1993 Mazda 323 Reviews - Page 4 of 4

1993 Mazda 323 1.6L from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.6L Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired176000 kilometres
Most recent distance203000 kilometres
Previous carNissan Micra

Summary:

A good reliable car for the daily commute and minor activities!

Faults:

The fuel pump went after 6 months from the purchase. This fault was expected when I was told that the fuel filter had never been replaced! There is a slow transmission fluid leak that I am going to have checked out soon, and the CV joints in the Front Wheel Drive may need to be replaced soon. The exhaust system was replaced about a year ago. There have not been many problems with the vehicle.

General Comments:

I like this car for going to and from school. It is quite reliable and is easy on the fuel costs. I do regular oil changes and my filters are now all up to date. The car has new plugs and tires. I find that when taking a corner at a decent speed, the car does lean a bit... but hey, it's not a sports car!! I like the space in the cabin and there is enough room with the seat down for my snowboard. Transportation of large dogs is not a problem!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th October, 2002

25th Oct 2005, 18:12

I bought my car for $100, thinking I got a good deal. boy was I wrong, I've replaced exhaust, CV joints, speedometer cable, rotor and brakes, windshield, valve cover gasket, and there is a mysterious noise coming from right front of vehicle that won't go away.

26th Oct 2005, 08:51

You paid $100 and feel like you got ripped off???

That's a steal of a deal for any junker. The parts alone are generally worth more than that.

You cannot buy a used vehicle - especially something under $3,000 - and not expect to find some problems. Things such as struts/shocks, brakes, CV axles/joints, glass, tires, bearings, etc. are CONSUMABLES and need replacement on a regular basis. I did learn this the hard way, but I learned to grin and bear it. By the time I put another $1,500 into my vehicle I had a very, very reliable car and I KNEW I had a lot of new parts in it for under $4,000. No, I wasn't expecting to spend the money and it took me a while to come up with it, but it was worth it.

5th Nov 2005, 03:47

1992 K reg Mazda 323 1.3 B.G. Executive 4 door.

Mazda cars have some of the best engineering in the world. An opinion that has been reinforced by my experience with my little rice rocket.

Light and fun to drive. D.O.H.C. 16V engine red lines at 6,500 rpm and seems to enjoy having the snot ran out of it. Seriously, I'm practically trying to blow this car up so I have an excuse to buy a more modern one. It'll do 95 mph all day (in Germany, of course). Top speed 110 mph.

Lots of room in the boot and in the cabin, but one of the lower cars on the road. I'm 6'3". Small and low-profile. Much more classy looking than the hatchback version-which is rather dated.

Nice and simple. Little to go wrong and easy to fix and maintain.

Advice: like any car, get wheels aligned and balanced.

1993 Mazda 323 GLX 1.6 from Israel

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1993
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance129000 kilometres

Summary:

Fill her up and drive. No worries

Faults:

Radiator head cracked after 120,000 km.

General Comments:

Unbelievably reliable: the only time I had to take this car to the garage (excluding regular service) was when the radiator head cracked - after nearly 10 years and 120000 kilometers.

It's also quite efficient (roughly 12 km/liter).

A bit noisy over 100 km/h.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th September, 2002

1993 Mazda 323 LX 1.6 petrol from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.6 petrol Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired129000 kilometres
Most recent distance131000 kilometres
Previous carHolden Barina

Summary:

A pretty decent all-round car

Faults:

Not much at all, small water leak while towing a trailer turned out to be a blown radiator hose - solution was a new hose $15nz, battery was nuked, apart from that, nothing.

General Comments:

After putting in a new CD player the car was awesome. A bit gutless compared to my old car, but it still gets you from A to B.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th January, 2002

1993 Mazda 323 SE 1.5 82 Hp from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1993
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.5 82 Hp Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance113000 kilometres
Previous carMazda 626

Summary:

A great first car

Faults:

Nothing have gone wrong except for normal maintenance.

General Comments:

The manual transmission is cheap on a 323 or 323 SE.

The body is excellent, rust can hardly make its way thru the car's body.

The car is pretty good on gas.

The standard equipment is too much low quality for what I paid for the car.

The 13 inches wheels help the handling skill of the car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th January, 2002

1993 Mazda 323 from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership1996
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance0 miles

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

Loved this car, most reliable and easy to drive car. Never had a stitch of a problem with it.

The only trouble I had was that the radio went out (no biggy) and my fiance destroyed it, so I had to get rid of it. I truely think I should have gotten rid of her (destruction was intentional).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd August, 2000

8th Feb 2002, 10:26

The 323 is a jewel that delivers a lot (fun, reliability, economy) and asks for very little. You are right about getting rid of your fiance.

1993 Mazda 323 1.6i 1.6i from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1993
Most recent year of ownership1997
Engine and transmission 1.6i Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance50000 miles
Previous carFord Capri

Summary:

Excellent car, highly recommended

Faults:

In four years the only thing that went was in the last few months: the switch inside the gears for the reversing lights.

General Comments:

Only thing that lets it down is that it's a little hard on the suspension.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th May, 2000

1993 Mazda 323 GLXi 1.6 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.6 petrol Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired22000 miles
Most recent distance62000 miles
Previous carFiat Tipo

Summary:

Attractive and reliable

Faults:

None at all.

General Comments:

Smooth ride.

Reliable.

Excellent value for money.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th April, 2000

1st Jan 2010, 16:16

I have a 323f 1.6L GLXi auto ABS. I've had the car 70,000 miles and had it 2 years, and it's still going as it's now on 85,000.

The car is reliable, as in the 2 years it's passed both MOTs, and broke down once due to a car battery. It's on an L reg, and I paid £300.00 for it.

1993 Mazda 323 GLXi 1.3 petrol from Hong Kong

Year of manufacture1993
Engine and transmission 1.3 petrol
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10

Faults:

Fan belt broken. (normal wear)

General Comments:

Reliable car and low fuel consumption..

But the body is not so stiff enough.

Good anticorrosion performance.

Quite noisy (mostly from road noise and engine noise)

Smooth manual gear box.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 17th January, 1999

Average review marks: 7.8 / 10, based on 21 reviews