2001 Mazda Millenia Reviews

2001 Mazda Millenia 2.5 from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2011
Engine and transmission 2.5 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired107000 miles
Most recent distance170000 miles
Previous carFord Escort

Summary:

Expensive to own, but fun to have if you can pour the $ into it

Faults:

Not long after buying it, the check engine light came on, and Auto Zone could not tell me what the code meant.

Mazda emblem fell off the back end of the car.

Brakes replaced in the front, and currently needs the back brakes done.

Alternator belt (pretty much the major belt for everything) has been replaced twice, and still squeals when starting the car up and at different times (different conditions).

Replaced the thermostat in the engine not long after buying the car used.

Replaced water pump, timing belt, axle - pretty much everything on right side of engine it felt like about 5 months ago - had a LOT of trouble getting the right seal from the Mazda dealership for the axle, and still worried it's not the right one, 'cause now we have a transmission leak that is like a faucet that has been turned on!

General Comments:

Very comfortable, and loved all the bells and whistles on it, but been a very big headache. When it doesn't have problems, it's a great looking car, and love to drive it, but the problems have all been costly repairs lately, and am currently concerned the transmission will have to be totally replaced.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 3rd January, 2011

2001 Mazda Millenia from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired75000 kilometres
Most recent distance137000 kilometres
Previous carSaturn SC

Summary:

The car is attractive, reliable and timeless

Faults:

I currently have approximately 137,000 km's on the vehicle, and my engine light has come on for the first time. From my past experience with owning Japanese vehicles, it has been an oxygen sensor. The car does not lag or knock; has anyone else had the same issue?

General Comments:

The car has never had a single problem with it, and I've never had to take it to the dealership for anything. I've used nothing but 91 grade fuel or higher since I've owned it, and the previous owners did the same.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th October, 2010

2001 Mazda Millenia from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2009
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission Don't Know
Previous carMazda Millenia

Faults:

I just bought a 2001 Millenia S with... believe it or not... 52,000 miles on it... looks brand new and drives brand new. This is my 3rd Millenia.

For those of you who are experiencing the "shaking of the engine"... while going up hill or whatever... it's probably due to motor mounts... had to have these replaced on both mine. It will feel like the transmission is slipping. Some shops will try and charge you top dollar for this, but search around. If they will take the time to look at after market mounts, they will save you tons. If they go directly to Mazda, it won't be pretty.

I agree with most of the reviews and problems stated here, but my experience has been the motor mounts and the main seal gaskets. Watch for those... they will go.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 1st March, 2010

2001 Mazda Millenia non S 2.5 Liter V6 from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 2.5 Liter V6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired20000 miles
Most recent distance119000 miles
Previous carBMW 7 Series

Summary:

I like it, and it's served me very well

Faults:

The driver side safety belt does not retract back into its normal position.

General Comments:

This car behaves pretty well at the age that it is.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th June, 2009

2001 Mazda Millenia 2.5 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 2.5 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.0 / 10
Distance when acquired46000 miles
Most recent distance88988 miles

Summary:

Good looking car, but cost too much to fix

Faults:

Bought the car in 2004 with 46,000 miles on it for $18,000. In 2006 replaced the transmission. Cost me about $1,500. Then in 2007 replaced the transmission again for about the same price.

Now car is drive-able, but leaks oil, has a knock in the motor once at 2500 rpm. Had to replace the mechanism that lets you shift in gear. The power tilt don't work. Passenger side upper control arm bushing is bad.

General Comments:

Besides all the defects on the car, it handles great when it was running perfect. Got the car lowered on Eibach Pro-Kit springs, 18 inch rims, custom painted valve cover, custom oil cap, custom ground wires, and a custom intake. One of the best looking Millenia around Wisconsin.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 3rd June, 2009

2001 Mazda Millenia S MIller Cycle S from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission MIller Cycle S Automatic
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.0 / 10
Distance when acquired96000 miles
Most recent distance133000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Camaro

Summary:

Great luxurious look, but terrible drive

Faults:

I purchased this 2001 Mazda Millena S in 2006 with 96,000 miles for $7800.

For the first few weeks it was great but after that the check engine light came back on. The dealer said to make sure the gas tank was closed properly LOL. So far this is all the problems that have occured/are occurring.

Smell of gas on rear of drivers side. TCS off blinks and causes car to lose acceleration at 40-45mph. Have to pull over, turn car off, then back on to reset.

AC unit smells at times like old coolant, had to replace passenger side ball joint, hold light on.

Had to replace transmission, as it wouldn't go past 1st and 2nd. $3500 for a rebuilt engine.

All 4 tires leak air; have to put air at least every 2 weeks.

Air bag light blinks from time to time.

Check engine light has been blinking for the last year; sometimes it's solid, but most of the times its blinking.

When I first purchased it, it drove great, acceleration was great. I guess I learned my lesson. I still have it but want a new car. grrr.

General Comments:

This car has a great luxurious look, but doesn't drive well and has lots of problems.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 9th May, 2008

24th Sep 2008, 23:52

I have the same problem I think about the TCS off light. My car refuses to accelerate when I sorta punch it from a dead start, or when I try to speed up at random times. I have to turn it off and on, but to me it seems to only do this when it's warmed up, cause for the first few minutes it runs like hell!! Then the problem occurs.

27th Oct 2012, 10:39

That is because because of the throttle body sensor.

Average review marks: 7.0 / 10, based on 12 reviews