1996 Mazda MX3 1.6 supercharged from North America


A Porsche ripoff... heh


Well my head gasket blew at 93,000 km. $2000 for repairs.

General Comments:

This car is a very fast car on the base 110hp 1.6 engine. The specs indicates that the 0-60 mph is in 9.8 seconds.. well that is not true. My car did it in 8.2 (5 speed), I timed it myself and this was before I supercharged it.

I looked for upgrades for a long time and there?s not much out there in the 1.6 MX3 market that could dish out serious horse-power, but I finally found a supercharger that fit on the 4 cylinder engine and because the RS is so light, the 0-60 was a dynamite 5.1 seconds at approx. 210-215 hp.

The first week with the supercharger I was afraid of opening the engine, but one night I came to a red traffic light and there he was in a "sooped" Honda Prelude, both our engines reved. When that light turned green I put the pedal to the metal and the engine went to 6500 rpm and slowly advanced, heh I burnt out my clutch.

I replaced it with a racing one, had to get new and bigger performance tires. Now the car is fast and because of the new tires, it never cornered like it does now, I mean the car had super handling, but if you get 215/50/R16 (must get new rims) the car sticks like it's on a rail.

Now my car is close to 170,000 km and it still runs great, but the one thing I hate about this low priced car is the little things that are coming loose or the knobs that are falling off etc...

You MX3 owners should really try the car on dirt roads, the car is so light that you glide your corners, it's a really good FF rally car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 12th August, 2001

20th May 2002, 08:56

Thanks for the info on your "suping" of your car.. I was thinking about getting a Mazda myself, and thanks to your review, I will get one.. Thank you.

16th Nov 2002, 19:12

I couldn't agree more. I will also get a Mazda.

9th Dec 2002, 15:47

What car was the supercharger originally intended for?

Where did you purchase the kit from?

What kind of modifications did the kit require to work on the mx3?

1996 Mazda MX3 GS 1.8 from North America


Absolutely beautiful, inexpensive sports car


Seal on the back hatch between the glass where it says "Precidia" and the paneling started falling off.

Leak in the left rear light seal.

General Comments:

The dealer had 3 on the lot, but two were the 1.6L with higher mileage and the other was the 1.8L. Bought the 1.8 even though it was more expensive and have absolutely no regrets. Really quiet car, corners beautifully, nice sporty car with a lot of power. Decent on fuel consumption and delivers speed when you need it. I really love this car.

Only things that might be a bit uncomfortable are the back seats, probably wouldn't want to go on long hauls with people back there.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th May, 2001

1996 Mazda MX3 1.6 petrol from UK and Ireland


Low cost maintenance beautiful sports coupe


In three years the only thing that has failed is the exhaust downpipe which started rasping and was replaced under warranty with no problems.

Occasionally sticky sunroof opening.

General Comments:

A superbly reliable and good looking car. This has caused me no problems at all.

Performance for a 1.6 is superb, partly I guess because of the weight of the car - some panels seem really thin. Performance drops heavily when more people are in the car, and forget full grown adults in the back except for very short trips across town.

Much cheaper to run than the 1.8 V6, especially with UK insurance figures.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th September, 2000

1996 Mazda MX3 AZ3 1.5 DOHC 16v from UK and Ireland


Overall a good buy if you're looking for an affordable sportster


There was an annoying problem with the brakes that the dealer couldn't identify. It felt like a warped disc but was not. After 4 months it was finally sorted by a brakes specialist.

The power steering crapped up and had to be overhauled.

As an import it came with a Jap stereo which was pretty bad, I replaced it.

General Comments:

Tax and insurance wise, a great option.

Nice looks that haven't dated since its initial release.

I enjoy driving the MX3 in traffic, it really corners well and has a great kick behind the acceleration. On longer journeys the 1.5 engine lacks the power to overtake with confidence on motorways at higher speeds.

The cabin is pretty dim and dismal and rear visibility is limited.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd August, 2000

1996 Mazda MX3 Precidia GS 2.8L V6 from North America


The greatest little sports car ever created



General Comments:

This is one of the greatest sports cars I have ever encountered. I can't believe the performance of this machine. For the price I got it at, I thought it would be junk. I was so wrong. I don't know why this car doesn't get more recognition. Wow. It's the fastest car I have ever driven. I wouldn't give mine up for anything. Offer me a million, I won't give you the car. I've always wanted one and now I have one. It's "Deep Sea Blue". Wicked car. If you want to supercharge it, the job is easy. It only took me a weekend and now I have 240HP.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 19th June, 2000

1st Jun 2001, 02:17

Did I read that right? A 2.8 litre V-6 in a little Mx-3?? I never heard of that? The only transplants I've heard of are the 2.5 from the 626?

17th Jul 2001, 11:44

Being from Canada it is hard to find any aftermarket parts for my 94 GS. Thanks for the 2.5 conversion idea.

1996 Mazda MX3 V6 1.8 V6 petrol from UK and Ireland


Alarm central locking solenoid seized, drivers windscreen wiper rubber failed to wipe properly, and Clarion Radio/Cassette developed faulty power switch. All items were replaced under warranty.

General Comments:

The car has been 100% reliable, and only required one service at 12,000 miles so far. It is a good package of sporty handling, and an interesting small 1.8 V6 engine which thrives on revs. Fuel consumption without trying to economise is a very reasonable 28mpg on average. Having air conditioning fitted is a must this time of year, as the very black interior heats up quickly.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th August, 1997