1987 Mazda B2000 Reviews - Page 4 of 4

1987 Mazda B2000 2.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired120000 miles
Most recent distance149300 miles
Previous carJeep Grand Cherokee

Summary:

I honestly love this truck and having only owned it for a little over a year, I will keep this one!

Faults:

Rip in seat, but otherwise great shape.

Replaced alternator and battery in 2002.

Emergency brake light comes on when truck is cold, But goes off when warmed up. Just started doing this.

General Comments:

Truck runs great. I have had it a little over a year, But love this truck, and I am looking for another one, just because I like it so much. My roommate has had three Mazda's and is also looking to get another one.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd December, 2002

1987 Mazda B2000 2.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired140000 miles
Most recent distance191000 miles
Previous carNissan Bluebird

Summary:

A good utility vehicle

Faults:

Engine had to be replaced at 140,000 miles. Could have been due to neglect by previous owner.

Started has been replaced two times.

Continuous problems with brake drums.

Carburetor needs to be replaced at 191,000 miles.

General Comments:

Overall the B2000 has been a reliable run around vehicle and proves to be worth the minor repairs needed.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th October, 2002

29th Apr 2003, 11:58

Yes my husband and I were donated a 1987 B2000 but the carburetor is bad. How much did you pay for yours? Did it run you $700?

1987 Mazda B2000 LX 2.1 from North America

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.1 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.3 / 10
Distance when acquired170000 miles
Most recent distance190000 miles

Summary:

Very good truck. Got me hooked on Mazda for life

Faults:

Engine blew 190,000 miles.

Leaking rear main seal 180,000.

General Comments:

I am the only thing that has gone wrong with this car. I got it in mint condition and me, being a teen, had to mess it up. I rolled the thing and I only came out with a scratch. We pulled it out with a tractor and it started and ran with no mechanical damage to the truck. You couldn't ask for a better car. the clutch withstood three people learning to drive it and it still is tight. The engine blew, but it only cost me (not my parents) $300 to get it running again. I would put $15 in gas in the thing and it would take me 60 miles a day to school and back and still have some left for the weekend.

It has great acceleration due to my modifications and handles extreamly well for a light rear end truck.

Have raced and beat Civics, Taurus, other trucks and a Thunderbird, came close to beating 5.0 Mustang, but I stopped for the stop light.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th August, 2002

22nd Sep 2002, 21:53

Hi, I'm wondering what kind of engine mods you have done? I want to start doing some to my truck. Thanks.

1987 Mazda B2000 Cab Plus Gasoline from North America

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission Gasoline Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired170000 miles
Most recent distance178000 miles

Summary:

Incredibly reliable if well maintained

Faults:

The gas tank is replaced on 171,000 miles.

The body sheet metal is so thin.

Suspension is so weak to handle weights.

Aerodynamics is badly designed.

General Comments:

The engine is pretty strong for a 2.0 liter.

I need to replace the timing belt and water pump soon.

It is so rare to see a truck on 178,000 miles and has so few problems comparing to the other brands.

I would buy another Mazda truck without hesitation, since I see this truck running over 178,000 miles with 22 miles per gallon.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th July, 2002

20th Sep 2004, 08:59

How did you get your truck to get 22 mpg? I only get 15 please give me some suggestions to get it up to 22Mpg My E-mail is vector123456@yahoo.com.

Thaks

Kyle.

27th May 2008, 16:05

I'll agree that the 87 Mazda b2000 is one tough truck. I lucked up on a deal that I could not refuse and got it real cheap. I have replaced the slave cylinder, new brakes all around. Still need shocks, and the a/c compressor is gone. What I really like about this little truck is the gas mileage. I get 32-34 mpg. All of this on a truck with 235,000 miles, and doesn't use any oil. Definitely a Keeper.

1987 Mazda B2000 SE-5 Cab Plus 2.0 Liter from North America

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.0 Liter Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired106000 miles
Most recent distance115000 miles

Summary:

Great pickup truck

Faults:

The first thing I repaired after I bought the truck were the brakes. Since then I have also replaced the shocks. Out of necessity I have replaced the starter, altenator, all belts, and the radiator hose. For personal preference I put in an after market stereo. For exterior the hood and top of cab have faded, but that is it.

General Comments:

Just a great truck. Always gets 25+ miles per galloon, and very cheap to maintain. I plan on keeping this truck to the wheels fall off literally.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th June, 2002

1987 Mazda B2000 Cab Plus 2.0 L from North America

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.0 L Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired196000 miles
Most recent distance211000 miles

Summary:

Great all around vehicle

Faults:

I have replaced the exhaust system (from the converter back) and although the muffler and tailpipe were expensive ($140.00), installation took only 45 minutes.

Replaced the alternator at 200,000. It was still functioning, but only producing 13.2 V instead of 15 V.

Only other complaint is the constant valve chatter. I have adjusted them to factory spec, and there is still lifter noise.

General Comments:

The truck is somewhat underpowered - and needs all five gears to get up to freeway speeds. It is economical to operate though - getting over 20 miles per gallon of regular gas.

Interior is quite comfortable, with sufficient leg and head room, although the rear jump seats are a great place for luggage - but not for passengers.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th January, 2002

1987 Mazda B2000 2.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.7 / 10
Distance when acquired115000 miles
Most recent distance158000 miles
Previous carFord Truck

Summary:

A very well built truck

Faults:

Valve cover failed at 120,000 miles.

Heater switch broke at 135,000, stuck on vent.

Oil consumption noticed at 140,000 miles, 1 quart per 3000 miles.

Smokes during some warm-ups at 150,000.

Front wheel bearings at 150,000.

General Comments:

This is the most reliable car that I have ever owned next to a 1980 Ford Fairmont (a model of reliability).

Besides the oil consumption, I have ignored almost all of the minor problems this truck has had.

If you treat a B2000 OK it will treat you better.

This truck still runs strong and always starts. It is a shame Mazda does not make it anymore. It is also a shame Ford bought Mazda, because I have had way less trouble with my B2000 than my friends have had with their Fords.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th May, 2001

Average review marks: 8.1 / 10, based on 16 reviews