1995 Mazda Protege Reviews - Page 2 of 2

1995 Mazda Protege DX 4 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 4 cylinder Don't Know
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired13 miles
Most recent distance176645 miles
Previous carFord Aerostar

Summary:

I've loved it and will continue to cherish my protege!

Faults:

The first thing I had to replace was the CV joints at about 62,000 miles.

I've replaced the battery twice since I purchased my protege.

My seats have just now begun to show some cracks and tearing. I have always used seat covers.

I've done break jobs every 40,000 miles or so, but they've never been a problem.

The paint believe it or not has held up pretty well. Now it is showing some heavy fading. I kept up with regular washing and waxing, until about two years ago, when I went to just waxing once a year.

General Comments:

Mechanical problems in 9 years of ownership have been minimal.

Handling was never an issue with proper tires and alignment.

Gas mileage was as stated on sticker and sometimes even better. Take into consideration that I am consistent in my driving habits. I never pushed it.

Seats are as comfortable as they could of been.

I've enjoyed owning this vehicle and it has surpassed my expectations.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th March, 2004

1995 Mazda Protege DX from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired21 miles
Most recent distance116946 miles
Previous carFord Mustang

Summary:

A good value and reliable car for a teen, college student, or anyone wanting a good reliable car

Faults:

Seat track broke.

Power Lock button came loose and a wire became disconnected.

Air conditioner is just starting to loose its ability to cool the car.

Belts squeal and adjusting them doesn't help.

Transmission starting to cause the car to jerk as RPM's increase.

Car starting to shake when at highway speeds. New tires, alignment, and balancing has not helped much.

Radio knobs don't work that well. When you try to increase the volume, it may decrease, etc...

General Comments:

Great gas mileage.

It has never left me stranded.

Highly reliable.

No real problems in over 100,000 miles.

Excellent value for the money.

I would feel comfortable with buying one of these cars for my daughter to drive. It is a car I feel wouldn't leave her somewhere.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th September, 2003

27th Nov 2006, 00:12

The Mazda Protege 1995:

- Seat track broke

- Radio knobs not working

- After tire rotation car started shaking.

Overall, the car is mechanic reliable. Those are the only problems that I can list. I bought the car brand new and now it has 100,000 miles.

1995 Mazda Protege LX 1.8 from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.8 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired17000 miles
Most recent distance137700 miles
Previous carPlymouth Sundance

Summary:

Great car for the money

Faults:

In 1999, my head gasket cracked and the original radio broke. In 2000, my front passenger power window decided to stop working. Every now and again it decides to work. In 2002, at 137,700 miles my air compressor is going bad. I had to replace the battery one time.

General Comments:

The car is great on gas.

It's reliable.

I have never been stranded.

I have only had 1 tune-up in 7 years.

It is a great car for small framed people.

I enjoy being able to lay the back seat down when needed.

I like the flexibility of being able to adjust the drivers seat.

The main thing that I don't like is that the power in the windows are going out.

The one thing that I do really like is the low maintenance the car requires. Just change the oil and rotate the tires every 3,000-4,000 miles.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th May, 2002

9th Apr 2010, 13:39

I am the owner of a 1995 Mazda Protege LX, and I have never been more satisfied. It is a great car and a true gas saver. Anyone who owns this car truly has a great little car.

13th Apr 2010, 09:49

"The main thing that I don't like is that the power in the windows are going out."

I bet that this is an easy fix. Most likely it is a bad contact or a bad switch.

1995 Mazda Protege DX 1.5L from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.5L Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired20 miles
Most recent distance220849 miles
Previous carToyota Corolla

Summary:

It was pricey at the time ($14K), but WELL WORTH IT!!!

Faults:

In six years, this car has NEVER left me stranded.

I average 36 mpg, replaced one clutch at 185,000 miles (it still worked well, but I changed it while I put new axles because they began clicking).

There is ONE defect. Plugs wires seem to burn up a lot. I've had to replace them 4 or 5 times now. Mazda dealerships says it's a common problem.

Oh, I replaced the battery once, too.

General Comments:

I have never been happier with a car. I've NEVER changed an alternator, starter, water pump, air compressor, any normal items in a car with this high a mileage.

I'm on my fifth set of tires (they last about 45-55K).

Brake pads last about 40-45K.

Oh, big plus: THE CAR BURNS NO OIL (I get regular oil changes/tires rotated every 5000 miles). I changed to synthetic oil at 200,000 miles (want to see how long this motor will really last!)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th February, 2001

12th Oct 2002, 17:55

I am the person who left the original review. I want to thank the person who made the one comment on the review, I'm glad I could help. By the way, the car has 292,000 on the odometer now. Still going strong! ;-)

Average review marks: 7.6 / 10, based on 6 reviews