1982 Mazda B2000 Reviews - Page 2 of 2

1982 Mazda B2000 2.0 from North America

Model year1982
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired43455 miles
Most recent distance48566 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Scirocco

Summary:

Amazing

Faults:

Fuel system needed complete overhaul at 44,000 miles.

Seat torn.

Brakes hard to find parts for.

New brakes all the way around at 46,000 miles.

General Comments:

Love this truck!!!

Cheap.

Probably the most reliable vehicle I'll ever own.

Still peppy after all these years.

Handles all the abuse I can throw at her and asks for more!

Body only has a little rust.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd June, 2005

29th Jun 2005, 23:40

I am 15 and I live on the prairies. I own 3 mazda b2000s and it sounds like these trucks and your truck are from the same blood. because they never give up and after roling each of them about 3 times they still run like a bugger.

Happy trails in the b2000 bro!!!

This truck will take you any were anytime (unless its winter)

8th Nov 2005, 11:12

Just a question, not a comment, how good are they really? because I have just purchased an 87 B2000 and I am not so sure if it will be that good, I put all my savings into it.

1982 Mazda B2000 2.0 c.c. from North America

Year of manufacture1982
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.0 c.c. Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired76000 miles
Most recent distance200225 miles
Previous carMazda B2300

Summary:

24 mpg. with 2000lb. Trailer

Faults:

Nothing except for a quick lube place putting ATF in my manual transmission, causing me to replace bearing.

General Comments:

All new truck makers need to examine the 1982 B2000 engine and make trucks trouble free, and easy to work on.

This truck was made for the long haul, with double roller timing chain.I'm still using same alternator, water pump, gaskets, and the camshaft shows no sign of wear.

Same electric fuel pump, just gas, tires, oil, and filters.

It's a shame the new ford made Mazda's with rubber timing belts.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th August, 2004

1982 Mazda B2000 New Mexico 2.0L from North America

Year of manufacture1982
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.0L Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired230000 miles
Most recent distance293000 miles

Summary:

Wonderful truck and it was still free

Faults:

Replace u-joints at 270,000.

Has a seat cover.

Replaced clutch at 293,000.

Just started needing valve seals.

Paint is faded but, still looks really good.

Came with no A/C.

Brights come on whenever you turn on the headlights or the blinkers.

General Comments:

Most of the horsepower is still there. Zero to sixty is no problem. Great vehicle.

Still likes to run with the big trucks.

Beats my brother in laws 1992 4wd Toyota. Starts everytime and doesn't die. I've even had the whole truck in the air repeated times on a desert road with no problem. The valve covers haven't had to be taken off yet. The original owner never had any problems with it either. It still gets 18-20 miles a gallon. I know on the stock drive train that it has at least 75,000 miles left. Over time I am going to totally rebuild it. I will still keep everything I take off because, it still works, so why junk it. I will never get rid of this truck. Look out.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 16th July, 2003

16th Aug 2006, 12:16

True True!!! My dad had an 82 B1600, the Southern African version, but it is still solid, 24 years later, too amazing for such an old vehicle. Its great!

1982 Mazda B2000 Sundowner 2.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1982
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired121000 miles
Most recent distance150520 miles
Previous carChevrolet G-20 conversion van

Summary:

A great reliable truck, although very uncomfortable

Faults:

Head gasket 11/01.

Transmission stuck in 4th gear 11/02.

Clutch at same time.

Rear axle seal 1/03.

Muffler 1/03.

Seats worn badly.

Clutch slave cylinder leaks.

General Comments:

Very reliable truck - started life in Wyoming, then to Utah, then to me in Pennsylvania (near Philadelphia).

I have since taken the truck to Nebraska and back by way of Hell (the town of Hell, Michigan, that is).

Very harsh ride.

Very uncomfortable seating (imagine driving it from Philly to Omaha and back, or the former owner taking it from Salt Lake City to Philly)

Transmission very stiff when cold.

Takes forever to warm up.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 15th February, 2003

4th Jun 2003, 03:47

I have recently purchased a '82 B2000, and absolutely love it. It is great on gas (although I don't know exactly how many mpg it gets). It has given my absolutely no problems, which is amazing considering it's over 20 years old! I would have to agree with you considering the comfort, but in my opinion reliability and economy are far more important. Also for some reason my seats are torn pretty badly as well.

Average review marks: 7.0 / 10, based on 6 reviews