1999 Mazda Demio Reviews

1999 Mazda Demio 1.3 from UK and Ireland

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.3 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance101000 miles
Previous carFiat Panda

Summary:

Good value overall, but spares pricey

Faults:

Drivers door window motor broke, replaced under warranty 1999-2000

2005-2006 Intermittent cutting out & starting problem.New ECU fitted £800, new battery £45.Various sensors cleaned & lubricated. Problem ongoing when damp conditions prevail.

General Comments:

My wife's first NEW car, well equipped, very roomy, comfortable & economical.

Amazed at the overall reliability, shame about the current problem, which detracts from the pleasure of ownership. Hope to get it sorted soon.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th February, 2006

1999 Mazda Demio Celebration 1.3 petrol from UK and Ireland

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.3 petrol Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Previous carFord Escort

Summary:

A great car for its year and type

Faults:

Starter motor.

Exhaust heat shield.

General Comments:

The Mazda Demio is a very reliable car, it is really cheap to run and environmentally friendly.

It isn't overly powerful, but who needs a souped up engine when you've got lots of leg room, an electric sun roof, powerful fan, electric windows, power steering, and unbelievable comfort.

I would recommend the bright green as a colour choice, because it is rarely seen on the roads, and looks outstanding on a nice summers day.

Although a little box shaped, the Demio looks like new every day of the year.

The Demio is reliable, whether it's sunny or whether it's snowing.

The customer service is second to none at Mazda, making Mazda a great option for new or used cars!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th May, 2005

1999 Mazda Demio 1.3 petrol from UK and Ireland

Model year2000
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.3 petrol Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired67000 miles
Most recent distance102000 miles

Summary:

Great, exciting, sporty and just that bit different to everything else on the roads

Faults:

Exhaust panels rusted and began to rattle.

General Comments:

As a first car I could not have asked for more.

It has excellent handling for its price.

It has enough power to keep up with other cars, and to get my foot down to get me out of trouble.

Its top speed of 110mph may not be high, but it gets there quickly.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th March, 2005

12th Mar 2005, 10:32

Top speed of 110mph? Mazda only quote 98mph!! Agree the Demio is a good little car, we had one, an Aquarius blue T-reg. with the little nudge bar. For a first car, couldn't have wished for more. Nice that it is different to most other cars on the road too and is so reliable.

1999 Mazda Demio GLX 1.3 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.3 petrol Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired45000 miles
Most recent distance69000 miles
Previous carDaewoo Nexia

Summary:

Great family car for people on a budget

Faults:

Nothing serious has gone wrong with this car, just minor things such as one of the rear brake lights seemed to blow every so often.

Had cam-belt changed at 50,000 miles.

Sunroof has started sticking.

General Comments:

These cars are very under-rated, very quick for a 1.3.

However it is a little noisy when driving over 70mph and it can be a bumpy ride for passengers sat in the back seats.

Another good point about this car is that it is very roomy and you would be surprised at how much you can get in it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th January, 2005

1999 Mazda Demio GXL 1.3 petrol from UK and Ireland

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.3 petrol Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired22000 miles
Most recent distance43000 miles
Previous carFord Escort

Summary:

Cannot be beaten for a reliable fun mini MPV

Faults:

Absolutely nothing!

General Comments:

This is a tidy, roomy and above all fun-to-drive car. At first try-out the seats felt a little light for my 89kgs, but this proved to be no problem. Even a 500 km drive proved perfectly comfortable. The driving position and super visibility make this a really enjoyable drive. High seats are easy on the back for entry and exit.

The 1.3 engine is lively and responsive; a bit underpowered if loaded up with 4 or 5 people.

Road noise a bit intrusive on some surfaces.

Economy around 40mpg in mixed city/country driving.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th October, 2004

1999 Mazda Demio 1.3i from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.3i Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired11350 miles
Most recent distance13300 miles

Summary:

A nippy, smart, practical and very comfortable mini MPV. Obviously a very reliable one too!

Faults:

We have only had the car for one month so unsurprisingly it has been trouble free.

Hopefully the Mazda reliability (Mazda has just won the WhatCar reliability test 2001) will make the Demio a trouble free car.

General Comments:

The ride quality of the car is rather firm, most bumps are felt, however on the motorway it is extremely refined and the engine is almost silent.

Inside the interior is taupe, which isn't bad for a Japanese car. The dashboard and fascia are solid and totally sturdy, whereas a Mercedes A160 that we hired had a loose and non-sturdy dash. There is little storage space inside though.

Excellent equipment, 4x electric windows and a huge electric sunroof are standard as are

14-inch alloys and central locking.

Good looking and very rare, our model has the nudge bar and the angular black bumpers which make it look like a mini 4x4.

The handling is good given the tall shape, the low profile tyres grip the road more than acceptably. Steering is light, but sometimes a little too light and vague for the keen driver, however obviously the Demio is not a sports car, so it does its job well.

Mazda accessories vary. Locking wheel nuts we bought because of the concern over the alloys being stolen. One dealer quoted £19, the other £28, we got them for £25 from a shop next door!

Overall I really like the Demio, it is neat, rare, nippy and generally a lot better than people such as WhatCar? say. Then again, the Demio is not a German BMW, so it is bound to be rated low.

Highly recommended, give it a try, you will not be disappointed. the 1998/S- 2000/W model with a nudge bar looks more sporty and eye-catching.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th June, 2001

15th Jun 2005, 06:55

I brought my Mazda Demio nearly 4 years ago when it was 12 month old. It’s not a sports car, but it’s comfortable, spacious, economic and reliable. It goes for service twice a year and that’s it, the only thing I had to replace is the tyres. It runs from oil change to oil change without even the need of topping up and does nearly 400 miles on one tank of petrol. MOT is no problem; so far it has passed without problems. I really enjoy driving this car and hope I will drive it for a long time.

24th Feb 2006, 06:27

I have had my Mazda Demio for two years. It was previously owned by an older couple who looked after it well. I find when driving the Demio it runs smooth without any problems and sounds a dream. I'm quite happy with my car and how it runs.

4th Aug 2008, 07:35

I have had 2 Mazda Demio's; the first was an "Escape", lovely car but I changed it when I spotted another Mazda Demio auto only done 4,000 miles when I bought it 03 model, I bought it 2 years ago!!! Been all round the Highlands of Scotland, Devon, work everyday, up to 15,000 now - trouble free motoring. Excellent cars, I LOVE them. Not common; so rare I wave when I see one now...!!!

Average review marks: 8.2 / 10, based on 7 reviews