1992 Mazda Eunos Reviews - Page 2 of 3

1992 Mazda Eunos 500 2.0 V6 from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.0 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.5 / 10
Distance when acquired130000 kilometres
Most recent distance154000 kilometres
Previous carFord Sierra

Summary:

A comfortable, nippy car, but still good for family

Faults:

CV Joint knackered when I bought it - reconditioned for about NZ$150 I think.

Rear brake caliper seized at 145,000 km - hand brake was locking on and normal braking was pulsing - failed WOF and cost about NZ$400 to replace.

Head gasket leaking oil at 150,000 - replaced by friend for about NZ$250.

Auto transmission went at 154,000 (yesterday) - cost NZ$2150 to replace.

Rocker cover gasket leaking a bit now - need to replace (though they are about NZ$65 each!!). Hopefully will pass WOF today!

General Comments:

Nicest car I have owned, despite the expenses so far.

Pretty quick too, though I would like the manual gearbox for the added control sometimes.

Wouldn't dream of owning in UK due to insurance prices, but since moving to NZ, insurance is about $300 fully comp.

Very comfortable, drives well. Take away the problems and I'll be happy!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th June, 2003

6th Apr 2005, 20:19

I am doing an NCEA assignment. I need to know how much petrol did the Mazda Eunos 500 1992 car use per kilometre?

A urgent and quick reply would be much appreciated.

12th Sep 2005, 04:43

I would have to disagree with you sorry, these cars are horrible, I know 2 people who have had them and have had nothing, but trouble, they are very nice luxury cars, but they have a lot of trouble with them, I do not recommend to anyone!

25th May 2006, 01:05

How much (at most) would a head gasket cost to replace?

Thanks a lot.

17th Aug 2007, 06:40

Hi.

Had a '94 Eunos 500 manual in Melbourne, Australia.

Must say, it was the most reliable car I've owned (for 3 years) - very comfortable, stylish and relatively frugal; approximately 25 - 30 mpg in varied driving conditions.

The paint also peeled on my bonnet, although unsure whether from careless previous owners leaving it out in the hot Aussie sun - resprayed and no subsequent problems.

Only sold when moved to Perth and bought a Mercedes 420SE, which although relatively uneconomical, has been reliable and good for the long, straight roads here.

1992 Mazda Eunos 500 2 Litre 6 Cylinder from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2 Litre 6 Cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired78200 kilometres
Most recent distance145000 kilometres
Previous carNissan Silvia

Summary:

Nice to drive on long trips

Faults:

My automatic transmission blew at 105000km. Cost NZ$2600 to replace.

Replaced cam belt at 105000km - NZ$200.

New brake discs fitted at 85000km.

Worn seats.

General Comments:

I use my Mazda for my work and do approx 3000 -5000 km every month.

It has been very reliable, except for the blown auto transmission.

The stereo system is a Sony CD unit. A must for those long trips.

The car handles most road conditions with ease and feels safe and secure in all weathers.

It is very comfortable and functional for my work purposes and I would not hesitate to buy another Mazda Eunos in future.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st March, 2003

1992 Mazda Eunos V-Spec 1.6 16v from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.6 16v Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.5 / 10
Distance when acquired43000 miles
Most recent distance43500 miles
Previous carCitroen Saxo

Summary:

Lots of fun, great value and brilliant hood design

Faults:

Nothing so far. I have only had this car for 2 weeks.

General Comments:

I bought my Eunos import as it is better value for money compared to the British MX5's. I read many of the reviews on this website and decided it sounded reliable as well as fun!

How true these reviews were. This car is such a fun machine, with its low ride height and snug seats. The tan leather seats and wooden steering wheel and dash bring back memories of older classic cars, but the mechanicals are modern and robust.

The gear change (for those who appreciate such things) is just fantastic, and the steering is light and smooth. Quite a revelation after all my previous front wheel drive hatchbacks! A Very well balanced car.

The hood design is simplicity in itself, and one person can have the top down in half a minute. A brilliant design.

Even with the hood up this car is a little noisier on motorways, but it's not as bad as you may imagine. You honestly adjust to it after about 10 minutes. In any case, this car was designed to be driven with the top down and it shows when you drive it.

I have not had this car long enough to comment on reliability or dealer service.

The Eunos/MX5 is the sort of car that people admire without it being 'flashy'. Perfect for those of us who appreciate a good car, but don't want to be labelled as posey.

If like me you buy one as a result of a review like this, enjoy. Fully recommended.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th March, 2003

15th Apr 2005, 05:18

I have to endorse these comment fully. I've just taken possession of a quality example of a 91 V spec and it is a delight. The tan leather, wood and chrome in the interior takes me back to another era and boy does that thing shift! I would challenge anyone to find another car that provides so much fun, style, performance, economy and reliability at the price. Bring on those sunny summer Sundays!

Average review marks: 6.8 / 10, based on 7 reviews