1988 Mazda MX6 Reviews

1988 Mazda MX6 GT 2.2 turbo from North America

Model year1988
Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission 2.2 turbo Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.8 / 10
Distance when acquired49495 miles
Most recent distance72832 miles
Previous carDatsun 200SX

Summary:

If it got 40 miles a gallon, it would be the best car ever. Worst problem is keeping tires on it

Faults:

The door handle rivet broke... easy fix.

At 72915 it started smoking... It was coolant; the intake gasket started leaking. I love the car so much I've decided to do a full rebuild, and am nearing the reinstalling of its fire breathing heart.

General Comments:

These 5 speed turbos jump, fly, and just plain scream. They are very spacey, handle great, and have very tight steering. If you like fast and reliable cars, you need one of these.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th February, 2011

1988 Mazda MX6 LX 2.2L non turbo from North America

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership2010
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission 2.2L non turbo Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.5 / 10
Distance when acquired507000 kilometres
Most recent distance507038 kilometres
Previous carHonda Civic

Summary:

This is a great car, and cheap to run

Faults:

Valve seals were gone.

Needs new struts.

Burns some oil.

Sunroof doesn't work.

Windows are really slow.

General Comments:

This car is absolutely amazing for the mileage on it. At 507000 K's, it still starts and runs well, and it only smokes when it's cold.

I would love to find a low mileage version of this car, but I might end up putting a new motor in it, as everything else seems to work well.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th March, 2010

1988 Mazda MX6 GT 2.2 turbo from North America

Model year1988
Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 2.2 turbo Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.5 / 10
Distance when acquired49495 miles
Most recent distance71269 miles
Previous carDatsun 200SX

Summary:

Next to the 81 200sx, fast and fun, too bad they're not RWD

Faults:

The thing was bought at a sheriff's auction. It was very beat up, looks mean.

You couldn't keep tires on it. We had to have gone through at least 12 sets.

I loved that car. It was bought for the motor, nothing more. The truck got wrecked and we started driving it. Almost ten years of torture and second gear broke, but the motor still purrs at 198k.

General Comments:

I own three 88 turbo 5 speeds. 2 are runners, the other is parts, bad trans.

I will swear by this car till I die. My wife has had bad luck with some cars, GM newer models, the old ones were great, now no quality, sorry.

Sure it has quirks, what car doesn't. It starts in -35 to -50, fires right up. It is faster than many others. It's just an all around great car.

If you can find one in fair shape, get it or be left in the dust.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th October, 2009

1988 Mazda MX6 GT 2.2L turbocharged I4 from North America

Model year1988
Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership1987
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 2.2L turbocharged I4 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance89000 miles
Previous carDodge Polara

Summary:

A very good cost effective car for performance

Faults:

Left sitting in the field for about 7 years, completely repainted and reconditioned.

General Comments:

Amazing car with a lot of get-up-and-go.

The turbocharger is an absolutely first rate option.

Seats a little uncomfortable, but for a sports car will work just fine.

Probably all the power you need in one sleek little package. Definitely a keeper for as long as you can!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd May, 2009

1988 Mazda MX6 GT 2.2L turbo from North America

Model year1988
Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 2.2L turbo Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired130000 kilometres
Most recent distance210000 kilometres
Previous carHonda Civic

Summary:

The best I could ask for

Faults:

Broken exhaust manifold stud, had to be re-bored and then mounted.

Power window switch died at about 140000km.

General Comments:

I've never had a problem that wasn't expected through general wear and age.

Very reliable, fast, good handling, good lines, and also practical.

Stills smokes most new cars, even without using the turbo. With turbo, the other cars lack big time.

Car was WAY ahead of its time. 4 wheel disc brakes, power everything, headlight washers, fog lights, adjustable susp., still looks modern and has options that a lot of new cars still don't have.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th August, 2006

1988 Mazda MX6 GT 2.2 turbo from North America

Model year1988
Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership1988
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.2 turbo Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance363528 miles
Previous carMazda GLC

Summary:

I wish that they still made these - I'd buy another!

Faults:

The Alternator has been replaced, the air conditioning has required normal service.

General Comments:

The best performance value ever made.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th December, 2005

1988 Mazda MX6 DX 2.2 from North America

Model year1988
Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership1987
Most recent year of ownership1987
Engine and transmission 2.2 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired10 miles
Most recent distance205120 miles
Previous carMazda Saab 900 1982

Summary:

Solid

Faults:

Not until the car had 190,000 did I need to do any major repairs. I put a new air conditioner, radiator, and clutch (195,444) after near 16 years of ownership... not bad.

General Comments:

I'm a retired Federal Agent and use the car now to do contact work... I only wish they made them like they did in 1987. I. m on my 18th year with this car and will continue to drive it. I keep the title in the glove box because when it does stop on me I will walk away and recall what a great ride it was for me. It was the most dependable car I have ever owned..

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 27th November, 2004

1988 Mazda MX6 GT 2.2 turbo from North America

Model year1988
Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.2 turbo Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired240000 kilometres
Most recent distance270000 kilometres
Previous carFord Mustang

Summary:

This car is great all around, fast, great handling, just pure fun

Faults:

It burns a bit of oil. about 1 liter every 2 weeks or so.

One of the exhaust manifold studs broke off in the head. As a result I am losing exhaust and therefore boost.

One time the turbo tubing came off of the intake while I was driving. All I had to do was pull over and put it back on, not a big deal.

General Comments:

I love this car, I am in high school and I drive it quite hard.

It is very fast and the electronic adjustable suspension is very cool. It makes a big difference.

This car seems to have a lot of cool gagets that I have never seen on another car before.

The seats inside are very comfortable. I am 6'2" and I seem to fit somehow! The backseat is supposedly kind of tight fitting.

I was skeptical before I bought this car, but now that I have owned it for a year, it was a very good purchase.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th October, 2004

Average review marks: 8.4 / 10, based on 17 reviews