1992 Mazda 929 Reviews

1992 Mazda 929 6 Cylinders 3.0L MFI DOHC from North America

Model year1992
Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 6 Cylinders 3.0L MFI DOHC Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired67411 miles
Most recent distance87512 miles
Previous carHonda Accord

Summary:

The 1992 Mazda 929 is a dream combination of refined lines, power, luxury, and sports car fun!

Faults:

The oil pressure switch and the left rear axle seal need to be replaced.

General Comments:

There are only three minor nuisances in this vehicle: 1) No cup holders, 2) No glove compartment (other than a small lockable compartment in the front armrest), and 3) The steering wheel position can’t be adjusted. With that said, this car is a dream combination of refined lines, power, luxury, and sports car fun!

My 929 is now 14 years old, and looks and drives like it was just taken off of the showroom floor. Nestled in leather and with the stereo cranked, I’ve driven it well over 120 mph, and she still had a lot of power to spare. Moreover, she constantly turns heads and elicits the standard, “That’s a beautiful car…What is it?”

Kudos to the Mazda Engineers that designed this 929! They were many years ahead of their time, but they obviously don’t like to sip on a cool beverage while they’re ripping down the road…How can we spoiled Americans live without a cup holder?! HA!

If you can find a mint 1992 Mazda 929, snatch it up quick!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th October, 2006

10th Oct 2006, 13:50

I know the Mazda 929 very well, and am in total agreement with your assessment. Mazda was ahead of its time, and I can only imagine what that car would be like with today's technology and amenities. Enjoy the ride!

6th Mar 2008, 07:33

I am in agreement with you both. I have a 1994 Mazda 929 - and despite some of the quality control issues it has (window regulators are fragile, sunroof track jams), it is an amazingly designed car. My family wants me to get something newer, but I have yet to find anything that is the complete package the way this car is. Please, Mazda, give us a Nine that's based on this car design with the technological updates and refinements.

3rd Feb 2009, 05:27

3-2-2009: I am the original owner of a 1992 vintage 929. As opposed to the USA marketed version, my Australian model has 4-wheel steering as well.

When I moved to Europe, I brought over my car as well (in-spite of its right-hand drive). The car is now starting its 17th year, and believe it or not, it looks and drives like new.

Parts changed: a stuck A/C relay, the only part ever gone bad, new set of brake pads, air & oil filters, rear shock absorbers, spark-plug cable-set & spark plugs, and new set of belts.

The one and only light bulb (brake light) burned out happened 3 months ago. Everything else is still original.

Whoever sees the car can't believe that it is an 18-year old design, etc... I would never change this car as long as one of us live... It never let me down on my long trips in Australia or Europe, and I wouldn't change it for a new BMW or Mercedes either, as I don't believe that their badges are worth the price or the quality that we all seem to associate with these expensive cars.

16th May 2009, 10:03

My 1992 929 still turns heads. I bought my car 1 month ago and could not believe what year it was! Props Mazda!

1992 Mazda 929 3.0 litre from Australia and New Zealand

Model year1992
Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 3.0 litre Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired180000 kilometres
Most recent distance203000 kilometres
Previous carHolden Berlina

Faults:

Not much really...

Electric antenna.

Heater doesn't blow hot, was not a hard fix.

Boot leaked (later found out just needed a new tailight seal) neglect from previous owner....fixed by silicone.

Just the usual timing belts etc.

General Comments:

Mazda is meant to be one of the top 3 most reliable car manufactures in the world, I happen to think they make some of the nicest cars.

My 929 resembles a 'Jaguar' and lots of people look and turn their heads at it. I think for an old car (92), to actually still turn heads like that is a great compliment and when you consider other cars around the same make and age (this car really was ahead of its time) so sleek.

Its awash with features, solar sunroof (powers the ventilation fan to keep the interior cool-when activated) or recharges the battery.

It has all wheel drive and makes fast cornering fantastic and tight car parks a breeze.

Just recently found out that the windscreen is designed to work without the use for wipers, the water is pushed back up over the roof (one drawback of this design is that the water will trickle onto your leg if the window is open).

Leather seats, good legroom front and rear (can be tight for taller people) sunroof, electric frameless windows (sporty) and electric seats.

Impact absorbing bumpers (I had a minor fender bender, the car copped it good and the damage was minimal) the bumpers pop back out again when hit up to 25km or so... I was way under, seeing that it was a fixed pole I pranged-he he.

Insurance costs are low, spare parts can be expensive.. but are easily attainable.

I could not wrap my Mazda 929 up enough, I would definately buy another and highly recommend one.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th August, 2005

Average review marks: 7.4 / 10, based on 9 reviews