1988 Mazda B2600 Reviews

1988 Mazda B2600 4X4 2.6 Mitsubishi carbed from North America

Model year1988
Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.6 Mitsubishi carbed Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired193000 kilometres
Most recent distance239325 kilometres
Previous carChevrolet Sierra

Summary:

Very tough

Faults:

Truck was quite rusty when purchased.

I do all my own maintenance work. All the usual stuff has been replaced such as brakes, exhaust, tune ups etc.

I rebuilt the steering box at 195000km. The parts had to come from the dealer and were quite expensive, however it fixed the problem and has not leaked since.

Removed the box and fixed several rust holes, same for the extended cab.

Gas tank sender unit started to leak at the top of the tank, but was able to repair the rusty line with 'Cold Weld' bought at Canadian Tire.

Cylinder head/jet valves went at 239,000 km. Replaced head with one off a 1985 Dodge 600! This head is also made by Mitsubishi. Runs fine now.

Awesome 4X4 system with low gearing. I use mine for hauling logs out of the woods on a trailer.

General Comments:

Excellent for off road vehicle. The top end of the motor can be troublesome, but aftermarket heads are available. Transmission shifts easy and reliable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th March, 2005

1988 Mazda B2600 4x4 2.6 from North America

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.6 Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.6 / 10
Distance when acquired193000 kilometres
Most recent distance239550 kilometres
Previous carPontiac Sunbird

Summary:

A good off road vehicle

Faults:

Valve troubles especially the jet valves.

The vehicle tends to rust badly, especially underneath.

The tail lights failed due to corroded wiring.

The fuel pump quit (the dealer could not tell me if the pump was in the tank or on the block!- it was in the tank).

General Comments:

The engine is the weak point as it is generally unreliable and under powered.

The four wheel drive system is awesome and will take you almost anywhere. It pulls and tows good for a small truck.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th September, 2003

12th Mar 2005, 10:28

I own one also and agree with comments.Found that the head off a Dodge 600 2.6L is the same!! Mine runs fine now that the Jet valves are gone.

1988 Mazda B2600 2.6L from North America

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.6L Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired136000 miles
Most recent distance140000 miles
Previous carGMC Sierra

Summary:

A great play toy

Faults:

I had to rebuild the engine.

I had to replace clutch.

I had to replace alternator.

I had to rebuild the rear end with new bearings and seals.

I replaced all belts, hoses, water pump, spark plugs, wires, cap.

I had to replace the carburetor.

General Comments:

I found this truck really cheap for$800. It was running, but had been sitting up for a while.

I was just looking for something to play around with for off roading.

The truck was in great shape body wise, but the engine skipped when I bought it.

I thought that it just needed a tune up, but actually one of the pistons was burnt and had low compression. So I decided to go through the truck and fix everything.

Once I fixed the engine I drove it around for a while and it began to give me carburetor problems.

So I removed the Mikuni Solex electronic carburetor and replaced it with a Webber conversion kit That does away with the computer. It was about $350 and It came with everything necessary for the conversion. The truck has run great ever since and has a lot of power.

I put a two inch lift on it and 33x12.50-15 tires and rims on it. The truck is really great off road. I have even used the truck to drag big cedar trees out of the woods. It never lets me down. I have about $2,500 invested in the truck.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th May, 2003

11th Oct 2005, 10:27

I have a 1988 Mazda B2600 and just removed the ridiculous Mikuni and replaced it with a Weber conversion. Also removed about 50 pounds of EGR, CCV stuff from under the hood. It now runs and pulls like a new truck. I would strongly recommend the Weber conversion! Dennis.

1988 Mazda B2600 4x4 2.6L from North America

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership1998
Engine and transmission 2.6L Manual
Performance marks 1 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
0.8 / 10
Distance when acquired88000 miles
Most recent distance110000 miles
Previous carPontiac Firebird

Summary:

Slow piece of junk

Faults:

I had to replace the carburettor.

I replaced the engine two times.

I had problems with the steering column.

I had a problem with oil getting into the radiator.

I had to replace the radiator.

Went through brakes like crazy.

General Comments:

A piece of junk, I will never buy a Mazda again.

This truck was slower than molasses in January.

This truck comes as stock with a Mitsubishi engine, I will never buy a Mitsubishi.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 18th August, 2001

19th Jan 2003, 17:21

I must say that this was perhaps one of the best vehicles I have ever owned. This truck was put to work every single day as it was also my toy which saw a lot of time in the mud, in the woods and crawling over rocks on a local jeep trail. The truck was not perfect as no car or truck is, but overall I would give it an A+ considering it's price and it's ability to go almost anywhere you wanted it to. I beat my truck to death, I tried my best to kill it here is a list of problems I had.

Replaced headlamp

Had wiring problem to fuel pump in the tank, pump was good, just resolder and go.

Replaced one clutch at 115k miles.

Replaced exhaust at 115k miles.

Repaired timing chain tensioner.

Any other wear items like tires and brakes not included as wear was normal as expected.

My only real complaint was the carb, it tended to act up from time to time in extreme cold or heat, but never left me stranded.

Average review marks: 5.2 / 10, based on 4 reviews