1991 Mazda 323 Reviews - Page 4 of 4

1991 Mazda 323 Bg Gtx 1.8 turbo from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.8 turbo Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired115000 kilometres
Most recent distance150000 kilometres
Previous carFord Laser

Summary:

Great car for performance with low budget

Faults:

Blown water pump Replaced radiator.

Blew Clutch.

Blew Gearbox 10000km after clutch replaced.

General Comments:

Fun car to cruse round in, Turbo sucks heaps of gas on boost.

Gearbox is not strong you should not launch car.

Cheap to modify with good results, can increase the boost with a simple modification bypassing the waste gate solenoid.

Good first turbo car.

4wd provides very good traction.

Very fast, but offers poor crash protection.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th September, 2002

1991 Mazda 323 F GLX 1.6 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired42000 miles
Most recent distance58000 miles
Previous carBMW 3 Series

Summary:

A very reliable, different and fun to drive car, but make sure you look after it to avoid high costs

Faults:

The central locking unlocked the car one night during the cold winter months - problem strangely rectified itself.

General Comments:

Deceivingly quick and a little bit funky at times.

The car is very reliable and has started first time through all weather conditions. However, if you don't take good care of it, it punishes you with a hefty service bill.

My only negative point is the ventilation - there is none unless you open a window.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th August, 2002

1991 Mazda 323 GT 1.8 16v Twin-Cam from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.8 16v Twin-Cam Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired120000 miles
Most recent distance121000 miles
Previous carFord Fiesta

Summary:

A Escort-sized rocket car

Faults:

Nothing at all.

General Comments:

This car is excellent. I have only owned it for a short while, but I have been happy with both it's performance and reliability. It also has groovy pop-up headlights which impress people that I see along the road...sometimes. Its' very, very fast too.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th July, 2002

1991 Mazda 323 F GLX 1.6 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1991
Engine and transmission 1.6
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10

Faults:

This is my second 323f, I liked the first one so much. I had a 1990 1.5 Jap import, and now I have a 1991 1.6.

Both had these problems:

Passenger door lock is disconnected from central locking.

A lot of engine noise compared to newer cars.

Windows open and close very slowly.

My 1.6 has these problems:

Driver's window auto-stop not auto-stopping, causing loud clunking.

Light switch not working for sidelights, had to install push button switch.

Noticeable lack of power with less than 3,000 revs, then I get a sudden burst.

General Comments:

Smooth manual gearbox.

Reliable car - never not started and low fuel consumption.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th January, 2000

27th Jan 2001, 18:00

I have the same problem with my Mazda 323F's windows, can you suggest what the problem is and can it easily be fixed?

11th Jan 2002, 10:04

My Mazda 323 also has a sticky passenger door lock, which usually has to be unlocked manually. The seals on both rear doors have become detached from the frame and therefore are prone to leaking. The headlights are currently playing up by suddenly cutting out when on main beam, which is 'cured' by flicking to full beam momentarily. No mechanic has been able to sort out this irritating habit.

High lip to the boot is a pain too, particularly with baby clobber.

In the main, though, it's a brilliant car, very reliable.

31st May 2003, 10:00

I have owned my Mazda 323f for five years, and love it. It has never let me down and compared with other car owners and the money they spend out it has cost me next to nothing to run. It is looking a little tatty now and things are starting to "go". The electric window ratchet on the drivers window needs replacing. It has several rust spots particularly on the door pillars and sunroof. However it sailed through it's mot and when I replace it, it will be with the later model because I cannot find another 5-door car that looks sporty, yet functional and has so much room. (much needed for a woman driver)

1991 Mazda 323 F GLX 1.8 sohc from Croatia

Year of manufacture1991
Engine and transmission 1.8 sohc
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10

Faults:

Had this car for 20.000kms. Nothing much went wrong. Rear muffler was replaced with stainless one.

General Comments:

Everything is nice; acceleration, fuel consumption, build quality - except for steering which is vague, far from direct. Almost 4 turns from lock to lock. I still wonder what was in the manufacturers' head.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th February, 1999

4th May 2001, 05:34

Yes, The same car, the same country, just another guy! I've made 120 K km with it, and apart from lame servo acutators on windows and sunroof, all the things that have been replaced on the car (1991 Mazda 323F 1.8) were damaged due to physical impact. I have heard from my neighbor who also has the same car - he kept the original anti-freeze liquid in his cooler for the first seven years! Too bad they don't make so good cars. The only thing I am not to happy with is the poor braking system - it sucks even when I installed the new one.

17th Jun 2001, 09:59

I own a 1991 Mazda 323 it has only 75,000 miles on it, and is a great car, not too many problems; except for the usual CV joints, but my comment comes from something else.

What is up with the huge hazard button?

It's like the designer's of the car were like "people are always searching for this thing, lets make it more noticeable!!". I think it was pretty silly to put the thing (especially being as big as it is) right there out in front!

Anyway sorry this was so long, just wanted to make a comment, thanks.

Average review marks: 8.2 / 10, based on 16 reviews