1995 Mazda B2300 Reviews

1995 Mazda B2300 Extended Cab 2.3L gas from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 2.3L gas Manual
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired280000 kilometres
Most recent distance288000 kilometres

Summary:

A good truck with personality

Faults:

Door ajar warning always when you open the driver's door, and it can stay on for hours even when the door is definitely closed.

General Comments:

This is a very fuel efficient and fun to drive little truck. However, I really wish that it wasn't so gutless from 3 gear and up. When you mash the throttle to the floor in 5th gear, the speedo barely moves at all.

When I put a Flowmaster and K&N cold air intake in it, it definitely helped, but it doesn't do much on the top end when you are getting up to highway speeds.

That said, it is a great daily driver, it handles well on all surfaces and nothing has gone wrong. Its great to travel in besides for the lack of cruise control, and it is really solid with no squeaks and rattles.

The only thing that drives me nuts is how the door beeper can stay on for so long and not go off. I hope to have it taken out though. Also the windshield wipers in my truck seem to have a mind of their own.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th May, 2009

20th Jul 2009, 18:25

Those gutless 4th and 5th gears are what give you good fuel economy.

1995 Mazda B2300 2.4 from North America

Model year1995
Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 2.4 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.5 / 10
Distance when acquired125000 miles
Most recent distance168000 miles
Previous carJeep Cherokee

Summary:

Great little truck

Faults:

Replaced timing belt at 168000.

General Comments:

I have owned this truck for over 8 years.

Regular maintenance is all I have done.

Great on gas, have always had an occasional grinding from 3rd to 4th gear, but doesn't affect performance.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 6th January, 2009

9th Jun 2010, 00:10

My 2300 has almost 250,000 miles on it. I bought the truck in 2004 with 92,000 miles. Obviously have driven it quite a lot: 250,000 / 6 = 41,6000.

Replaced starter, alternator, battery, timing belt & power steering unit leaks, along with a clutch that is a little shaky.

Has original wires & plugs that I am going to replace real soon.

A/C leaked all freon in the winter time.

Oh & I gave it to my teenage son a year ago & just got it back after he got another vehicle, so I drive it to work, etc. still.

I do need to replace headliner & left front fender (know where I can get a deal). I would be willing to go into greater detail of the punishment I have put this truck through if Mazda would sponsor a few body & tuneup repairs for my testimonial; LOL.

Seriously, it IS one heck of a truck. How can I complain. I only gave $1800 for it.

1995 Mazda B2300 SE 2.3 4 cylider from North America

Model year1995
Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 2.3 4 cylider Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired20149 miles
Most recent distance248643 miles
Previous carPontiac Grand Prix

Summary:

It is a great little truck. I would buy another

Faults:

Ignition switch replaced in 1998 at 52267 miles.

Timing belt broke at 187767 miles.

Interior light stays on starting at 2007, had to disconnect.

Door ajar warning light stays on when door is definitely shut; 2007.

Leak on roof liner in the back, no rust, but passenger side rear window broken.

Alternator replaced 2008, 243,642 miles.

Ball joints needed replaced at 243,526 miles.

General Comments:

This pick-up is short on power.

Mileage has averaged 21mpg.

Maintenance and upkeep reasonably expensive.

Handles well on the curves.

Interior comfortable for me. I am 5'6".

Impressed that I have still not have had to replace the clutch.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st May, 2008

1995 Mazda B2300 SE 2.3 4 cylinder from North America

Model year1995
Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 2.3 4 cylinder Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired250000 miles
Most recent distance304500 miles
Previous carChevrolet Camaro

Summary:

Tough Truck

Faults:

Replaced the clutch.

Rebuilt Transmission at 290,000 miles.

Power steering leaks.

Recently replaced fuel pump and filter and fixed some broken fuel lines.

General Comments:

Very dependable, but weak 4 cylinder engine.

I flipped this truck over and it was still running on its side. Then when we rolled it back over, I drove it home.

Very reliable seeing how this truck was never regularly maintained.

I bought this truck for $500 and the transmission cost me $1200. But now it drives like its brand new and gets OK gas mileage. So I figure that I just bought a reliable truck for $1700.

I am going to keep this truck until it dies or is totaled.

It is still my daily driver and my commute is 65 miles a day.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th October, 2007

1995 Mazda B2300 SE 2.3 from North America

Model year1995
Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.3 Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.6 / 10
Distance when acquired84000 miles
Most recent distance84900 miles
Previous carChevrolet g20

Summary:

Good and fast for a 4 banger, but 4 and 5th gear is a real bummer

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

4th and 5th are the only things I have to complain about. they bog down and have no power. I wish there was somthing they will do in the next years to improve thouse gear performance really bad other than that good truck.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th October, 2005

Average review marks: 6.7 / 10, based on 5 reviews