1994 Mazda B4000 Reviews - Page 3 of 3

1994 Mazda B4000 LE 4.0L from North America

Model year1994
Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 4.0L Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.7 / 10
Distance when acquired100000 miles
Most recent distance216000 miles
Previous carFord F250

Summary:

Torque

Faults:

My radiator leaked at about 200,000 miles.

My head gasket blew at 200,000 miles.

My transmission went bad at 200,000 miles.

My head gasket blew at 215,000 miles.

General Comments:

This truck has to be constantly on the gas to have a steady pace.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 16th February, 2005

28th Oct 2005, 13:36

I've seen ur truck it's a beast. have you sold it yet.

9th Apr 2006, 20:01

Wow 200,000 miles! Amazing. Actually, I think you have done well. I don't think many other trucks would have gone as far before breaking down. Plus you don't know what it went thru before you got it. I have a 94 B4000 LE with 97,000 that I've had for 12 years, now I can look forward to another 100K! Did you have any problems with the paint?

26th Jul 2007, 12:11

I have 1994 Mazda B4000 with 209000 miles and it runs great needed to replace brakes and ball joints, that's it!

1994 Mazda B4000 4.0 from North America

Model year1994
Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 4.0 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.3 / 10
Distance when acquired48000 miles
Most recent distance239000 miles
Previous carChevrolet LUV

Summary:

The truck has been (and still is) very reliable

Faults:

I rebuilt the A4LD 4-speed transmission at about 180,000 miles. (I broke the 2nd gear band.)

The radiator developed a leak at about 210,000 miles.

The windshield developed a crack at about 120,000 miles.

The passenger side electric door lock stopped working.

General Comments:

The cabin is comfortable and has plenty of leg room.

There's more than enough power to get up hills and onto freeways.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th September, 2004

2nd May 2010, 21:11

I drive 1994 B4000 250 000 kms and still running like a charm. The problem I find is the gas mileage. Used to own a 1996 2.2 liter Sunfire. Mine is 4x4 5 speed manual. She still looks like she rolled off the showroom floor. Never winter driven. This is my second Mazda pick up; they build a tough little truck.

1994 Mazda B4000 EC 4 litre from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 4 litre Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired40000 miles
Most recent distance128000 miles
Previous carToyota Avalon

Summary:

Reliable in spite of the parts I have replaced, it has never left me stranded

Faults:

Radiator seam leaked, radiator was replaced. at 110000.

Front brake rotors replaced at 80000.

Relay had intermittent fault causing starting poblems at 105000.

EGR line between exhaust and EGR valve replaced at 85000.

AC Compressor seized and was replaced at 120000.

Radiator fan cracked and replaced art 120000.

General Comments:

REasonably comfortable for travelling.

Tows 5000# trailer comfortably.

Poor traction with solid axle in slippery conditions, have been stuck in mud twice.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd April, 2003

22nd May 2004, 22:03

I have a 94 B4000 SE and I wish I could buy another one. This pig has taken me through floods, blizzards, one sand storm and a nasty break up with an armed girlfriend.

I have had to replace the front brakes (around 79k miles) and voluntarily changed the timing belt at 71,500 miles.

No problems at all except for apiece of the under guard (sheet metal) falling off due to corrosion about once every 2 years.

OUTSTANDING truck and I will bury it with full honors when it finally goes.

15th Mar 2006, 22:06

I am seventeen and just bought a 1994 Mazda B-4000 and it has 189,000 miles and still going. It wasn't taken care of as good as it should have been so that must mean it's a tough truck. Thank You Mazda!!!

Average review marks: 7.9 / 10, based on 9 reviews