1992 Mazda MX5 Reviews - Page 2 of 2

1992 Mazda MX5 SE 1.6 gasoline from North America

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership1993
Engine and transmission 1.6 gasoline Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired3600 kilometres
Most recent distance105200 kilometres
Previous carVolkswagen Jetta

Summary:

Fun fun and more fun!

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong, just general maintenance ie spark plugs and wires at 50000kms, and timing belt water pump and belts at 95000.

General Comments:

This car has been a wonderful companion for the hast 11 years. I will keep it 'till I'm too old to drive.

Yes it had the 100 km shake, but with a few aftermarket braces and high quality performance tires it has all, but gone.

This car has been driven hard at auto crosses for years and still comes back for more. I had MG B's in my youth, wish this car was available then.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st July, 2004

1992 Mazda MX5 1.6 from North America

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired88000 miles
Most recent distance96000 miles
Previous carDodge Grand Caravan

Summary:

More fun than any human should be allowed to have!

Faults:

Replaced the Original Radiator during 90,000 servicing.

New top in 2002 (about 88,000 miles)

Broken mirror on passenger door never replaced.

General Comments:

In all honesty this is the most fun I have ever had in a car. I borrowed a friends Miata one summer and after that I was hooked. The car was just too much! After driving a pretty boring car for several years I figured that it was time to treat myself - and I am certainly glad I did. All in all the car is just plain fast. No two words about it. I had to constantly remind myself that I was driving mostly in heavy city traffic, but when I had the opportunity to let her go, I did! I would definitely recommend this car to anyone who wants to have some fun!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th February, 2004

21st Sep 2004, 08:53

Great Rag-top. Have a 1992 Miata with 156K miles on the clock, bought it 6 years ago with only 80K on it.

Have had tons of fun and love the handling.

To say maintennace costs are low is an exaggeration. They are NEXT TO NOTHING.

Regular oil changes and a once a year tune up, is what I have spent most years. I do NO work on the car myself and spend about US$200 a year on service with P&L.

If all cars were made this way, garages would be shutting down across the country. This is truly a Rolls Royce in drag.

1992 Mazda MX5 Miata Speical Edition 1.6 from North America

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership1993
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired17000 miles
Most recent distance127000 miles
Previous carToyota MR2

Summary:

A reliable British MG or Lotus

Faults:

Transmission synchros replaced at 18k miles (second gear crunch when shifting)

New zipper installed on rear plastic window at 18k miles.

Driver side leather seat cushion cover replaced due to broken threads.

Exhaust heat shield rattled-fixed with clamp.

Clutch slave cylinder replaced 90k miles.

Head gasket started leaking around 100k miles.

Drivers side power window regulator failed at 120k miles (cable frayed, motor works perfectly)

General Comments:

This car is everything Consumer Reports says it is. Incredibly reliable and inexpensive to own.

They are simple to work on and parts are not expensive to buy compared to some convertible models.

This car is a keeper and I doubt I will ever get rid of it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th January, 2004

1992 Mazda MX5 Sunburst Yellow SE 1.8 from North America

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.8 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.5 / 10
Distance when acquired42000 kilometres
Most recent distance85000 kilometres
Previous carHonda Prelude

Summary:

An absolute pleasure to own

Faults:

A battery in 1999 and 2003. Probably because we did not remove and store it properly for the winter.

Car washes can be expensive, it always has to look perfect!

We have an awesome backyard Mazda mechanic in Vancouver so oil changes and simple preventive steps are frequent.

General Comments:

The car was a surprise 40th birthday gift from my wife. She had always wanted one. The car is a blast to drive and we are both happy whenever we hop in. Most MX5's are well cared for and ours is no exception. At about $15000 5 years ago the car has held it's value and we will never part with it. Take a little extra time to find one in pristine condition, they do exist, and you will be rewarded with years of inexpensive motoring pleasure.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th September, 2003

1992 Mazda MX5 V-Spec 1.6 from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired105000 kilometres
Most recent distance127000 kilometres
Previous carSubaru Legacy

Summary:

Why buy a motorcycle?

Faults:

Original Panasonic glass mat battery failed and was replaced with a standard Exide. The holding rods had to be extended slightly, but this saved $300.

One front door speaker has blown due to rotten foam and the CD won't play at first due to internal condensation. switching the radio on for a few minutes first overcomes this.

Suffers from the baulky first to second change of early cars, but this is normal.

Stainless steel sill plates fret the paintwork at the edges due to body flex.

Easily touched-up, so not a big problem.

General Comments:

Fabulous 4 wheel motorcycle which is not fast, but torquey and handles like a go-kart. Tons of room (for 2) and it's amazing what you can get in the boot if you are careful about packing.

An interesting fact: If you are well over 6 feet tall like me, go for the V-spec cars. I can't fit in the standard models because of low headroom, but the thinner leather seats make all the difference!

Most service parts available at the local discount shop, so cheap to run.

Not economical, but who cares?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st August, 2003

1992 Mazda MX5 Eunos Roadster 1.6 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1992
Engine and transmission 1.6 petrol
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10

Faults:

Electric windows failed. CD player continually skips on anything but the smoothest of roads. Some soft-top leaks.

General Comments:

Great little car; starts on the button every morning.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd December, 1998

Average review marks: 8.4 / 10, based on 10 reviews