1987 Lincoln Town Car Reviews - Page 2 of 2

1987 Lincoln Town Car Signature from North America

Model year1987
Year of manufacture1986
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.5 / 10
Previous carFord Explorer

Summary:

An excellent car for a more experienced driver, but I wouldn't recommend this car for teenagers

Faults:

I got my Lincoln Town Car when I was sixteen, and looking back on it now, I really wish I had picked something better for my first car. My father bought the car so that I'd have something huge to protect me in the case of an accident. About a week after I got it on the road, various problems started occurring with it. The car stalled many times--twice in front of oncoming traffic. I had to step on the break quite swiftly once, and the car pulled to right and hit the guardrail. Driving down the road, my engine started producing a burning smell & excess heat was coming out from under the hood, but the engine temperature gauge never indicated any such problem. The gas gauge didn't work either, nor did either of the front windows. The horn hardly ever worked. My odometer reading was very off--it said I was going 80 MPH when I was in a flow of traffic going about 60 MPH. Its traction control was rather poor too--I totaled it going around a corner at about 40 MPH.

General Comments:

The seats were incredibly comfortable. The automatic dimming headlights were rather convenient. It rode smooth like a dream--I barely felt bumps & potholes in the roads. The dashboard & steering wheel area, as well as the seats & the doors were all still in very good shape, except for some cracks on the driver's side door. Very spacious, easy to maneuver, and was a joy to drive when it wasn't having problem after problem after problem.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 5th June, 2007

5th Jun 2007, 08:35

Sounds like an okay car, just make sure maintainance has been kept up with before you buy an expensive luxury car. Lots more things can break.

5th Jun 2007, 12:38

I bought my first car which was a 1988 Lincoln Town Car when I was 18 that was in 2003, I've loved these cars since I was 10 years old. Boy I tell you that car had a lot of small problems it had sat for a few years and it had over 200K miles on it. It never quit on me besides the battery. You have to acknowledge it was an old car. These are the best cars you can buy, in fact I'm on my 3rd one.

1987 Lincoln Town Car signature series 302 5.0L from North America

Model year1987
Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 302 5.0L Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.3 / 10
Distance when acquired165000 miles
Most recent distance165200 miles
Previous carFord F150

Summary:

A boat with wings

Faults:

Passenger front brake line broke.

Power windows work when they want too, right rear goes down, but needs help up.

Power locks don't work, have to lock by hand.

Auto dim works when it wants too.

Power steering pump seals were leaking fix with new seals.

Overdrive cable was broke when bought car had to fix cable and trans.

General Comments:

The car floats over the road.

With some TLC, she will be a heaven to drive.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th February, 2006

1987 Lincoln Town Car from North America

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission Don't Know
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired120000 miles
Most recent distance123000 miles
Previous carDodge Ram

Summary:

It's an "oldie," but a "goodie."

Faults:

So far nothing has malfunctioned or needed to be replaced.

General Comments:

I am satisfied with the power this car has, but I really bought it for three reasons:

1. It was a one owner car that had mostly highway miles.

2. I bought it dirt cheap.

3 It rides like a dream boat and at my age a smooth ride is a definate plus.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd April, 2003

1987 Lincoln Town Car 5.0L fuel injected from North America

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership1992
Most recent year of ownership1993
Engine and transmission 5.0L fuel injected Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.5 / 10
Distance when acquired156000 miles
Most recent distance190800 miles
Previous carCadillac DeVille

Summary:

Outranks anything I have ever owned

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong with the car, but hoses & belts.

General Comments:

After having back surgery I had to have a living-room on wheels.

The Lincoln Town Car had just been traded in and I asked the salesman what cash he would take for it. $700 drove it home.

I have absolutely driven the wheels off of the thing and everyone compliments the gorgeous pearl gold finish.

You can buy one for practically nothing.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th March, 2003

1987 Lincoln Town Car V8 gasoline from North America

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership1994
Engine and transmission V8 gasoline Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10
Distance when acquired100000 miles
Most recent distance154000 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Quantum

Summary:

Purrs like a kitten

Faults:

The car being quite old now is starting nickle and dime me to death.

General Comments:

The best car on the road!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd September, 2002

1987 Lincoln Town Car 5.0 liter / 302 CID from North America

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 5.0 liter / 302 CID Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired99213 miles
Most recent distance100381 miles
Previous carChrysler Town and Country

Summary:

One of the finest modern day Luxury sedans

Faults:

The EGR valve had to be replaced, but still didn't work. The car had previously been tuned to work without the valve.

The typical wear on the driver's side arm rest. Fortunately a similar Lincoln in a junkyard had a specialty leather cover-up for both front door panels.

The seats were never taken care of and have begun to prematurely crack.

I Had to fix rust under the side molding panels. Only one door had to have a piece cut out and a new one welded back in.

General Comments:

This is a lovely car. The luxury and elegance of this land yacht is grand. Definitely one of my favorite cars.

I first purchased this car from my neighbor when he died. I bought it for $2000. I had always fancied this car; Metallic blue paint with a white canvas vinyl top and a lot of chrome. Lucky for me, I was first to buy it. Ever since, I've babied this car. Wash it once a week, vacuum it every other day, and detail it every month. I find it too nice to be my daily driver though.

Overall, I'm very proud of my car. I always have a smirk on my face when I drive it. I recommend any late 80's Town Car's to anyone that wants to drive a full sized luxury sedan. Truly the best automobile I've purchased.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd August, 2002

Average review marks: 8.6 / 10, based on 8 reviews