Maserati Biturbo Reviews - Page 4 of 4

1985 Maserati Biturbo 420 2.0 V6 from Germany

Year of manufacture1985
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0 V6 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired76800 kilometres
Most recent distance82800 kilometres
Previous carPorsche 928

Summary:

A wild cat

Faults:

Clutch cylinder when being stuck in a 15 km stop-go-stop traffic on the way to Tuscany. All in all, I needed then 1 liter of brake-fluid per 500 km.

Was repaired at a cost of DEM 200 - at a workshop in Tuscany.

General Comments:

The car is in excellent condition, came from Italy when I bought it. I had a major service done at a Maserati specialist down there before I imported her. Even those guys congratulated me on the condition. Beautiful inside and out, incredible performance, extremely reliable and low fuel consumption.

Generally around 11 liters / 100 km.

Does need 1 liter of (best you can get) oil / 1000 km and goes like a bomb with a sound that makes you an addict.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th September, 2001

1987 Maserati Biturbo 2.5 V6 twin turbo from Norway

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.5 V6 twin turbo Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired58000 kilometres
Most recent distance67000 kilometres
Previous carCitroen Xantia

Summary:

It's a sports-car in tuxedo

Faults:

New timing belt when I bought it.

Windshield washer fluid pump.

Turbo-hose.

Carburetter pressure chamber gasket.

General Comments:

I've had a British Layland Mini, a Morris Garage (MG) and two Citroens prior to the Maserati, so I'm used to trouble. The Biturbo has been quite nice, although it was an experience to find out that the garage had a special, slightly higher price to service Maseratis.

The car itself is sometimes a bit hard to start, depending on the weather. When it does start, and ninety-nine out of a hundred times it does, the sound of the engine is like music. Mine is a 1987, built in November 1986, carburetted, original Biturbo. The injected engine is probably more reliable when it comes to starting.

The car is fast and will outrun everyday traffic and a lot more. In acceleration it's like a medium motorcycle, 0-100kmph in approx 6.5 seconds. Compared to other fast cars, like the Golf (Rabbit) VR6, Subaru Impreza GT and Porsche Boxster, it at least feels a lot more sporty and powerful, even if some of them have more horsepowers. But then again, it has less than 1200Kg to drag around.

These other cars feel like insecure handshakes compared to the Biturbo. At full throttle you hear the turbos, exhaust, transmission and it feels like it would rip any other car apart.

It's not a classic yet, but it's straight, cool 1970's lines, great engine-sound and great seats will wake the crowd one day, I'm sure. It is actually quite anonymous in appearance and does not turn a lot of heads, but to me that is a plus. On the other hand, you will notice it when it's in your rear-view mirror...

As they say: It's a sports-car in tuxedo. And it's a lot of fun!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th August, 2001

14th Mar 2005, 13:44

This all sounds very familiar. Mine was a 422. What I miss most is the sound of starting it in the morning. That sound

1985 Maserati Biturbo E 2.5 twin turbo from North America

Year of manufacture1985
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.5 twin turbo Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired53200 miles
Most recent distance55000 miles
Previous carMaserati Biturbo

Summary:

A quick car off the line that is very hard to beat

Faults:

The fuse box is the only problem I have had with this car.

General Comments:

This is the high performance "E" model which was only produced for a single year in 1985.

It has shorter and stiffer springs and the factory shocks are re-valved.

It has wider (6.5 inch) wheels versus the stock (6 inch) wheels.

The tires are 205VR55 instead of the stock 195VR60.

The anti-sway bars are thicker than the stock bars.

The leather interior is unsurpassed by any with the possible exception of a Rolls-Royce.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th May, 2001

1985 Maserati Biturbo Twin turbo, six cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1985
First year of ownership1993
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission Twin turbo, six cylinder Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired36000 miles
Most recent distance53000 miles
Previous carCitroen Traction Avant

Summary:

A very affordable entry level exotic

Faults:

Let's see...

1 "minor" bearing had to be replaced within the 5 speed transmission.

Complete new brakes (rotors, pads, etc.)

Some ignition problems and now there is a problem with the car cutting out at 55/60 mph (roughly @ 3000 rpms).

Also the usual fuse box "headaches" (i.e., having to slam the glove compartment lid which in turn causes something in the fuse box to make a better connection?)

General Comments:

Well, I've owned quite a few cars and am known to be some what of a Mercedes-Benz fanatic (I have a 1959 220s and have owned a number of various Merc's over the years). So, it was a bit out of character for me to take a chance on an Italian car with dubious reliability fame. (I have also owned a Slough built Citroen Traction Avant and I am not new to cars that require bit above normal attention in general).

I have to admit, cosmetically the Biturbo leaves much to desire and the interior is a bit "too much" in some aspects. It would be difficult to call the Biturbo a beautiful car yet it is a comfortable car. Perhaps it is somewhat unrealistic to call the biturbo an exotic yet, the general consensus seems to be that it is an exotic; an entry level one at that. So in this same breath, it would be fair to say though in comparison to the Germans, the car "fails" in reliability and handling characteristics, etc. when one considers this car with other "exotics", the story is somewhat different altogether; here then is a car that is the least costly exotic to run and among the most dependable exotics to run. Again, one must admit, this car sits on the outer fringes of the exotic market (if at all!).

My car, (Tatiana) has presented me with mostly superficial problems and has been fairly reliable otherwise. Would I buy another Biturbo? Possibly... (basic looks - not mechanicals/design - being the stumbling block) Would I buy another Merc 220s or another Citroen Traction Avant? YES!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th January, 2001

14th Sep 2001, 16:34

Your cutting out problem at 3000rpm sounds like my car. The problem was simply the hose that goes from the pressurized plenum chamber to the fuel pump - this had split, so the fuel pressure stayed at 2.5lbs. Once the boost pressure went over 2.5, it forced the fuel back into the tank.

The proper action of this tube increases the fuel pressure so it always stays 2.5lbs above boost pressure.

Just trace it through, blow through the tubes, and change tube if necessary.

1987 Maserati Biturbo 425 2.5L twin turbo from North America

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.5L twin turbo Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired28000 miles
Most recent distance31000 miles
Previous carMaserati Biturbo Si

Summary:

You could actually rationalize the ownership of this Biturbo

Faults:

Amazingly enough, absolutely NOTHING!! I did have to replace the fuse box when I first got it, but have had to replace nothing since. This is VERY atypical of Biturbos.

General Comments:

An understated, slightly more mature version of the in-your-face 2-door model. It's a little slower, a bit roomier, and you can actually carry more than one bag of groceries in the trunk.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th August, 2000

1987 Maserati Biturbo Si 2.5L twin turbo from North America

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership1994
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.5L twin turbo Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance120000 miles
Previous carMaserati Biturbo

Summary:

I own 4, 'nuf said!

Faults:

Fuse box, relays, engine crank sensor, speedodometer sensor.

General Comments:

Extremely fast, very Italian. Certainly not for everybody, but an absolute joy to drive when it's working right.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th August, 2000

7th Mar 2001, 04:43

I've got 13 Ferraris, 'nuf said.

27th Jul 2001, 18:46

Isn't it a little childish to to argue about how many cars you own?

28th Oct 2001, 03:26

I don't think this guy was showing off. I took it to mean that he loved these cars and that they are very cheap to buy. A 1987 Bi-turbo in good nick is only about 3000ukp!!!

1986 Maserati Biturbo 425 2.5 V6 Twin Turbo from North America

Year of manufacture1986
Engine and transmission 2.5 V6 Twin Turbo
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10

Faults:

Fusebox, steering rack, transmission, water pump, timing belt, electrics, and all this before 29K miles!

General Comments:

Actually a very reliable example of the breed, and on a good day will outrun most anything.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st March, 1998

27th Jul 2001, 18:36

How much do Maseratis cost and where can you get them?

Average review marks: 7.3 / 10, based on 13 reviews