2000 Mazda B3000 Reviews - Page 2 of 2

2000 Mazda B3000 SE V6 from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission V6 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired100000 miles
Most recent distance112000 miles
Previous carFord Mustang

Faults:

EGR valve went bad at 101000.

General Comments:

This truck has done nothing but show me how strong a mid-sized truck can be. I used to think that the 4X4 midsized truck that had the 4X4 option in the bank and was the best was Toyota. I have went places with my truck that the "yodas" behind me just couldn't go.

My friends and I were playing, and I have never really tested the 4X4 option on my truck. A 6 cylinder Toyota got stuck really bad. People were jumping in their trucks to go pull him out. Since I have never really tested my truck, I told them that I wanted to give it a try. I actually went through the mess that he went through, passed his truck, turned around and hooked up to him. Pulled him out without no hesitation. The lil truck really impressed me and the others that were watching.

You will not go wrong with this truck. My next truck will be another B series truck.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd September, 2008

7th Dec 2008, 14:14

That's right, I agree with you very strongly. Very nice and very strong truck. I will own another in the future. I am planning on driving it till the wheels fall off.

2000 Mazda B3000 3.0 V6 from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 3.0 V6 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired180000 kilometres
Most recent distance185000 kilometres
Previous carToyota Tercel

Summary:

I love this little truck

Faults:

Passenger Side Lock is "sticky" and requires the key to be wiggled to unlock it.

Power Steering Rack at 180,000km

Anti-Sway Bar at 180,000km.

General Comments:

I love this little truck. It is small enough and fuel efficient enough for me to commute into the city everyday, but, large enough to carry my dirt-bike in the back on the weekends.

The manual trans is the nicest/easiest to operate trans I have driven.

Despite being a reg cab in a "toy" truck, the cab is very spacious and comfortable.

Unloaded it has a tendency for the rear to step out when it hits a decent sized bump. More than I would expect of a compact truck, but, less than a full sized.

The motor is content to cruise in the city at a slow pace, but, when need it will "get-up & go" quite nicely.

Very satisfied.

When the time comes my next vehicle will likely be an Ext Cab B3000 or B4000.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th November, 2006

2000 Mazda B3000 Troy Lee Edition 3.0 V6 from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 3.0 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired40000 miles
Most recent distance97000 miles
Previous carSaturn SC

Summary:

Good purchase for a light truck

Faults:

Failed emissions test at 80,000 miles.

Replaced brakes and rotors at 85,000 miles.

Passenger side extended cab door does not shut well (and the "door open" light comes on when this happens). The door must be slammed hard.

General Comments:

This is a good truck for light work.

The truck serves well with everyday commuting and use, but the gas mileage is not very good (about 250 miles per tank, if I have the tailgate down; only 200 if tailgate is up).

The truck handles fairly well, for a truck, but does do a little screeching around corners on slick surfaces and the ride is very bumpy.

The interior on this edition is nice, but the head rest portion is at an angle that causes discomfort to my neck.

The stereo is pretty dang good for OEM.

There is plenty of leg room and with the extra cab, even a long legged person can't complain.

Passengers are pretty cramped when sitting in the back, fold-down seats.

The special edition decals were fairly easy to remove, leaving a nice, solid black truck.

The rims on this truck look good.

The truck looks pretty good with no decals and a good polish. I receive complements.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th January, 2005

27th Jun 2005, 22:53

You must have some kind of engine problem if you are only getting 200-250 miles per tank. I usually get at least 340+ miles per fill-up which I consider to be average fuel economy. My truck failed emissions testing due to a leaking radiator. I found the problem myself. The mechanic wanted to replace the oxygen sensor and the catalytic converter, but I didn't trust him. I found the radiator leak and found out by surfing the Internet that an overheating engine can cause high NOx emissions.

31st Oct 2005, 19:23

My Troy Lee is great!!! I will have to try the tailgate down. My mileage has averaged 19 in Metro Atlanta. If you take the decals off it is a real nice truck, especialally in Black!!

John Suarez.

26th Jan 2007, 19:08

I own a 2000 B3000 SE 4Dr gets about 240 miles to a tank at 16.5 gallons that's about 15 mpg not so great. spedo stopped working once in a while it starts working, but only above 55 mph. this is the slowest truck I ever drove. I've driven 4cylinders with way more power. what a slug. oh I got 150,000 all highway miles on this toilet!

14th Jun 2007, 12:57

I have a 99 Troy Lee B3000, drive it everyday and I enjoy it. 300m per tank on average, about 240 on E-85. I have a K&N cold air intake and filter, dual platinum plugs (new wires) and a soft bed cover on the bed to help MPG. Only complaint is I have had to replace the PS pump twice. Sitting on 70K original miles. Remove the decals?!? Ya'll are nutz. Most people I talk to (car shows) like it and are surprised to learn it's factory. I've got enough power, do a little offroad driving from time to time and have never been disappointed. Not to mention hauling my buddies '70 Chevy p/u project around on the trailer. Pretty good truck if I do say so!

26th Sep 2010, 11:31

Sounds like you have an engine problem, or you're just incredibly lead-footed if you're only getting 250 miles per tank. Mine will go about 315-320 in the city and about 340-350 if it's all highway. Even on E-85 it will still go about 260-270. (Manual trans).

2000 Mazda B3000 SE 3.0 V6 from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.0 V6 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired30000 miles
Most recent distance42000 miles
Previous carFord F150

Summary:

I'm very pleased with my decision to buy this truck

Faults:

Power locks seem to quit functioning at 40000 miles.

Passenger power window started jamming at 35000.

Power mirrors never seemed to work right.

General Comments:

This truck is harder than most trucks to shift gears. They seem to not want to go in gear.

This pickup is very quick to have only a 3.0 in it. Plan on doing a lot of aftermarket work, already have a chip. The 0-60 is 7.9 seconds.

Pretty good about not getting stuck in mud even with the two wheel drive.

Spin off too fast and the speedometer stops working until you let off the gas for a few seconds.

Handles very well around curves, but is pretty rough on the bumps.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th November, 2004

21st Sep 2008, 16:34

I own a 2000 Mazda B3000. It now has 112000 miles and the only thing that went bad was the E.G.R. valve. It does not get the best gas mileage in the world but I figure it being a 4x4 and I usually have something being pulled behind me I get about 16-18 mpg. I guess that isn't too bad..isn't too good either. never had a problem with its pulling capability. I have put the truck in mud, sand, and streight nastiness and I have never gotten stuck. I used 2wd to start with but I flipped it to 4WD if I thought it was starting to hesitate. All in all the Mazda B3000 is a great truck and the next truck will be another B series truck.

Average review marks: 7.9 / 10, based on 6 reviews