Mahindra Bolero Review

2005 Mahindra Bolero Double Cab 2.5 td peugeot from Costa Rica

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
Engine and transmission 2.5 td peugeot Manual
Performance marks 2 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 0 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance30000 kilometres
Previous carToyota Hi-lux

Faults:

The Mahindra is a big craft. Don't try to buy it, you are going to send your money to the wastebasket immediately. It's a noisy, uncomfortable, bad quality car, even for the third world.

The dealer in my country (Costa Rica) can't sell it to normal people (obviously), and they try to sell this thing to the government, like police agencies, they have a big team of lawyers trying for selling this bad quality car at any cost.

General Comments:

Stay away of this car and you are going to be more happy.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 20th January, 2006

23rd Jan 2006, 01:52

Congratulations for covering 30,000kms in a noisy, bad quality and uncomfortable vehicle within 1 year. You deserve a pat on the back.

31st Jan 2006, 21:56

I own a Mahindra Bolero and a Honda Odyssey. While the Bolero is not in the same league as the Honda, It is a hardy vehicle with very few problems. The exterior looks very good, as good as a japanese vehicle, the engine is also quite for a diesel, and reliable.

The interior is rough. The plastic dashboard looks very cheap. The seats are OK. The gauges are not very good.

The roads are bad where I live, and this is a great vehicle for bad roads.

27th Nov 2006, 19:08

The Mahindra bolero is a complete failure... wasted money! I would not recommend this vehicle to any one serious about a working vehicle with this characteristics. You'll be better off buying a 1978 FJ Land cruiser for a fraction of the cost of this one.

5th Nov 2007, 16:14

Dear Commentators.

I have full respect with your comments and experience. Mahindra had won a lot of appreciation for their cars in almost all parts of the world. You people tell which car in the world has a perfect combination.

1st Aug 2008, 19:01

Mahindra bolero is a nice car for its price. Very rugged. The interiors have improved in the latest models.

6th Dec 2010, 22:06

Mahindra has earned little respect in any country. Every professional car review has labeled this maker as completely incompetent! 'Avoid like the plague', 'Better off walking' and 'Appalling' are just a few quotes from various reviews I have read.

8th Jun 2014, 14:22

I have my Bolero since 2007, and have done over 135000 km with no trouble except for changing a battery. I have gone through mud where other 4X4 pickups could not go.

Yes it's a bumpy ride, but it can handle a load very well, and when I went on a fishing trip, the other pickups were having a hard time keeping up with me; they all wanted to know what motor is under the hood.

Yes the interior is cheap plastics, but look how cheap the vehicle is compared to other vehicles. I will most certainly buy it again.

Average review marks: 2.8 / 10, based on 1 review