be leaving our stable for a long, long time.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th April, 2007

10th Apr 2007, 20:19

You will be able to enjoy this car for MANY MILES. These are some of the finest, best built cars on the planet. I'm jealous that you were able to find one with such low mileage.

My mom drove Lincoln Town cars for over 20 years and never had a single problem with them.

12th Apr 2007, 11:35

While I'll agree these are elegant looking cars, there really is nothing subtle about a car that is 233 inches in length.

19th Apr 2007, 10:55

By glitz I mean it doesn't have all the interior gold trim and the word I guess I'm looking for is "gaudy". To me the cadillac of the same year is just overkill. The lincoln's interior is more elegant. But yeah, you're right... there is nothing subtle about a car that's 19 feet 4 inches long.

Average review marks: 7.3 / 10, based on 5 reviews