2004 Maybach 62 from North America - Comments

18th Apr 2005, 03:41

Whoever wrote the review is a tosser.

9th May 2005, 01:01

Hi there guys.

I agree, with most of you, people with enough money to buy a Maybach normally don't have time to browse carsurvey.org and brag about their cars.

Therefore I hereby tell you that I don't have the money to buy a Maybach, not even an S-Class to be honest.

BUT... I am in the lucky position to test drive a Maybach 57 soon, and next month I will be driving a Rolls-Royce Phantom during a factory visit.

Just to let you guys know what it is to drive these cars, I will post reviews of both cars right after I test them.

26th Aug 2005, 04:08

I am extremely lucky to own this car due to my last album going Platinum, I truly believe you cannot comment on this car until you own one. this car is the most comfortable car I've ever been in and I've been in the the best cars and owned the best cars in the world. however I too admire the reviewers honesty in that he does not own one. keep your chin up lad and keep playing the lottery.

Willy tee.

28th Oct 2005, 17:15

The best part about the Maybach is you can instantly tell old money from new money.

Anyone driving or being chauffeured in a Maybach is new money with zero class.

6th Nov 2005, 19:03

The reviewer is correct in what he says about the car.

It is great and makes you feel like royalty. The thing about “constant attention from passers-by” is not that bad because you can close the electric curtains when you are bored of smiling back at them. Actually, the car is externally more understated than many other posh cars, and probably gets less or a similar amount of attention than many other executive vehicle. E.G. Bentley’s, Rolls Royce, or even stretched limos or a Hummer (stretched or not). Parking is not a problem after you get used to the length, especially if you use the very good parking sensors. For me the best feature is the glass roof that changes from black to clear at the touch of a button. On a clear day/night the sky looks great as you look ahead from your reclined, virtually horizontal, seating position.

If you can afford one and want a new car, then you will be able to arrange a test drive and review the car yourself. If you are very, very rich, you maybe able to borrow one for a few days from Maybach. Many pop stars etc. are given a Maybach for a few days, when for example they go on tour.

If you are ‘jealous of the more fortunate’ and have no chance of buying one, you may come to a forum like this and criticize the posters like has happened in a few of these posts!!! Stop criticizing others and try it yourselves. Google lists a chauffeur company with one; cheaper than buying: http://www.google.co.uk/search?hl=en&q=chauffeured+Maybach+62.

6th Nov 2005, 21:49

No, "New Money" does not necessarily mean someone "has worked hard and been smart". Ever heard of corruption- especially in high places? Or is that O.K.?!

8th Nov 2005, 21:52

I`m pleased you`ve understood and agreed with the point I was making. Those who make their fortunes honestly and legitimately, are not the issue here. It`s the "other" bunch I was referring to- the selfish, egotistical types, devoid of any social conscience or morals, who live by the concept of "Greed is Good"- like company directors who award themselves millions of dollars a year in salaries, or like managers of celebrities, who systematically bleed their clients dry. Should we admire them simply because they`re rich too? I think not. THAT was my point. So where does your flippant comment regarding 'negativism' and 'jealously' come into all this- unless you`re one of the "Greed is Good" brigade yourself? And I`m sure you`re not.

2nd Jan 2006, 12:28

New money vs. old money is a mindset, not necessarily self made vs. inherited.

Old money does not have to prove anything, doesn't have to show off. New money is tasteless and thrives on hideous displays of wealth like the Maybach.

Just look at the Brunei royalty. Here you have inherited wealth that is total new money. After all, how many rich people with class would name their huge yacht "T*ts"?

The Maybach, like Hummers and any car with spinners, makes it easy to point out the low class types.

9th Feb 2006, 16:33

I have been somewhat disappointed with my Maybach... the styling is passe and the ride, handling, and power do not seem commensurate with the price. I recently added a brand new 06 Buick Lucerne to my stable of luxury automobiles and while the Buick is the lowest priced, it is the most fun to drive and reflects the craftsmanship and care that is reflected in Buick consistently winning JD Power's quality awards. Like the Lucerne ad says... "Beyond Precision".

2nd Apr 2006, 12:46

Whatever. If you don't trust people who claim to own these cars (like the last comment- Maybach to Buick-wha?) then just accept the review for what it is.

2nd Apr 2006, 15:45

Have to agree. Had non-stop laughs with the guy who spends $350K plus for a car and then decides he allegedly doesn't like because of things he should have known on a test drive. The Buick comment is the icing on the cake. I think "Beyond Precision" is akin to Ford's "Quality is Job 1"

But the guy is going to have "collector's items" since both Maybach and Buick are rumoured to be getting the ax since neither is pulling its weight.

12th Jul 2006, 11:37

I do agree with the person who said it's a larger s class although Mercedes does make MayBach so it's sort of an over sized and over priced Mercedes by exactly $489,254 but it does have nice features.

12th Sep 2006, 10:30

Money or No Money... Maybach doesn't make a four wheel drive and until they do, I'll stick to my Range Rover... So there..You are welcome to stare all you want...

19th Oct 2006, 14:54

Thank you to the chauffeur who wrote the review.

It's funny that so many people don't even believe a person can WORK for a company that owns this vehicle. And some of the comments about no class/new money etc... are downright funny.

"how does a busy chauffeur have time to come to carsurvey.org" HaHaHa. You think the guy works 24 hours a day?

I have been in a 62. It is a beautiful car. Not worth the money in my opinion, but then again I'm not super rich. The 62 is to be driven around in, not to be driven. You could get a custom made limo with everything you could ever want in it, and spend a lot less than what the 62 costs. But... If you can afford it and you want it, why not get it?

11th Jul 2007, 17:44

I ordered a Maybach 62 on impulse and have been disappointed... fit and finish is very poor for a car in this price class. Styling is distinctive, but odd and unattractive. I'm glad I didn't trade in my faithful 2003 Corvette, which is much more fun to drive and was about 10% of my Maybach's price!!!

14th Oct 2008, 22:14

Being able to afford one of these cars is not "luck;" it is a lot of hard work. That said, I can afford one, cash, but will not pay that much for a vehicle... any vehicle. My primary car is a five year old Chevy and I live in a modest (fully paid for) home, neither of which the repo man is coming for with the downturn of the economy. But, if someone works hard and wants to drive one of these or something similar, go for it. People get too caught up in material possessions, especially other people's material possessions. Just worry about what you are doing and never mind what anybody else thinks.