2008 Mazda 6 I 2.3 litre from North America

Summary:

Great reliable budget family sedan

Faults:

Light squealing noise in cold weather. Dealer replaced belt, but problem persists.

Popping noise from brakes when cold, and light groaning noise when releasing brake pedal.

Light rear window rattling and light dashboard rattle that comes and goes.

General Comments:

This car is a very capable handler, and the 2.3 is adequate with the auto when using the shift option.

The car rides well, but you will feel the bumps when you go over broken pavement, and the tire roar is unacceptable. Seats were very uncomfortable, but then became nice and snug after I dropped a few pounds.

The car is very reliable, and apart from oil changes, has had no major faults. Be sure to change the transmission fluid at most every 30,000 miles. If you can live with light rattling and know that you will get rid of those loud tires down the road, then this is a good vehicle to buy on a budget.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th November, 2009

16th Feb 2011, 13:29

Update: Now on 64,000 miles on February 16, 2011.

The rear shocks have developed leaks due to the rough roads I drive on and the low tire pressure lights blink on and off occasionally for no reason, but the car is still going strong.

28th Nov 2011, 11:32

Update: Now around 81,000 miles and still with original brake pads. The air conditioner was leaking freon, but that was fixed.

2008 Mazda 6 iSport VE 2.3 from North America

Summary:

This car is the best family sports sedan in its class

Faults:

I have put 8,000 miles on this car since buying it used 4 months ago. I have driven it as far south as Oklahoma and as far north as Canada.

I've had to replace 1 of the 2 horns on the car (the lower tone one) - covered under 36,000 mile warranty. That is all that has went wrong with the car. Period.

The car looks and drives flawlessly. Like brand new at almost 39,000 miles.

I did just put new tires on it as the stock Michelins only lasted about 38,000 miles. That can't exactly be considered a surprise though.

General Comments:

This car is the best car I've ever owned. It drives and handles 'out of its league'. It has been very reliable so far.

I've got the iSport VE edition so I've got 17" wheels, an alarm system, 6 CD changer and TPMS. Also, I've got a new paint color that was introduced by Mazda for the 6 in the 2008 year.

I love the little touches like the steering wheel controls, door lights, vanity mirror lights and exhaust tips. The stereo system (although not Bose) is very good.

This car has amazing soundproofing material. Whether you're sitting in the car idling, or driving it down the road, it's very quiet in the cabin. A lot of outside noise is simply kept out.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th September, 2009

2008 Mazda 6 Sport Estate 2.0 turbo diesel from UK and Ireland

Summary:

Good build quality, but noisy and underpowered, with a hard ride. No other complaints

Faults:

None.

General Comments:

I've had this car for 12 months, and found that the ride is hard and the engine is noisy even for a diesel. This has become more annoying over time.

The engine is underpowered for its class. I bought the car specifically for the purpose of towing a caravan. It performed fine on a test drive, but is sluggish when pulling a caravan. I now understand why Mazda have dropped this model and replaced it with the larger 2.2L version.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 31st March, 2009

2008 Mazda 6 2.5L from Australia and New Zealand

Summary:

Terrific car

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong with the car.

General Comments:

This car is testament to Mazda's ability to produce a vehicle of the highest quality standard.

Interior and exterior finishes are superb, and make you feel as if you are driving a high-end European.

The steering wheel controls, to be honest, were a little tedious initially; however, once I got a little more savvy with them, I found that they actually enable you to adjust most of the car's features, i.e. air-conditioning, stereo, and trip computer.

The seats are comfortable, and the wagon, surprisingly, carries a larger load than my previous Holden Jackaroo 4WD.

Since purchasing the car in April this year, it has done approximately 10,000 km of interstate driving. I find the car a pleasure to drive, especially over longer distances. It handles tight corners effortlessly and happily cruises at 110 km/h. I generally get between 550 to 600 km from one tank of fuel.

As I currently reside in the tropical climate of Darwin, air-conditioning is of the up-most importance: the Mazda has yet to disappoint. The standard dual-zone climate control is by far the best air-conditioning system I have seen in a car thus far.

To say that I am thoroughly impressed with this vehicle is an understatement. It is an impressive piece of machinery to look at, and just as impressive to drive.

As for Mazda, I was initially concerned that its sales and service teams were not on par with its production team, due in part to it taking nearly four months to fit all of my optional extras; however, I recently received a letter from Mazda Australia stating that due to the fact that I had been one of the first people to purchase the Mazda 6, prior to their decision to reduce the cost of the Mazda, I was entitled to three years free scheduled maintenance. A nice touch to a terrific experience.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd October, 2008

5th Aug 2009, 22:36

I completely agree with everything you have said about the Mazda 6 in terms of comfort and performance. I do not own this vehicle, however Mazda NZ kindly gave me the vehicle for a few days to use for my wedding. The only issue I had was that the rear of the vehicle is a little high which makes it difficult to reverse or park. Other than that, no issues at all, it's smooth, handles well on corners and the 6 speed manual shift is a bonus.