2002 Mazda 6 Sport 2.3 petrol from UK and Ireland

Summary:

Nice reliable family car with extra performance

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong mechanically, although the clutch will need doing soon at a relatively low 55000 miles.

The rear wheel arches are showing signs of corrosion.

Alloy wheels are corroded, a common problem I gather from reading other reviews on here.

General Comments:

The petrol Mazda 6 shares its engines with the Ford Mondeo; the 2.3 is just an enlarged version of the 2 litre found in both models, but I am happy that it does not share the rear subframe and poor rear brakes of the Mondeo.

The performance is OK, but I would expect a quicker 0-60 than 9 seconds from the alleged 164 bhp motor.

The Mazda has excellent handling for a car of this size, although I do find the power steering a bit light at higher speeds. And there is a lot of road noise.

The interior is a bit dark like most japanese motors, but I like the fact it has an electric sunroof and climate control, the Bose sound system with 6 in dash changer is very good also. I am not impressed with the fuel computer which only reads litres per 100 miles; what's wrong with mpg which we all understand.

Fuel consumption 25-27 urban 34-38 motorway, the car does seem to rev high at motorway speeds, but I understand the later versions have a 6 speed box, which will help quite a lot.

Overall I am very happy; it's just a shame about the minor corrosion issues.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th September, 2007

4th Oct 2007, 07:17

Yes, the current generation models do have a 6 speed manual gearbox indeed. However, in the 2.3 litre models, 6th gear is the same gear ratio as 5th gear in the outgoing Mazda 6 model.

It's the 2 litre model which has a tall 6th gear, at 100 mph, the engine is turning over at 4200 rpm, making for very relaxed cruising indeed.

I speak from experience, as I've had a 6 speed manual Mazda 6 hatchback in England, in November of 2005. I also own the 2.3 litre sedan here in Australia, which is thusly equipped with the 6 speed manual box too. I know that the UK spec 2.3 litre Sport 6 speed manual has the same gear ratios as the Australian spec version.

2002 Mazda 6 Exclusive 1.8 petrol from Norway

Summary:

I love it!

Faults:

-Sound from the trunk and from one of the front seats.

-Little strange sound from the engine on low RPM (500-1000 RPM).

All this was easily fixed by the dealer.

General Comments:

This is a very good and reliable car.

It looks cool and sporty, among boring VW and Toyota models. The car is a head turner, and people really like this car here in Norway.

Great handling, very fun to drive! Nice interior, nice to look at and easy to use. A great family car, highly recommended.

Engine: 1.8, 120 hp. Strong enough, and one of the best in its class.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th June, 2004

2002 Mazda 6 TS 2.0 from UK and Ireland

Summary:

Class-leading driveability, safety, looks, space and reliability at a great price

Faults:

A loose contact caused failure of the driver's electric window, but this was put right promptly by a quick visit to the dealer.

General Comments:

A genuinely handsome car inside and out and possibly the best looking family-sized Japanese saloon ever produced. Great styling details, though on closer inspection some of the internal plastics are a little flimsy.

Very spacious and comfortable for all passengers, with a huge boot and impressively convenient rear seat folding mechanism. At motorway speeds the cabin is not the quietest, but road noise is not obtrusive and is certainly acceptable.

This car is great at everything, but its handling still stands out. It's great fun to drive, with an amazingly well-balanced front drive chassis, taut handling and precise if somewhat light steering. You have to try improbably hard to get it to step out of line. It'll grip even the least skilled driver to the road and endlessly entertain anyone who knows how to ride a symphony of bends. The 2.0 litre responds well once run in, but obviously doesn't set the road ablaze.

Secondary safety has yet to be assessed by Euro NCAP crash testing, but with all the current safety equipment across the whole range it is expected to do well. Its primary safety though, determined by handling and brakes, is superlative.

In TS guise there is a CD, touring computer, climate control, cruise control and steering wheel audio controls. With class-leading driveability, safety, looks, space and Mazda reliability, it surpasses all its real rivals. Only the prestige marques are better, but they are also more expensive to buy and own. With Mazda's competitive pricing in the UK, I really can't understand why anyone in the market for a driveable family-sized saloon or hatchback would even look at anything else (other than for reasons of marque partisanism).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th April, 2003

19th Sep 2005, 11:00

Completely agree. I had a 52 plate TS2 2.0 as a company car which did 90 000 miles in 2 and half years. All I had to do was service it and change tyres.

Best car I have ever had.

2002 Mazda 6 Exclusive 1.8 from Norway

Summary:

Highly recommendable

Faults:

The back window is occasionally not being defrosted.

One of the headlights had a non-working height adjustment motor which we had to replace.

General Comments:

Very pleasurable and good driving experience - very comfortable and steady on the road.

The comfort is very good. The interior is good looking as well as being warm.

The cruise drive is working perfectly, but it has a jerky feel to it. Otherwise it is an excellent car that I have not problem recommending to customers that want a really good car for their money.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd March, 2003

2002 Mazda 6 sports hatch 2.2 four cylinder from Australia and New Zealand

Summary:

This car has got it all, what else can I say

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

The 2.2 sounds sporty and revs freely to red line, it can handle steep mountain roads in 5th gear easy, a top motor.

The sports hatch is the best looking car for the money, it's a great image car.

This car is Japanese made so you can expect trouble free motoring.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th January, 2003

2002 Mazda 6 TS 2.0 petrol from UK and Ireland

Summary:

Wicked man, wicked

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

Looks superb, handles like a dream and pulls very well across the range.

Superb quality interior with plenty of toys for the money.

This car beats its direct rivals hands down and has a damn good stab at some more premium models too - can't be recommended enough.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th January, 2003